Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEwz5∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 014/2015

Lean Warehousing Increases Productivity

New, Application-oriented Training Concept Developed by KIT in Cooperation with McKinsey Shows Methods How Companies Can Make Their Warehousing more Efficient
2015_014_Schlanke_Lagerhaltung_steigert_Produktivitaet_72dpi
View into the model warehouse: Here, logistics staff is trained and lean management methods are transferred to logistics.

No matter whether components are supplied for automotive industry, books are printed, or clothes are produced: At the end of production, the goods reach a warehouse and wait for their dispatch. At this point, even leading companies often have a bottleneck that limits efficiency. A close-to-practice training course of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and the McKinsey consulting company now helps analyze and improve processes at the warehouse. For this purpose, methods of the so-called lean management are adapted to warehousing requirements.

 

“Warehousing often is neglected by the company management,” Katharina Dörr, trainer at the KIT model warehouse, knows. “While production, marketing or sales are optimized, warehousing is often considered an annoying accessory of the core business, where efficiency cannot be enhanced anyway.”

 

However, the training courses reveal that productivity can well be doubled or tripled. “We attach high importance to concrete practical examples at our model warehouse,” Christoph Kunert, who is also a trainer at the model warehouse, reports. “About 180 products are stored at the model warehouse and are to be taken from the shelves and compiled in client packages by the participants using packing lists. After every training round, the proceeding and success are analyzed and the processes are evaluated. Every workings step is checked for its function in creating values added and adapted accordingly,” Kunert explains. Transports, stocks, waiting times, and handling times are reduced to optimum values.

 

The theoretical part of the training was developed by experts of KIT in cooperation with the McKinsey consulting company. Known methods of lean management are transferred to warehousing. Knut Alicke, Head of the European Supply Chain Management Practice of McKinsey: “Transfer of lean management concepts to warehousing is associated with an average cost reduction potential of 20%. The learning-by-doing approach of the model warehouse supports companies in sustainably developing the capacity to use these potentials.”

 

“Consistent measurement of performance and standardization of the improvements reached are important elements that make lean management so successful,” says Kai Furmans, Head of the KIT Institute for Materials Handling and Logistics, where the model warehouse is located. “Sustainable improvement, however, also depends on soft factors, such as the attitude and behavior of the staff.” For this reason, the training also addresses leadership issues and personnel management at a lean enterprise.

 

Lean management at the warehouse allows for sustainable operative improvements without high investments and, hence, is also attractive for small and medium-sized enterprises. Lean processes between incoming and outgoing goods directly enhance the productivity of the warehouse.

For more information, click

http://www.ifl.kit.edu/projekte_lean_warehousing.php

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

kes, 16.02.2015

Press contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail: schinarakisRhi0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseNuv6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseInk6∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 014/2015

Schlanke Lagerhaltung steigert Produktivität

Ein neues, praxisorientiertes Schulungskonzept am KIT in Zusammenarbeit mit McKinsey zeigt Unternehmen Methoden auf, wie sie ihre Lagerhaltung effizienter gestalten können
Blick ins Model Warehouse: Hier werden Logistik-Mitarbeiter praxisnah geschult und Methoden des Lean Managements in die Logistik übertragen.
Blick ins Model Warehouse: Hier werden Logistik-Mitarbeiter praxisnah geschult und Methoden des Lean Managements in die Logistik übertragen. (Bild: KIT/K. Dörr)

Ob Autozulieferer, Buchdrucker oder Bekleidungshersteller: Am Ende der Produktion erreichen die Waren ein Lager und warten auf ihren Versand. Hier besteht selbst für führende Unternehmen oft ein Flaschenhals, der die Effizienz einschränkt. Eine praxisnahe Schulung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie und der Unternehmensberatung McKinsey hilft nun dabei, Prozesse im Lager zu analysieren und zu verbessern. Dafür werden Methoden des so genannten Lean Managements konkret auf die Anforderungen der Lagerhaltung angepasst.

 

„Die Lagerhaltung ist oft das Stiefkind der Unternehmensleitung“, weiß Katharina Dörr, Schulungsleiterin des Model Warehouse am KIT. „Während Produktion, Marketing oder Einkauf optimiert werden, gilt die Lagerlogistik oft als lästiges Anhängsel des Kerngeschäftes, in dem Effizienzsteigerungen sowieso nicht zu erreichen sind.“

 

Während der Schulungen wird jedoch gezeigt, dass durchaus eine Verdopplung oder Verdreifachung der Produktivität zu erzielen ist. „Dabei legen wir großen Wert auf ganz konkrete Praxisbeispiele in unserem Übungs-Lagerhaus“, berichtet Christoph Kunert, ebenfalls Schulungsleiter des Model Warehouse. Rund 180 Artikel werden im Lagerhaus vorgehalten und sollen von den Schulungsteilnehmern aus den Regalen anhand von Packlisten zu Kundenpaketen zusammengestellt werden. Nach jeder Praxis-Runde werden Vorgehen und Erfolg analysiert und Prozesse bewertet. Hier wird jeder Arbeitsschritt auf seine Funktion in der Wertschöpfung durchleuchtet und angepasst“, erklärt Kunert. Transporte, Bestände, Wartezeiten und Bearbeitung werden so auf das optimale Maß reduziert.

 

Den Theorieteil der Schulung haben Experten des KIT und der Unternehmensberatung McKinsey gemeinsam ausgearbeitet. Es werden bekannte Methoden des Lean Managements (lean = englisch für schlank) entlehnt und für die Lagerhaltung anwendbar gemacht. Knut Alicke, Leiter der europäischen Supply Chain Management Practice von McKinsey: „Der Transfer von Lean Management-Konzepten in die Lagerhaltung bietet im Schnitt ein Kostensenkungspotenzial von 20 Prozent. Der Learning-by-Doing Ansatz des Model Warehouse unterstützt Unternehmen die Fähigkeiten zum Heben dieser Potenziale nachhaltig aufzubauen.“

 

„Konsequentes Messen der Leistung und Verankerung der erzielten Verbesserung in Standards, sind ein wichtiges Element, das Lean Management so erfolgreich macht“, weiß Kai Furmans, Leiter des Instituts für Fördertechnik und Logistiksysteme am KIT, an dem das Model Warehouse angesiedelt ist. „Für eine nachhaltige Verbesserung sind jedoch auch die weichen Faktoren, wie etwa Einstellung und Verhalten der Mitarbeiter, ausschlaggebend.“ Daher werden in der Schulung auch Führungsverständnis und Mitarbeiterführung in einem schlanken Unternehmen adressiert.

 

Lean Management im Lager bietet eine Möglichkeit, ohne große Investitionen zu nachhaltigen, operativen Verbesserungen zu kommen und ist deshalb auch für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen attraktiv. Die Verschlankung der Prozesse zwischen Wareneingang und –ausgang führt zu einer direkten Steigerung der Lagerproduktivität.

Mehr Informationen unter

http://www.ifl.kit.edu/projekte_lean_warehousing.php

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 16.02.2015

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail: schinarakisLlw6∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseYof0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.