In view of the numerous and diverse funding instruments for the establishment of junior research groups, KIT has defined uniform quality criteria for official recognition as a "KIT-Nachwuchsgruppe".

As a junior research group leader at KIT, apply for recognition as "KIT-Nachwuchsgruppe" (KIT Junior Research Group) to make your group more visible inside and outside of KIT. The recognition certifies the high quality of your group and paves the way to further opportunities and perspectives at KIT.

Thus, the certificate is required if you wish to participate in the doctoral procedures of members of your junior research group. For this purpose, heads of a KIT-Nachwuchsgruppe can apply for the status KIT Associate Fellow. In addition, they may apply for membership in the Young Investigator Network (YIN).

Contact person at KIT Research Office:

Aleksandra Olszynka
Scientific Awards and Paths to Professorship

Tel.: 0721 608 48440

aleksandra olszynkaCdc9∂kit edu

Current leaders of a KIT-Nachwuchsgruppe:

Group Title Head of Group Institute
InSEIde Dr. Julia Maibach Institute for Applied Materials - Energy Storage Systems (IAM-ESS)



Group Title Head of Group Institute
ERC Starting Grant
Digital Radio Detectors for Galactic PeV Particles (PeV-Radio)
Dr. Frank Schröder Institute for Astroparticle Physics (IAP)


Group Title Head of Group Institute
NEW E²: Electrochemistry for Batteries Dr. Dominic Bresser Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) for Electrochemical Energy Storage
Extrusion of Biopolymeric Systems Dr. M. Azad Emin

Institute for Process Engineering in Life Sciences: Food Process Engineering (LVT)

Quality-driven System Evolution

Dr. Robert Heinrich

Institute for Program Structures and Data Organization (IPD)

Corporate Finance Dr. rer. pol. Daniel Hoang Institute for Finance (FBV) - Department of Finance and Banking
Knowledge Graph-based Artificial Intelligence Systems Dr.-Ing. Tobias Käfer Institute of Applied Informatics and Formal Description Methods (AIFB)

Vector Foundation Young Investigator Group (YIG)

Green Mobility

Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger

Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST)
Lattice Boltzmann Research Group Dr. Mathias Krause Institute of Applied and Numerical Mathematics (IANM) 2 / Institute of Mechanical Process Engineering and Mechanics MVM)
Artificial Intelligence for Probabilistic Weather Forecasting Dr. Sebastian Lerch Institute of Economics (ECON) - Statistics and Econometrics
Computational Cardiac Modelling Dr.-Ing. Axel Loewe Institute of Biomedical Engineering (IBT)
Nonlinear Helmholtz Equations Dr. Rainer Mandel Institute for Analysis (IANA)
Sylvanus Dr. Somidh Saha Institute for Technology Assessment and System Analysis (ITAS)
X-ray Microscopy in Catalysis Dr. Thomas Sheppard Institute for Chemical Technology and Polymer Chemistry (ITCP)
Interfacial properties of pectin-based biopolymers Dr.-Ing. Ulrike van der Schaaf Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences: Food Process Engineering
Numerical Analysis of Multiscale Methods Dr. Barbara Verfürth Institute for Applied and Numerical Mathematics (IANM)
Waves in Periodic Structures Dr. Ruming Zhang Institute for Applied and Numerical Mathematics (IANM)