Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 013/2015

KIT Increases Commitment in Asia

DAAD Funds Two New Projects: Strategic Partnerships with Chinese Universities and Communication Technologies Network
2015_013_KIT_baut_Engagement_in_Asien_aus_72dpi
KIT strengthens partnership with Shanghai universities. (Photo: chungking – Fotolia)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) has successfully acquired funding for two projects by the DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service): Under “StratP_KIT – China”, KIT plans to establish an interdisciplinary research and innovation platform with four Chinese universities in the Jiangsu Province and in the Shanghai Metropolitan Region. Under “CLICS”, KIT will extend the existing research network with partner universities in Hong Kong, Japan, and the USA and develop new joint education programs in the area of communication technologies.

 

Both projects ideally fit into the internationalization concept of KIT. Among others, this concept focuses on the establishment of international innovation networks, the internationalization of higher education, and the setup of joint infrastructures abroad. Cooperation with institutions in Asia and in particular in China is of major interest to KIT due to the rapid development of science and research in that country and its high economic power. So far, KIT has pursued some 100 cooperative ventures with more than 40 institutions in China.

 

The “StratP_KIT – China” project is aimed at establishing strategic partnerships between KIT and universities in the Jiangsu Province and the Shanghai Metropolitan Region. It is planned to institutionalize the contacts to four universities – Nanjing University of Science and Technology (NUST), Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), Soochow University (SUDA), and Tongji University Shanghai (TUS) – that have been maintained on the institute level so far and to extend them to form a strategic network. Scientific flagship projects, joint higher education programs, and acquisition of funding from third parties, as well as knowledge and technology transfer are to increase the visibility and attractiveness of the universities involved.

 

Cooperation will focus on production sciences, biotechnology, nanotechnology, materials sciences, mobility, climate and environmental research, as well as on innovation and entrepreneurship. An interdisciplinary research and innovation platform is to strengthen cooperation in these areas and to make it visible throughout China. The network will consist of the KIT office at Suzhou, joint labs at the Nanjing University of Science and Technology, and the AMTC (Advanced Manufacturing Technology Center) established by the KIT Institute of Production Science in Shanghai. Based on qualification programs of the already existing GAMI (Global Advanced Manufacturing Program) Institute at Suzhou, it is also planned to establish a German-Chinese learning factory for education and advanced training on “Global Production, Future Technologies, Environment, and Sustainability”.

 

Under the “CLICS – Continuous Learning in International Collaboration Studies” project, the KIT, together with the Carnegie Mellon University (CMO), Pittsburgh/USA, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), Waseda University in Tokyo/Japan, and the Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST) in Nara/Japan, will establish a communication technologies network. It is planned to extend the existing international research network InterACT (International Center for Advanced Communication Technologies) of eight renowned institutions in Europe, Asia, and the USA to also cover international education and advanced training courses. These are to be accessible by a large range of users and to meet internationality and life-long learning requirements.

 

The CLICS partners will develop three international MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses) in the areas of automatic language recognition, machine translation, and robotics. To facilitate access for participants from all over the world, the MOOCs will use automatic transcription and translation technologies. The MOOCs will be accompanied by laboratory exercises and local support. In addition, a series of lectures by renowned scientists, summer schools, conference grants, and exchange programs will be organized.

 

Under the program “Strategic Partnerships and Thematic Networks” funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), DAAD supports long-term cooperation projects of German universities with renowned partners abroad. After the recent call, 98 proposals were submitted. 28 projects of 26 universities were selected for funding. From 2015 to 2018, these universities will be granted up to EUR 1 million each to strengthen and sustainably establish major partnerships. The projects selected cover ten strategic partnerships and 18 thematic networks. In total, partner universities in 39 countries are involved.

 

Outside of the above program “Strategic Partnerships and Thematic Networks”, KIT also was successful with a third proposal. Under the DAAD funding line “International Doctorate in Germany – for all (IPID4all)”, the proposal “Internationalization for Young Researchers at KIT” was approved of. The measures planned in connection with IPID4all will extend the existing scope of funding offers by the Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS) and be open to all doctoral students at KIT, irrespective of their discipline and of whether their doctoral studies take place within an individual or a structured doctoral program. Doctoral students from all over KIT are invited to apply.


Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, 13.02.2015

Press contact:

Nils Ehrenberg
Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-48122
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail: nils ehrenbergHpc5∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseTyc2∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 013/2015

KIT baut Engagement in Asien aus

DAAD fördert zwei neue Projekte: strategische Partnerschaften mit chinesischen Universitäten und thematisches Netzwerk für Kommunikationstechnologie
Das KIT stärkt seine Partnerschaft mit Chinas Hafenmetropole Shanghai. (Foto: chungking - Fotolia)
Das KIT stärkt seine Partnerschaft mit Chinas Hafenmetropole Shanghai. (Foto: chungking - Fotolia)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) hat beim DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst) erfolgreich Mittel für gleich zwei Projekte eingeworben: In „StratP_KIT – China“ baut das KIT mit vier chinesischen Universitäten eine interdisziplinäre Forschungs- und Innovationsplattform in der Provinz Jiangsu und im Großraum Schanghai auf. In „CLICS“ baut das KIT sein bestehendes Forschungsnetzwerk mit Partneruniversitäten in Hongkong, Japan und den USA aus und entwickelt neue gemeinsame Lehrangebote im Bereich der Kommunikationstechnologien.

