Press Release 166/2011

New Large Facility for Severe Weather Research

KIT Commissions KITcube
KITcube, ein mobiles High-Tech-Messfeld zur detaillierten Untersuchung von atmo-sphärischen Vorgängen.
KITcube, a mobile high-tech measurement field for the detailed investigation of atmospheric processes. (Photo: KIT)

Operation of the most modern measurement field in Europe for atmosphere research will start on November 15 at Hatzenbühl / Palatinate: Novel and established measurement instruments will directly pursue also extreme atmospheric situations, such as thunderstorms, strong rain, or winter storms. The results will improve weather forecasts and climate models. Representatives of the media are cordially invited to come to the opening of KITcube on November 15, 2011, 11.00 hrs.

KITcube measures the complete atmosphere in a cube of 10 km edge length at high resolution. High measuring poles of 30 m height, radars, lidars (a type of radar with light), and measurement instruments for atmospheric turbulence and all relevant meteorological parameters are integrated in the KITcube. “With funds from the Helmholtz Association and KIT, the most modern and largest total measurement system for the atmosphere all over Europe has been built,” rejoices Professor Dr. Christoph Kottmeier, Head of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.  

However, KITcube is more than the compilation of various measurement instruments. “For the first time, all instruments are controlled by a central computer and the measurements are evaluated continuously,” emphasizes Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, project coordinator at IMK. “For example, we can pursue thunderstorms on their way towards us.” The data are manifold and arise in large amounts: Radiation, wind, turbulence, atmospheric composition, pressure, temperature, and aerosols are measured. The scientists attach great value to parameters that have been neglected so far, such as the composition and movement of smallest particles (dust, pollen, or carbon black) or of cloud and rain droplets. 

For the development of the sophisticated control and evaluation program, IMK was supported by the KIT Institute of Data Processing and Electronics (IPE). The software integrates complex measurement instruments of various manufacturers in the measurement flows and processes the large amounts of data. “Atmosphere research is high-tech research,” emphasizes Professor Dr. Marc Weber, Head of IPE. “The measurement expenditure is enormous, if we do not only want to observe the processes, but to understand them.”

KITcube is also used to study those processes in more detail, which are not covered by other observation networks. Among them are so-called convective systems, for example showers and thunderstorms with all their hazardous side effects like downslope winds, shear zones, roll clouds, strong precipitations, and hailstorms. Interest also focuses on wind fields of winter storms, such as “Lothar” and “Kyrill”. “It is not the mean wind speed that causes the damage, but the embedded gusts,” explains Christoph Kottmeier, “and their intensity cannot yet be predicted, because we do not even know how they form.”

Due to its installation on trucks and in standard containers, KITcube can be transported easily. Presently, the complete facility is being tested for the first time at Hatzenbühl (district of Germersheim / Palatinate) before it will be brought to Corsica in 2012. There, KITcube will be applied for one year in an international large-scale project (HyMeX) to study the water cycle in the western Mediterranean. IMK has already received so many requests for the use of KITcube during various atmosphere research campaigns in other countries that it will not be able to comply with them all.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

jh, 09.11.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAdd8∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldJhp8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseRvt1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 166/2011

Neue Großanlage für die Unwetterforschung

KIT nimmt KITcube in Betrieb
KITcube, ein mobiles High-Tech-Messfeld zur detaillierten Untersuchung von atmo-sphärischen Vorgängen.
KITcube, ein mobiles High-Tech-Messfeld zur detaillierten Untersuchung von atmosphärischen Vorgängen. (Foto: IMK)

Das modernste Messfeld Europas für die Atmosphärenforschung nimmt am 15. November in Hatzenbühl/Pfalz seinen Betrieb auf: Neuartige und bewährte Messgeräte können auch atmosphärische Extremsituationen wie Gewitter,  Starkregen oder Winterstürme direkt verfolgen. Durch die Ergebnisse werden Wettervorhersagen und Klimamodelle verbessert. Vertreter der Medien sind zur Einweihung des KITcube am 15.11.2011 ab 11.00 Uhr herzlich eingeladen.

Mit KITcube wird die Atmosphäre in einem Würfel (engl. cube) von 10 Kilometern Kantenlänge vollständig und hochaufgelöst vermessen. Hohe Messmasten von 30 Meter Höhe, Radar, Lidar (eine Art Radar mit Licht), Messgeräte für atmosphärische Turbulenz und alle relevanten meteorologischen Parameter sind in KITcube integriert. „Mit  Unterstützung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und aus KIT-Mitteln entstand so das modernste und umfangreichste Gesamtmesssystem für die Atmosphäre in ganz Europa“, freut sich Professor Dr. Christoph Kottmeier, Leiter des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie.

KITcube ist aber mehr als die Zusammenstellung verschiedener Messgeräte. „Erstmals werden alle Geräte von einem zentralen Computer gesteuert und die Messungen kontinuierlich ausgewertet“, betont Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, Projektkoordinator aus dem IMK. „Damit können wir beispielsweise herannahende Gewitter auf ihrem Weg verfolgen.“ Die Daten sind vielfältig und fallen in großen Mengen an: Strahlung, Wind, Turbulenz, atmosphärische Zusammensetzung, Druck, Temperatur und Aerosole werden gemessen. Vor allem auf bisher vernachlässigte Parameter wie die Zusammensetzung und Bewegung kleinster Partikel (Staub, Pollen oder Ruß) oder von Wolken- und Regentropfen legen die Wissenschaftler großen Wert.

Für die Entwicklung der anspruchsvollen Steuer- und Auswerteprogramme erhielt das IMK Unterstützung vom Institut für Prozessdatenverarbeitung und Elektronik (IPE) des KIT. Durch die Software werden die komplexen Messgeräte unterschiedlicher Hersteller in die Messabläufe integriert und die großen Datenmengen verarbeitet. „Atmosphärenforschung ist längst eine High-Tech-Forschung“, stellt Professor Dr. Marc Weber, Leiter des IPE, fest. „Der Messaufwand ist enorm, wenn man die Vorgänge nicht nur beobachten, sondern auch verstehen will.“

Mit KITcube werden auch die Vorgänge genauer untersucht, die durch die Maschen aller anderen Beobachtungsnetze fallen. Hierzu zählen sogenannte konvektive Systeme, beispielsweise Schauer und Gewitter mit all ihren gefährlichen Begleiterscheinungen wie Fallwinden, Scherungszonen, Böenwalzen, Starkniederschlägen und Hagel. Auch die Windfelder bei Winterstürmen wie „Lothar“ und „Kyrill“ stehen im Fokus. „Nicht die mittlere Windgeschwindigkeit verursacht die Schäden, sondern die eingelagerten Böen“, erläutert Christoph Kottmeier „Und genau deren Stärke lässt sich bisher nicht vorhersagen, weil wir nicht einmal genau wissen, wie sie entstehen“.

Die Montage auf LKW-Brücken und in Standard-Containern erlaubt es, KITcube leicht zu transportieren. Die Anlage wird zurzeit erstmals komplett in Hatzenbühl (Landkreis Germersheim/Pfalz) erprobt, bevor sie 2012 nach Korsika gebracht wird. Dort wird der KITcube ein Jahr lang in einem internationalen Großprojekt (HyMeX) zur Untersuchung des Wasserkreislaufs im westlichen Mittelmeerraum eingesetzt. Anfragen zu Einsätzen von KITcube in anderen Ländern im Rahmen unterschiedlicher Kampagnen zur Atmosphärenforschung gibt es schon heute so viele, dass das IMK nicht allen nachkommen kann.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

jh, 09.11.2011
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYaa6∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldKqv4∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseHyq3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.