Laureates at KIT

In the tradition of Nobel Prize laureates such as Ferdinand Braun (1909), smart minds at KIT are regularly granted prominent awards.

Be it the prestigious prizes of the German Research Foundation (DFG) or science awards from ministries or foundations: KIT scientists repeatedly are among the winners. In the past years, several of the coveted State Research Prizes of the State of Baden-Württemberg or of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizes of the DFG were awarded to KIT.

On the following pages, we would like to present some of the winners primarily of the past ten years.

Current Awards

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize for Pascal Friederich

Tenure-track professor Pascal Friederich, head of the AiMat group at the Institute of Theoretical Informatics (ITI), receives the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize of the German Research Foundation (DFG). The 20,000 Euro prize, considered one of the most prestigious German prizes for early-career researchers, is awarded to him for his outstanding work in computational materials design.
Press release

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize for Almut Arneth

Prof. Almut Arneth from the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research - Atmospheric Environmental Research receives the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2022 for her outstanding contributions to ecosystem research. This most prestigious German research prize is awarded annually to ten of the best researchers in Germany and comes with a prize money of 2.5 million euros.

Press release


Water Resources Prize goes to Harald Kunstmann

In 2021, the recipient of the Water Resources Prize of the Rüdiger Kurt Bode Foundation is Prof. Harald Kunstmann. The climate researcher, who works at KIT's Campus Alpin in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and at the University of Augsburg, will receive the 100,000 Euros award for his work on sustainable water resources management in water-critical, vulnerable regions of the global south.