DFG - Collaborative Research Centers

Collaborative Research Centers (SFB) are institutions established at universities for a long-term period and enable researchers to pursue an outstanding research programme, crossing the boundaries of disciplines, institutes, departments and faculties. They are generally applied for by one university, but they can also be jointly applied for by several  universities (Collaborative Research Center/Transregio - SFB/TRR). Collaborative Research Centers are funded by the German research funding organization "Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft" (DFG)  for up to twelve years.