Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 030/2015

Cloud Research at KIT: Improved Precipitation Forecasts

Extension of AIDA Facility: KIT Scientists Study the Influence of Aerosols on Climate, Weather, and the Environment
2015_030_Wolkenforschung_am_KIT_-_Niederschlaege_besser_vorhersagen_72dpi
View into AIDA: Here, scientists study how dust particles influence the formation of clouds and precipitation. (Photo: Martin Lober, KIT)

From light, airy, and spotless white to threatening and grey-black: Clouds are encountered in various forms. At the AIDA “cloud chamber”, scientists of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) study how clouds form and which influence they have on weather and climate. The modernized facility and the new extension building AIDA-2 on Campus North were opened officially today. The celebration also marked the start of an international measurement campaign focusing on the investigation of ice-nucleating aerosols. These smallest particles influence the formation of clouds and precipitation.

 

Aerosols are smallest suspended particles originating from a variety of natural and anthropogenic sources. Most of them act as condensation nuclei for the formation of water droplets in clouds, which freeze at about -35°C. “Only a very small fraction of the particles, such as dust particles, make the water droplets freeze slightly below 0°C already. Formation of these ice nuclei frequently is responsible for the formation of precipitation. Hence, this process is of essential relevance to better forecasts of the spatial and temporal distribution of precipitation,” Professor Thomas Leisner, Head of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research – Atmospheric Aerosol Research Division (IMK-AAF), says.

 

The extent to which ice particles are nucleated by which aerosol particles is studied in experiments at the worldwide unique AIDA facility (AIDA is the acronym for Aerosol Interaction and Dynamics in the Atmosphere). For these experiments, the facility has now been extended: “At the novel dynamic cloud chamber AIDA-2 that will be set up in the new building this year, we will be able to study more flexibly and comprehensively ice formation and precipitation development in warmer clouds,” explains Dr. Ottmar Möhler, who heads the Aerosol-Cloud-Processes group of IMK-AAF. Under the AIDA-2 scientific investment program, the new building was constructed in the past two years for accommodation of the new cloud chamber AIDA-2. In early 2016, it is planned to start operation parallel to the already existing AIDA facility. In contrast to the existing plant, the cloud chamber proper is located inside a vacuum vessel, in which pressure drop of ascending air parcels can be simulated. Air pressure inside the cloud chamber is reduced parallel to the pressure in the external vessel. “The air cools down and clouds develop. During the AIDA-2 experiments, we will actively cool down the walls of the cloud chamber in order to reach a highly homogeneous temperature distribution. In this way, clouds can be simulated and observed over a larger temperature range and a much longer time,” Möhler says.

 

With the help of the future experiments at AIDA-2, the cloud researchers of IMK hope to obtain new insights not only into the formation of clouds and precipitation, but also into new details of the nucleation and growth of ice particles in cirrus clouds, which have a major impact on the climate system of the earth.

 

Current Measurement Campaign on Ice-nucleating Aerosols

Formation of ice particles in clouds is in the focus of the large international measurement campaign FIN-2 that starts parallel to the opening of the AIDA-2 extension building. FIN-2 stands for the second part of an international test series comprising three parts: The Fifth International Ice Nucleation Workshop deals with ice-nucleating aerosol particles or INPs. “This subset of atmospheric aerosol particles is very small and, hence, difficult to measure. In the past years, existing instruments were improved, new measurement methods were developed, and new instruments were designed,” Ottmar Möhler points out. The AIDA test facility thus represents an internationally acknowledged platform for tests and comparisons of these new mobile instruments measuring the INPs. 23 teams of scientists from Europe and the USA take part in the current FIN-2 measurement campaign. In close cooperation with cloud and climate modelers, the impact of INPs on cloud, weather, and climate shall be analyzed.

 

More information: https://www.imk-aaf.kit.edu/

 

In the 21st century, living conditions on Earth are changing as drastically as never before. Hence, climate and environmental research is facing big challenges. More than 650 scientists of some 30 institutes of the KIT Climate and Environment Center are developing strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 16.03.2015
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseChp4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneLhx6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseAlm6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseHvf1∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 030/2015

Wolkenforschung am KIT: Niederschläge besser vorhersagen

Erweiterung der Großforschungsanlage AIDA: Wissenschaftler des KIT untersuchen den Einfluss von Aerosolen auf Klima, Wetter und Umwelt
Ein Blick ins Innere von AIDA: In der Anlage untersuchen Wissenschaftler, wie sich etwa Staubpartikel auf die Bildung von Wolken und Niederschlägen auswirken (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)
Ein Blick ins Innere von AIDA: In der Anlage untersuchen Wissenschaftler, wie sich etwa Staubpartikel auf die Bildung von Wolken und Niederschlägen auswirken (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)

Von scheinbar leicht und strahlend weiß bis bedrohlich in Grau-Schwarz: Wolken gibt es in den unterschiedlichsten Erscheinungsformen. Wie sie sich bilden und welchen Einfluss sie auf Wetter und Klima haben, untersuchen Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) in der „Wolkenkammer“ AIDA: Die modernisierte Anlage sowie der Neubau für die Erweiterung AIDA-2 wurden heute am Campus Nord eingeweiht. Die Feier war gleichzeitig Auftakt einer internationalen Messkampagne, bei der es um die weitere Erforschung eisbildender Aerosolpartikel geht: um kleinste Teilchen, die sich auf die Entstehung von Wolken und Niederschlag auswirken.

