Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 031/2010

Collisions at Highest Energies – Large Hadron Collider in Geneva Is Starting Up Again

Invitation of the Media to Live Viewing at KIT
Forscher des KIT sind am riesigen CMS-Detektor des LHC am CERN in Genf beteiligt. (Bildquelle: CERN)
KIT researchers participate in the experiments at the giant CMS detector of the LHC at CERN, Geneva. (Photo: CERN)

On March 30, 2010, the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN, Geneva, will start its regular operation with proton-proton collisions at an energy of 7000 giga electron volts, the highest energies ever generated by particle accelerators. Parallel to an event at CERN in Geneva, KIT will duly celebrate this milestone. From 9.00 hrs, the events at CERN will be transmitted live to the lecture hall of the Institut für Experimentelle Kernphysik on KIT Campus North. Representatives of the media are cordially invited to talk with the scientists involved.

After a successful restart in late 2009 and the first tests this year, the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in Geneva will now start an operation phase of two years until 2012. Then, the facility will be reconditioned before operation will be continued at even higher energies. At KIT, the Institut für Experimentelle Kernphysik (EKP) and the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) with its GridKa Computing Center will participate in this scientifically unique project.  

EKP conducts research at one of the gigantic detectors of the LHC, called CMS (Compact Muon Solenoid). CMS records the particle trajectories generated by the proton-proton collisions. Under the direction of Professor Thomas Müller, the EKP was also involved in the construction of the central, silicon-based detector for charged particle tracks, and it constitutes the largest German research group with a total of about 50 scientists, of which ten are delegated directly to CERN. In the past years, the analysis and interpretation of the LHC data were prepared carefully by the working groups of EKP and the Institutes for Theoretical Particle Physics of KIT. The scientists expect the LHC experiments to provide answers to fundamental questions in the fields of particle physics and cosmology, amongst them about the origin of mass or the nature of dark matter in the Universe.

GridKa is one of the largest of eleven worldwide operating so-called tier-1 grid computing centers assigned to the LHC project. With more than 1800 computers, GridKa will store and process about 14 % of all LHC data. The data are distributed further to more than 15 tier-2 centers in five European countries, where they are analyzed by particle physicists. The amount of data that is handled annually by GridKa would correspond to a stack of DVDs of 13 km height.

The first proton-proton collisions at the highest energy ever reached in a laboratory on Earth are awaited eagerly by the KIT staff at the CMS control center on Campus North. On March 30, 2010, from 9.00 hrs on, representatives of the media can watch the startup of the LHC live at the lecture hall of the Institute of Experimental Nuclear Physics, building 401, 3rd floor, on KIT Campus North. Parallel to this live transmission and video conferences with Geneva, scientists of KIT will be pleased to answer questions relating to the experiments at the LHC.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

jh, 25.03.2010

Press contact:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldFob0∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 031/2010

Kollisionen bei höchsten Energien – Large Hadron Collider in Genf geht wieder an den Start

Medieneinladung zur Live-Übertragung ins KIT
Forscher des KIT sind am riesigen CMS-Detektor des LHC am CERN in Genf beteiligt. (Bildquelle: CERN)
Forscher des KIT sind am riesigen CMS-Detektor des LHC am CERN in Genf beteiligt. (Bildquelle: CERN)

Am 30. März 2010 wird der Large Hadron Collider (LHC) am CERN in Genf seinen Regelbetrieb mit Proton-Proton-Kollisionen bei einer Energie von 7000 Giga-Elektronenvolt aufnehmen, den höchsten jemals mit Teilchenbeschleunigern erzeugten Energien. Parallel zu einer Veranstaltung am CERN in Genf wird das KIT diesen Meilenstein gebührend feiern: Ab 9.00 Uhr werden die Ereignisse aus dem CERN live in den Hörsaal des Instituts für Experimentelle Kernphysik am KIT-Campus Nord übertragen. Vertreter der Medien sind zu dieser Veranstaltung, bei der auch die Möglichkeit zu Gesprächen mit den beteiligten Wissenschaftlern besteht, herzlich eingeladen.

Nach einem erfolgreichen Neustart Ende 2009 und ersten Tests in diesem Jahr soll der Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in Genf nun in eine zweijährige Betriebsphase bis 2012 gehen. Danach stehen Umbauarbeiten an, bevor der Betrieb bei noch höheren Energien weitergeht. Am KIT sind das Institut für Experimentelle Kernphysik (EKP) und das Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) mit dem Rechenzentrum GridKa an diesem wissenschaftlich einmaligen Projekt maßgeblich beteiligt.

Das EKP forscht an einem der haushohen Detektoren des LHC, am CMS (Compact Muon Solenoid). Das CMS zeichnet die Teilchenspuren auf, die bei den Proton-Proton-Kollisionen entstehen. Das EKP war unter der Leitung von Professor Thomas Müller auch beim Bau des zentralen, auf Silizium-Technologie beruhenden Detektors zum Nachweis geladener Teilchenspuren beteiligt und stellt mit insgesamt rund 50 wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern, von denen zehn direkt am CERN stationiert sind, die größte deutsche Forschergruppe. In den letzten Jahren wurden von Arbeitsgruppen des EKP und der theoretischen Teilchenphysik des KIT die Analyse und Interpretation der LHC-Daten sorgfältig vorbereitet. Vom LHC erwarten die Wissenschaftler Antworten auf fundamentale Fragen aus Teilchenphysik und Kosmologie, wie etwa nach dem Ursprung der Masse oder der Natur der dunklen Materie im Kosmos.

GridKa ist eines der größten von insgesamt elf weltweit verteilten, so genannten Tier-1-Grid-Rechenzentren, also Rechenzentren der obersten hierarchischen Ebene des LHC-Projekts. GridKa wird mit mehr als 1800 Rechnern etwa 14 % aller Daten des LHC speichern und verarbeiten. Die Daten werden an über 15 Tier-2-Zentren in fünf europäischen Ländern weiterverteilt, wo sie von den Teilchenphysikern analysiert werden. Die jährlich am GridKa umgesetzte Datenmenge würde einem 13 km hohen DVD-Stapel gleichkommen.

Die ersten Proton-Proton-Kollisionen bei der höchsten je in einem irdischen Labor erreichten Energie werden von KIT-Mitarbeitern im CMS-Kontrollzentrum am Campus Nord mit Spannung erwartet. Am 30. März 2010 ab 9.00 Uhr besteht für Medienvertreter die Möglichkeit, im Hörsaal des Instituts für Experimentelle Kernphysik, Geb. 401, 3. Stock, am Campus Nord des KIT die Inbetriebnahme des LHC live zu verfolgen. Neben Live-Übertragung und Videokonferenzen nach Genf stehen Wissenschaftler des KIT Rede und Antwort zu den Experimenten, die am LHC durchgeführt werden.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

jh, 25.03.2010

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldBvl7∂kit edu