Press Release 070/2011

High Efficiency and Low Emissions

Researchers of the KIT Mobility Systems Center Work on Improved Combustion Engines
Verbrennungsanalyse am Einzylindermotor mit faseroptischer Endoskopie. (Foto: IFKM)
Combustion analysis in single-cylinder engine by means of fiber-optical endoscopy. (Photo: Andrea Fabry)

Research at KIT is paving the way for tomorrow’s mobility. At the KIT Mobility Systems Center, innovative technologies and concepts are developed for the transportation of passengers and goods. On the occasion of the 2011 Baden-Württemberg Automobile Summer, KIT will present selected activities. It is started with research in combustion engines by the Institut für Kolbenmaschinen (IFKM). Increasing the efficiency and reducing emissions are major objectives of the work on gasoline and Diesel engines.

Combustion engines as powertrains for vehicles will dominate also in the future. Further development of the combustion engine can contribute decisively to reducing resources consumption and protecting the climate, explains Professor Ulrich Spicher. According to the head of the Institut für Kolbenmaschinen, evaluation of mobility concepts has to consider the vehicle as an integrated system under real operation conditions. IFKM research focuses on improving combustion processes to increase the efficiency and reduce fuel consumption and pollutant emission.
 
In the opinion of Ulrich Spicher, the efficiency of Otto engines may be increased from currently an average of 25% in today’s vehicles to nearly 40%. IFKM scientists are working on increasing the injection pressure of Otto engines by direct injection and stratified mixture preparation. In the vicinity of the spark plug, an ignitable mixture exists, while the remaining combustion chamber is filled with a lean, hardly ignitable mixture only. “In this way, the mixture becomes more compact and homogeneous, the fuel vaporizes more rapidly, and combustion takes place more homogeneously and faster,” says Professor Spicher.
 
Work under a subproject of the Collaborative Research Center (SFB) 606 “Non-stationary Combustion” is aimed at increasing the injection pressure up to 1000 bar in order to improve stratified mixture preparation and combustion. The scientists wish to reduce CO2 emissions by 50% and fine dust emission below the mass and particle number limits that will be valid from 2014. However, conventional fuel injection pumps for direct injection of fuel so far have been limited to 200 bar and do not withstand such high pressures. Within the framework of the SFB 483 “Highly Loaded Sliding and Friction Systems Based on Engineering Ceramic Materials”, IFKM scientists develop durable pumps based on ceramic materials like silicon carbide or sialones. 
 
Diesel engines with direct injection already reach a relatively high efficiency. Their problems, however, are the soot and nitrogen oxide emissions. IFKM studies possibilities of reducing these emissions directly in the combustion chamber of the engine, for instance, by spatial separation of pre-injection and main injection: Within the framework of the DFG-funded project “Development of a New Injection Strategy for Low- soot Combustion in Diesel Engines with Direct Injection”, the researchers use two injectors. As a result of this spatial separation, the pre-injection fuel is combusted in another area of the combustion chamber than the main injection fuel. The local air/fuel ratio for main combustion is not reduced. “With this method, we have succeeded in reducing soot emissions by 80%, as a result of which nitrogen oxide emissions decreased as well,” explains Professor Spicher.
 
The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 37 institutes with about 800 employees on KIT Campus North and Campus South are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop energy-efficient, low-emission, and safe vehicles and mobility concepts. Research also covers the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, and society.

Under the heading of “Future Mobility”, KIT will present its scientific activities on its new “Campus East – Mobility and Innovation” during an Open Day on July 02. More information can be found at: http://www.pkm.kit.edu/english/3072.php
.

Prior to the Open Day, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology increases its efforts to inform the public about activities of the KIT Mobility Systems Center. More information can be found at:
http://www.kit.edu/mediathek/print_forschung/Broschuere_Mobilitaetssysteme_en.pdf

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 04.05.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGok9∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseFaf4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 070/2011

Effizient und emissionsarm

Im KIT-Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme arbeiten Forscher an verbesserten Verbrennungsmotoren
Verbrennungsanalyse am Einzylindermotor mit faseroptischer Endoskopie. (Foto: IFKM)
Verbrennungsanalyse am Einzylindermotor mit faseroptischer Endoskopie. (Foto: Andrea Fabry)

Forschung am KIT bereitet den Weg für die Mobilität von morgen: Im KIT-Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme entstehen innovative Technologien und Konzepte für den Transport von Personen und Gütern. Anlässlich des baden-württembergischen Automobilsommers 2011 stellt das KIT ausgewählte Themen vor. Den Auftakt bildet die Forschung rund um Verbrennungsmotoren am Institut für Kolbenmaschinen (IFKM). Effizienz steigern und Emissionen mindern – das sind die wesentlichen Ziele der Arbeiten an Benzin- und Dieselmotoren.