 

Aerosole sind kleinste Schwebeteilchen, die aus vielfältigen natürlichen und vom Menschen verursachten Quellen stammen. Die meisten von ihnen dienen als Kondensationskeime für die Bildung von Wassertropfen in den Wolken, die bei etwa minus 35 Grad Celsius gefrieren. „Nur ein sehr kleiner Anteil der Partikel, etwa Staubteilchen, lassen die Wassertröpfchen bereits bei knapp unterhalb null Grad Celsius gefrieren. Das Entstehen dieser Eiskeime ist sehr häufig für die Bildung von Niederschlag verantwortlich. Damit ist dieser Prozess wesentlich für die bessere Vorhersage der räumlichen und zeitlichen Verteilung von Niederschlägen“, sagt Professor Thomas Leisner, Leiter des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Bereich Atmosphärische Aerosolforschung (IMK-AAF).

 

Welche Aerosolpartikel wie stark als „Anlaufstelle“ für die Bildung von Eispartikeln dienen – darum geht es in den Experimenten an der weltweit einmaligen Versuchsanlage AIDA (kurz für Aerosol Interaction and Dynamics in the Atmosphere). Dafür steht künftig eine Erweiterung der Anlage zur Verfügung: „Mit der neuartigen dynamischen Wolkenkammer AIDA-2, die im laufenden Jahr in dem Neubau errichtet wird, können wir vor allem die Eisbildung und Niederschlagsentwicklung in wärmeren Wolken noch flexibler und umfassender untersuchen“, erläutert Dr. Ottmar Möhler, der die Gruppe Aerosol-Cloud-Processes am IMK-AAF leitet. Im Rahmen der wissenschaftlichen Ausbauinvestition AIDA-2 wurde in den vergangenen beiden Jahren ein Neubau errichtet, in dem nun die neue Wolkenkammer AIDA-2 aufgebaut wird. Anfang 2016 soll sie neben der bereits bestehenden AIDA-Anlage in Betrieb gehen. Im Unterschied zur bisherigen Anlage befindet sich die eigentliche Wolkenkammer im Innern eines Vakuumbehälters, in der die Druckabsenkung von aufsteigenden Luftpaketen simuliert werden kann. Der Luftdruck im Innern der Wolkenkammer wird mit dem Druck im äußeren Behälter ebenfalls abgesenkt. „Dabei kühlt sich die Luft ab und es bilden sich Wolken. Bei den Experimenten in AIDA-2 kühlen wir die Wände der Wolkenkammer aktiv mit, um eine möglichst gleichmäßige Temperaturverteilung zu erreichen. So können wir Wolken über einen größeren Temperaturbereich und eine wesentlich längere Zeit simulieren und beobachten“, so Möhler.

 

Von den künftigen Experimenten mit AIDA-2 versprechen sich die Wolkenforscher am IMK neue Einblicke nicht nur in die Entstehung von Wolken und Niederschlag, sondern auch in neue Details bei der Bildung und dem Wachstum von Eispartikeln, die in Zirruswolken einen wichtigen Einfluss auf das Klimasystem der Erde haben.

 

Aktuelle Messkampagne zu eisbildenden Aerosolen

Die Bildung von Eispartikeln in Wolken steht auch im Fokus der großen internationalen Messkampagne FIN-2, die zeitgleich mit der Einweihung des AIDA-2-Neubaus anläuft. FIN-2 steht für den zweiten Teil einer insgesamt dreiteiligen internationalen Versuchsreihe: Beim Fifth International Ice Nucleation Workshop geht es um eisbildende Aerosolpartikel oder INPs (vom Englischen Ice Nucleating Particles). „Für die Messung dieser fast verschwindend kleinen und deshalb sehr schwer zu messenden Untermenge der atmosphärischen Aerosolpartikel wurden in den vergangenen Jahren bestehende Geräte verbessert, neue Messmethoden entwickelt und neue Geräte aufgebaut“, sagt Ottmar Möhler. Die AIDA-Versuchsanlage bietet damit eine weltweit anerkannte Versuchsplattform für den Test und den Vergleich dieser neuen mobilen Geräte für die Messung von INPs. An der aktuellen Messkampagne FIN-2 beteiligen sich 23 Forscherteams aus Europa und den USA. Dabei geht es in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Wolken- und Klimamodellierern auch um Fragen zum Einfluss von INPs auf Wolken, Wetter und Klima.

Nähere Informationen: https://www.imk-aaf.kit.edu/

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 16.03.2015

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneWce6∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseIrw4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.