European Prizes

European Research Council

ERC Advanced Grant

all winners

latest winners (2022):

Prof. Dr. Mehdi B. Tahoori, Chair of Dependable Nano-Computing (CDNC), research project “PRICOM - Printed Computing”
Press release

Prof. Dr. Alexey Ustinov

Prof. Dr. Alexey Ustinov, Physikalisches Institut (PHI), research project “Milli-Q - Millimetre-Wave Supercomputing Quantum Circuits”
Press release


Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dehnen, Institute for Nanotechnology (INT), research project “Bismut Cluster-Based Materials (BiCMat)”
(at the time of the award at the University of Marburg)


ERC Consolidator Grant

all winners

latest winners (2023):

TT-Prof. Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold, Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT), research project "LAMI-PERO - Efficient and More Cost-effective Production of Perovskite Solar Cells"
Press release

Dr. Frank Biedermann, Institute of Nanotechnology (INT), research project "SupraSense - Supersensors for Medical Diagnostics"
Press release


ERC Starting Grant

all winners

latest winner (2023)

Dr. Julian Quinting, Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research - Troposphere Research (IMK-TRO), research project „ASPIRE (Advancing Subseasonal PredIctions at Reduced computational Effort)“
Press release


ERC Proof of Concept Grant

latest winners (2017):

Prof. Dr. Pavel Levkin, Institute for Biological and Chemical Systems - Functional Molecular Systems, research project "Platform for on-demand nano-scale printing of live cells and compounds for miniaturized and high-throughput cell screening applications"

Prof. Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller, Institute for Microstructure Technology (IMT), research project „Scanner for novel chemical reactions and Facebook of chemistry”


ERC Synergy Grant
latest winners (2020):

Prof. Dr. Jan G. Korvink, Institute for Microstructure Technology (IMT), and Dr. Benno Meier, Institute for Biological Interfaces, research project "Highly Informative Drug Screening by Overcoming NMR Restrictions (HiSCORE)" in collaboration with partners from Paris and Nimwegen


Académie des sciences

Gay-Lussac Humboldt Prize

winner 2017:

Prof. Dr. Johannes Orphal, Head of Division IV - Natural and Built Environment
Press release


French Republic

Ordre des Palmes Académiques

winner 2014:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Seemann, Institute of Engineering Mechanics (ITM)