 

Beide Projekte fügen sich ideal in das Internationalisierungskonzept des KIT ein. Unter anderem fokussiert das Konzept auf den Aufbau internationaler Innovationsnetzwerke, die Internationalisierung von Lehre und Studium sowie die Etablierung gemeinsamer Infrastrukturen im Ausland. Kooperationen mit Einrichtungen in Asien und besonders in China sind für das KIT wegen der schnellen Entwicklung von Wissenschaft und Forschung und der hohen Wirtschaftskraft von großem Interesse. Bereits jetzt verfügt das KIT über Erfahrungen aus über 100 Kooperationen mit mehr als 40 Institutionen in China.

 

Das Projekt „StratP_KIT – China“ zielt auf strategische Partnerschaften des KIT mit Universitäten in der Provinz Jiangsu und im Großraum Schanghai. Dazu sollen die bereits etablierten Kooperationen mit vier Universitäten – Nanjing University of Science and Technology (NUST), Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), Soochow University (SUDA) und Tongji University Shanghai (TUS) –, die bisher vor allem auf Institutsebene gepflegt wurden, auf eine institutionelle Basis gestellt und zu einem strategischen Netzwerk ausgebaut werden. Wissenschaftliche Leuchtturmprojekte, gemeinsame Lehre und Drittmitteleinwerbung sowie Wissens- und Technologietransfer sollen Präsenz und Attraktivität der beteiligten Universitäten erhöhen.

 

Besonders wichtig sind die Themenfelder Produktionswissenschaften, Biotechnologie, Nanotechnologie, Materialwissenschaften, Mobilität, Klima- und Umweltforschung sowie das Querschnittsthema Innovation und Entrepreneurship. Eine interdisziplinäre Forschungs- und Innovationsplattform soll die Zusammenarbeit in diesen Feldern stärken und in China sichtbar positionieren. Als strategische Präsenzachse dienen die KIT-Repräsentanz in Suzhou, Joint Labs an der Nanjing University of Science and Technology sowie das vom wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik des KIT gegründete AMTC (Advanced Manufacturing Technology Center) in Schanghai. Geplant ist außerdem eine deutsch-chinesische Lernfabrik „Globale Produktion, Zukunftstechnologien, Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit“ zur Aus- und Weiterbildung, aufbauend auf den Qualifizierungsangeboten des bereits bestehenden An-Instituts GAMI (Global Advanced Manufacturing Program) des KIT in Suzhou.

 

Im Projekt „CLICS – Continuous Learning in International Collaborative Studies” bildet das KIT mit der Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) in Pittsburgh/USA, der Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), der Waseda University in Tokio/Japan und dem Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST) in Nara/Japan ein thematisches Netzwerk zur Kommunikationstechnologie. Ziel ist, das existierende internationale Forschungsnetzwerk InterACT (International Center for Advanced Communication Technologies), dem acht herausragende Einrichtungen in Europa, Asien und den USA angehören, um internationale Aus- und Weiterbildungsangebote zu ergänzen. Diese sollen breit zugänglich sein und den Anforderungen an Internationalität und lebenslanges Lernen gerecht werden.

 

Die CLICS-Partner entwickeln drei internationale MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses) zu den Themenbereichen Automatische Spracherkennung, Maschinelle Übersetzung und Robotik. Um Teilnehmern aus aller Welt den Zugang zu erleichtern, setzen die MOOCs Technologien zur automatischen Transkription und Übersetzung ein. Begleitet werden die MOOCs von Laborübungen und Betreuung vor Ort. Darüberhinaus sind eine Vorlesungsreihe mit hochkarätigen Wissenschaftlern, Sommerschulen, Konferenzstipendien und Austauschprogramme geplant.

 

Mit dem Programm „Strategische Partnerschaften und Thematische Netzwerke“, das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanziert wird, fördert der DAAD langfristige Kooperationen von deutschen Hochschulen mit herausragenden Partnern im Ausland. In der jüngsten Ausschreibungsrunde gingen 89 Anträge ein; 28 Projekte von 26 Hochschulen wurden zur Förderung ausgewählt. Sie erhalten in den Jahren 2015 bis 2018 jeweils bis zu eine Million Euro, um ihre wichtigsten Partnerschaften zu vertiefen und nachhaltig zu verankern. Zu den ausgewählten Projekten gehören zehn strategische Partnerschaften und 18 thematische Netzwerke. Insgesamt sind Partnerhochschulen aus 39 Ländern beteiligt.

 

Außerhalb des Programms „Strategische Partnerschaften und Thematische Netzwerke“ war das KIT zudem mit einem dritten Antrag erfolgreich. Im Rahmen der vom DAAD ausgeschriebenen Förderlinie „International Promovieren in Deutschland – for all (IPID4all)“ wurde der Antrag „Internationalisierung für junge Forschende am KIT“ bewilligt. Die im Rahmen von IPID4all geplanten Maßnahmen ergänzen das bereits vorhandene Förderangebot des Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS) und sind offen für alle Promovierenden am KIT, unabhängig vom Fachbereich und unabhängig davon, ob sie im Rahmen einer Individualpromotion oder eines strukturierten Promotionsprogrammes promovieren. Alle Maßnahmen werden KIT-weit ausgeschrieben.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 13.02.2015

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Nils Ehrenberg
Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-48122
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail: nils ehrenbergKln5∂kit edu