Societies and Associations

European Language Resources Association (ELRA)

Antonio Zampolli Prize

winner 2014:

Prof. Dr. Alexander Waibel, Interactive Systems Labs (ISL)
Press release


German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Carus Medal

winner 2021:

Dr. Dominic Bresser, Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU)
Press release

Greve Prize

winner 2022:

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Janek, KIT/BASF Joint Laboratory BELLA and University of Gießen, together with Prof. Dr. Kerstin Volz, University of Marburg
Press release


European Magnetism Association (EMA)

Dominique Givord Award

winner 2020:

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer, Physikalisches Institut (PHI)
Press release of EMA


European Physical Society Accelerator Group (EPS-AG)

Frank Sacherer Prize

winner 2020:

Dr. Johannes Steinmann, Institute for Beam Physics and Technology (IBPT)
Press release of EPS


European Society for Applied Superconductivity (ESAS)

ESAS Award for Excellence in Applied Superconductivity

winner 2015:


Dr. Wilfried Goldacker, Institute for Technical Physics (ITEP), recognized for his outstanding contributions to the field of applied superconductivity
Press release of ESAS



German Physical Society (DPG)

Gaede Prize

winner 2021:

Dr. Philip Willke, Physikalisches Institut (PHI)
More about the prize on the website of the DPG


German Geological Society (DGGV)

Hermann Credner Prize


winner 2021:

Dr. Gabriel Rau, Institute of Applied Geosciences (AGW)
More about the prize on the website of the DGGV


Royal Society of New Zealand

Julius von Haast Fellowship Award

latest winner 2017:

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Schmidtlein, Institute of Geography und Geoecology (IFGG)
Press release


German Informatics Society (GI)

Konrad Zuse Medal

winner 2019:

Prof. Dr. Dorothea Wagner, Institute of Theoretical Informatics (ITI)
Press release of the GI


German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry (DBG)

Nerst-Haber-Bodenstein Prize

winner 2021:

PD Dr. Lars Heinke, Institute of Functional Interfaces (IFG)
More about the prize on the website of DBG


KIT Freundeskreis und Fördergesellschaft e.V.

Otto Haxel Prize for Innovation

More about the Otto Haxel Prizes

latest winners (2016):

Prof. Dr. Ute Schepers, Institute of Functional Interfaces (IFG)


Christoph Grün, Institute of Functional Interfaces (IFG)


Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS)

Robert Franklin Mehl Award

latest winner (2013):

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Horst Hahn, Institute of Nanotechnology (INT)
More about the award on the website of TMS


Institute of Physics (IOP)

Simon Memorial Prize

winner 2014:

Prof. Dr. Peter Wölfle, former member of the Institute for Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics (TKM), with the citation "for fundamental contributions to the theory of quantum transport processes in superfluid 3He, heavy fermion superconductors and disordered metals"


German Physical Society (DPG)

Technology Transfer Prize 2017/2018

Nanoscribe GmbH, Institute of Nanotechnology (INT), Innovation and Relations Management of the KIT

Award for the outstanding transfer of scientific findings in the field of 3D laser lithography into commercial use, in particular for the fabrication of micro- and nanostructures
Press release


German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry (DBG)

van’t Hoff Prize

latest winner (2016):

Prof. Dr. Christof Wöll, Institute of Functional Interfaces (IFG)
Press release