Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 103/2010

This Side of and Beyond the Mediterranean

Anna Lindh Report for the First Time Presents Mutual Conceptions and Prejudices of Europeans and Southern Neighbors – Podium Discussion and Press Conference with Experts
Experten der Anna-Lindh-Stiftung debattieren über  interkulturelle Ansichten in  der Euro-Mediterranen Region. (Foto: Farah Lenser)
Experts of the Anna Lindh Foundation discuss intercultural views in the Euro-Mediterranean region. (Photo: Farah Lenser)

Which conceptions exactly do Europeans have of their immediate neighbors in the Mediterranean and their culture? How is the European Union seen by the inhabitants of neighboring countries in the south? The “Report on EuroMed Intercultural Trends” of the Anna Lindh Foundation provides this information. The results will be presented during a public podium discussion on September 20, 19 hrs, at the Karlsruhe castle (Gartensaal).

Prior to the discussion, a press conference will take place on September 20, 17.30 hrs at the Karlsruhe castle (also Gartensaal). The event will be organized as part of the International Forum of ZAK | Center for Applied Cultural Science and Studium Generale of KIT in cooperation with the German Anna Lindh network and the city of Karlsruhe.

To obtain information on mutual prejudices and clichés, the renowned Gallup Institute, on behalf of the Anna Lindh Foundation, interviewed about 13,000 inhabitants in 13 countries, including Germany, as to their conceptions of the other culture. The results of this report will be published for the first time in Germany on September 20.

Gianluca Solera, network coordinator of the Anna Lindh Foundation, Dr. Sonja Hegasy, Vice Director of the Modern Orient Center, Berlin, and Ayse Özbabacan from the Office for Integration Policy, Stuttgart, and coordinator of the European network “Cities for Local Integration Policies for Migrants“ have been invited as experts for the podium discussion. It will focus on the topics of “Migration and Intercultural Dialog”, “Islam, the West, and Modernity”, and “Differences and Common Features in the System of Values.” These topics are highly up-to-date in view of the ongoing controversial debate of migration and integration.

The Anna Lindh Foundation, named after the murdered Swedish politician, wishes enhance the intercultural dialog between the member states of the European Union and neighboring countries in the Mediterranean. The foundation is established as a network of meanwhile far more than 3000 institutions in 43 member states. The German network that is presently being coordinated by the Goethe Institute and the project office “radius of art” comprises about 120 member institutions. Since 2006, KIT’s ZAK has been part of the network.

The press conference and podium discussion are parts of the 12th network meeting of the Anna Lindh Foundation Germany, which is organized by ZAK in cooperation with the project office “radius of art”, Kiel, and the Goethe Institute, Munich, from September 19 to 21, 2010 in Karlsruhe.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

ak, sk, 13.09.2010

Press contact:

Anna Kwiatkowski ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft Tel.: +49 721 - 608 8027 Fax: +49 721 - 608 4811 E-Mail:anna kwiatkowskiKud2∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 103/2010

Diesseits und jenseits des Mittelmeeres

Anna-Lindh-Report gibt erstmals Aufschluss über wechselseitige Vorstellungen und Vorurteile von Europäern und südlichen Anrainern –– Podiumsdikussion und Pressegespräch mit Experten
Experten der Anna-Lindh-Stiftung debattieren über  interkulturelle Ansichten in  der Euro-Mediterranen Region. (Foto: Farah Lenser)
Experten der Anna-Lindh-Stiftung debattieren über interkulturelle Ansichten in der Euro-Mediterranen Region. (Foto: Farah Lenser)

Welche genauen Vorstellungen haben die Europäer von ihren unmittelbaren Nachbarn am Mittelmeer und deren Kultur? Wie wird die Europäische Union im Gegenzug von den Einwohnern der südlichen Anrainer gesehen? Der „Report on EuroMed Intercultural Trends“ der Anna-Lindh-Stiftung gibt Aufschluss darüber. Die Ergebnisse werden auf einer öffentlichen Podiumsdiskussion am 20. September, 19 Uhr, im Karlsruher Schloss (Gartensaal) vorgestellt.

Im Vorfeld der Diskussion findet am 20. September um 17.30 Uhr das Pressegespräch im Karlsruher Schloss (ebenfalls Gartensaal) statt. Die Veranstaltung wird im Rahmen des Internationalen Forums des ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale am KIT, in Kooperation mit dem deutschen Anna-Lindh-Netzwerk und der Stadt Karlsruhe organisiert.

Um Informationen über gegenseitige Vorurteile und Klischeevorstellungen zu erhalten, befragte das renommierte Gallup Institut im Auftrag der Anna-Lindh-Stiftung rund 13.000 Bewohner in 13 Staaten, darunter Deutschland, zu deren Vorstellungen über die jeweils andere Kultur. Die Ergebnisse des Reports werden am 20. September erstmalig bundesweit veröffentlicht.

Als Experten für die Podiumsdiskussion sind Gianluca Solera, Netzwerkkoordinator der Anna-Lindh-Stiftung, Dr. Sonja Hegasy, Vizedirektorin des Zentrums Moderner Orient Berlin sowie Ayse Özbabacan, Mitarbeiterin der Stabsstelle für Integrationspolitik der Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart und Koordinatorin des Europäischen Städtenetzwerks „Cities for Local Integration Policies for Migrants“ geladen. Im Mittelpunkt der Podiumsdiskussion stehen die Themen „Migration und interkultereller Dialog“, „Islam, der Westen und die Moderne“ oder „Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten im Wertesystem“. Diese Themen sind vor dem Hintergrund der kontroversen Debatte um Migration und Integration besonders aktuell.

Die Anna-Lindh-Stiftung, benannt nach der ermordeten schwedischen Politikerin, zielt auf die Förderung des interkulturellen Dialogs zwischen den Ländern der Europäischen Union und den übrigen Anrainerstaaten des Mittelmeeres. Die Stiftung ist als  Netzwerk aufgebaut, in dem mittlerweile weit über 3000 Institutionen in 43 Mitgliedstaaten zusammengeschlossen sind. Das deutsche Netzwerk, derzeit koordiniert vom Goethe-Institut und dem Projektbüro „radius of art“, umfasst etwa 120 Mitgliedsinstitutionen. Seit 2006 ist auch das ZAK am KIT Teil des Netzwerks.

Das Pressegespräch und die Podiumsdiskussion sind Bestandteile des 12. Netzwerktreffens der Anna-Lindh Stiftung Deutschland, welches das ZAK in Kooperation mit dem Projektbüro „radius of art“ Kiel und dem Goethe-Institut München vom 19. bis 21. September 2010 in Karlsruhe ausrichtet.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

ak, sk, 13.09.2010

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Anna Kwiatkowski ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft Tel.: +49 721 - 608 8027 Fax: +49 721 - 608 4811 E-Mail:anna kwiatkowskiHvy1∂kit edu