Der Verbrennungsmotor als Antrieb im Kraftfahrzeug hat Zukunft. Seine Weiterentwicklung kann wesentlich dazu beitragen, die Ressourcen zu schonen und das Klima zu schützen, wie Professor Ulrich Spicher erklärt. Der Leiter des Instituts für Kolbenmaschinen plädiert dafür, bei der Bewertung von Mobilitätskonzepten das Fahrzeug als Gesamtsystem und unter realen Einsatzbedingungen zu betrachten. Im Fokus der Forschungen am IFKM stehen Verbesserungen des Verbrennungsprozesses, die den Wirkungsgrad steigern, den Kraftstoffverbrauch senken und den Schadstoffausstoß verringern.
 
Bei Ottomotoren hält Ulrich Spicher eine Steigerung des Wirkungsgrads von durchschnittlich 25 Prozent bei heutigen Automobilen auf knapp 40 Prozent für möglich. So arbeiten Forscher des IFKM daran, bei Ottomotoren mit Direkteinspritzung und Schichtladung – im Bereich der Zündkerze besteht ein zündfähiges Gemisch, während der übrige Brennraum ein mageres, das heißt schwer zündfähiges Gemisch aufweist – den Einspritzdruck zu erhöhen. „Dadurch wird die Gemischwolke kompakter und homogener, der Kraftstoff verdampft rascher, sodass die Verbrennung gleichmäßiger und schneller abläuft“, erklärt Professor Spicher.
 
Diese Arbeiten in einem Teilprojekt des Sonderforschungsbereichs (SFB) 606 „Instationäre Verbrennung“ zielen darauf, den Einspritzdruck auf 800 bis 1 000 bar zu erhöhen, um die Schichtladung und Verbrennung zu verbessern. Dadurch wollen die Wissenschaflter die CO2-Emissionen um 50 Prozent reduzieren und zugleich den Feinstaubausstoß unter den Grenzwert – für Masse und Partikelanzahl –senken, der ab 2014 gelten wird. Allerdings sind herkömmliche Einspritzpumpen zur Benzindirekteinspritzung bisher auf 200 bar begrenzt und halten derart hohen Drücken nicht lange stand. Im Rahmen des SFB 483 „Hochbeanspruchte Gleit- und Friktionssysteme auf Basis ingenieurkeramischer Werkstoffe“ entwickeln Wissenschaftler des IFKM daher haltbare Pumpen mit keramischen Materialien wie Siliciumcarbid oder Sialonen.
 
Dieselmotoren mit Direkteinspritzung weisen bereits einen relativ hohen Wirkungsgrad auf. Bei ihnen stellen allerdings die Ruß- und Stickoxidemissionen ein großes Problem dar. Das IFKM befasst sich mit Möglichkeiten, diese Emissionen direkt im Motorbrennraum zu reduzieren, beispielsweise durch eine räumliche Trennung der Vor- und Haupteinspritzung: Im Rahmen des DFG-geförderten Projekts „Entwicklung einer neuen Einspritzstrategie zur rußarmen Verbrennung bei Dieselmotoren mit Direkteinspritzung“ arbeiten die Forscher mit zwei Injektoren. Durch die räumliche Trennung brennt der Kraftstoff aus der Voreinspritzung in einem anderen Brennraumbereich als der Kraftstoff aus der Haupteinspritzung und reduziert dadurch das lokale Luft-Kraftstoff-Verhältnis für die Hauptverbrennung nicht. „Mit dieser Methode ist es bis jetzt gelungen, die Rußemissionen um 80 Prozent zu reduzieren, wobei gleichzeitig auch die Stickoxidemissionen gesenkt werden“, erklärt Professor Spicher.
 
 

Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute am Campus Süd und Nord des KIT mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, energieeffiziente, emissionsarme und sichere Fahrzeuge sowie Mobilitätskonzepte zu entwickeln. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr und Gesellschaft.

Unter dem Motto „Die Zukunft der Mobilität“ präsentiert das KIT am 2. Juli beim Tag der offenen Tür am neuen Standort „Campus Ost – Mobilität und Innovation“ Wissenschaft zum Anfassen. Nähere Informationen: www.pkm.kit.edu/3072.php

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie berichtet im Vorfeld des Tages der offenen Tür verstärkt über die Aktivitäten im KIT-Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme. Nähere Informationen finden sie auch unter:  http://www.mobilitaetssysteme.kit.edu/img/Broschuere_Mobilitaetssysteme_deutsch.pdf


Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 04.05.2011
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAvv3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseQzv3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.