Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Leibniz Prize 2019 Winner Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer
Wolfgang Wernsdorfer

Prof. Wernsdorfer carried out pioneering work on nanomagnetism and single-molecule magnets.

Leibniz Prize 2017 Winner Prof. Britta Nestler

Prof. Nestler is an expert in the field of computational materials science.

KIT Research Office

Science awards

Overview of all Awards

Overview of the Awards
(in German)

Laureates at KIT

In the tradition of Noble Prize laureates such as Ferdinand Braun (1909), smart minds at KIT are regularly granted prominent awards.

Be it the prestigious prizes of the German Research Foundation (DFG) or science awards from ministries or foundations: KIT scientists repeatedly are among the winners. In the past years, several of the coveted State Research Prizes of the State of Baden-Württemberg or of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizes of the DFG were awarded to KIT.

On the following pages, we would like to present some of the winners primarily of the past ten years.



Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize for Prof. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Science Foundation, the most prestigious science award in Germany, was awarded to Prof. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer. He is being recognized for his work in the fields of electronics, spin physics and quantum computing. The prize comes with a prize money of EUR 2.5 million.

Press release


Prof. Alexey Ustinov wins Google Faculty Research Award

Prof. Alexey Ustinov from KIT's Physikalisches Institut receives the Google Faculty Research Award endowed with 51,200 $ to finance a scientific employee for a period of one year. Within his project „Resolving the Location of Parasitic Defects in Superconducting Xmon Qubits“, Mr. Ustinov works on the most promising solid state candidates as building elements for quantum computers.


Gips Schüle Research Award again granted to KIT

This year's Gips Schüle Research Award was again granted to KIT. Prof. Christian Koos, Prof. Manfred Kohl and Dipl.-Phys. Sascha Mühlbrandt were selected as prize winners for the development of a novel plasmonic photodetector and receive a prize money of 50,000 EUR.

Press release