Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 136/2013

Precise Docking Sites for Cells

Specifically Designed Petri Dishes – Surfaces and Three-dimensional Scaffolds Are Modified Photochemically
2013_136_Punktgenaue_Andockstellen_fuer_Zellen_72dpi
The biologically active surfaces are colored red and green in the fluorescence microscopy of the novel “Petri dish”. (Photo: KIT/B. Richter)

The Petri dish is a classical biological laboratory device, but it is no ideal living environment for many types of cells. Studies lose validity, as cell behavior on a flat plastic surface differs from that in branched lung tissue, for example. Researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology have now presented a method to make three-dimensional structures attractive or repellent for certain types of cells (DOI: 10.1002/adma.201302492 and 201302678).

 

“Now, we can rapidly and precisely design the ideal Petri dish for single cells,” Barner-Kowollik explains. Barner-Kowollik’s and Martin Bastmeyer’s team of chemists and biologists at KIT developed a new photochemical surface coding method. It allows for the precise modification of three-dimensional microscaffolds. “Customized structuring of adhesion points for cells allows for studying the behavior of individual cells in a close-to-reality environment,” Bastmeyer says.

 

The Petri dish resembles a miniaturized ropes course. Its size is one fiftieth of a millimeter at the maximum. Isolated cells can be hung up between traverses and observed without any disturbing impacts. By an appropriate coating of traverses and poles, the cells are kept at the desired place and, if necessary, stimulated to grow. “In this way, we can study the motion and force of individual cells,” Bastmeyer points out.

 

To construct and coat the Petri dish with nanometer resolution, the cell researchers and polymer chemists use a direct laser writing method. Originally, this method was developed by the team of Martin Wegener from KIT for use in nanooptics. The three-dimensional scaffold forms at the points of intersection of two laser beams in a photoresist. At these points, the resist is hardened. For coating the scaffold, the team of Barner-Kowollik and Martin Bastmeyer uses various bioactive molecules and a photoactive group. Coupling is activated at the points illuminated by the laser beam only. There, bioactive molecules bind chemically to the surface. The physico-chemical properties and parameters, such as the flexibility or three-dimensional arrangement of cell docking sites, can be adjusted with a high local resolution when using these modern photochemical methods.

 

A whole set of photochemical surface coding methods is now presented by six publications in the latest issues of the magazines Angewandte Chemie, Chemical Science, and Advanced Materials. Using this set of methods, chemical bonds can be produced efficiently and in a locally controlled manner without catalysts or increased temperatures being required. Depending on the application, it is possible to maximize coupling efficiency, to accelerate the photoreaction, to directly couple to unmodified biomarkers, to reduce chemical synthesis work, or to design areas where no cell adhesion can take place.

 

References

[1] Pauloehrl, T.; Delaittre, G.; Winkler, M.; Welle, A.; Bruns, M.; Börner, H. G.; Greiner, A. M.; Bastmeyer, M.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 1071–1074.

[2] Pauloehrl, T.; Delaittre, G.; Bruns M.; Meißler M.; Börner, H. G.; Bastmeyer, M.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 9181–9184.

[3] Pauloehrl, T.; Welle, A; Bruns, M.; Linkert, K.; Börner, H. G.; Bastmeyer, M.; Delaittre, G.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. 2013, 52, 9714 –9718.

[4] Pauloehrl, T.; Welle, A.; Oehlenschlaeger, K. K.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Chem. Sci. 2013, 4, 3503–3507.

[5] Richter, B.; Pauloehrl, T.; Kaschke, J.; Fichtner, D.; Fischer, J.; Greiner, A. M.; Wedlich, D.; Wegener, M.; Delaittre, G.; Barner-Kowollik, C.; Bastmeyer, M. Adv. Mater. 2013, doi:10.1002/adma.201302678.

[6] Rodriguez-Emmenegger, C.; Preuss, C. M.; Yameen, B.; Pop-Georgievski, O.; Bachmann, M.; Mueller, J. O.; Bruns, M.; Goldmann, A. S.; Bastmeyer, M.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Adv. Mat. 2013, DOI: 10.1002/adma.201302492.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 30.10.2013

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseGrc5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 136/2013

Punktgenaue Andockstellen für Zellen

„Designer Petrischalen“ lassen sich gezielt verändern – Oberflächen und dreidimensionale Gerüste werden photochemisch modifiziert
Rot und Grün eingefärbt sind die verschiedenen biologisch aktiven Oberflächen in der Fluoreszenzmikroskopaufnahme der neuartigen „Petrischale“. (Bild: KIT/B. Richter)
Rot und Grün eingefärbt sind die verschiedenen biologisch aktiven Oberflächen in der Fluoreszenzmikroskopaufnahme der neuartigen „Petrischale“. (Bild: KIT/B. Richter)

Die Petrischale ist im biologischen Labor der Klassiker, aber bietet für viele Zelltypen nicht den idealen Lebensraum. Untersuchungen verlieren dadurch an Aussagekraft, da sich Zellen auf einer flachen Plastikfläche anders verhalten als etwa im verästelten Lungengewebe. Forscher des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie haben nun Verfahren vorgestellt, um dreidimensionale Strukturen gezielt für bestimmte Zelltypen je nach Bedarf attraktiv oder abstoßend zu machen. (DOI: 10.1002/adma.201302492 und 201302678)

 

„Wir können nun schnell und präzise die ideale Petrischale für einzelne Zellen bauen“, erläutert Barner-Kowollik. Sein und Martin Bastmeyers Team von Chemikern und Biologen am KIT entwickelten das neue photochemische Verfahren der Oberflächenkodierungen. Es erlaubt präzise Modifikation von dreidimensionalen Mikrogerüsten. „Die maßgeschneiderte Strukturierung von Haftpunkten für Zellen ermöglicht es, das Verhalten einzelner Zellen in einer realitätsnahen Umgebung zu untersuchen“, erklärt Bastmeyer.

 

Dabei ähnelt die „Petrischale“ mittlerweile einem Miniatur-Seilgarten von maximal einem fünfzigstel Millimeter Größe. Zellen lassen sich dort isoliert zwischen den Traversen aufhängen und ohne störende Einflüsse beobachten. Durch die passende Beschichtung von Traversen und Masten werden die Zellen am gewünschten Platz gehalten und gegebenfalls Wachstumsimpulse gesetzt. „Wir können so beispielweise die Bewegung und Kraft einzelner Zellen untersuchen“, so Bastmeyer.

 

Zur Konstruktion und Beschichtung der Petrischale mit nanometergenauer Auflösung nutzen die Zell-Forscher und Polymerchemiker ein direktes Laser-Schreibverfahren aus der Nanooptik, das am KIT in der Arbeitsgruppe von Martin Wegener entwickelt wurde. Das dreidimensionale Gerüst entsteht an den Stellen, an denen sich zwei Laserstrahlen in einem Photolack kreuzen und damit den Lack aushärten. Für die Beschichtung des Gerüstes werden von dem Team um Barner-Kowollik und Martin Bastmeyer verschieden bioaktive Moleküle genutzt, die um eine photoaktive Gruppe ergänzt wurden: Nur an die Stellen der Petrischale, die der Laserstrahl beleuchtet, wird die Kopplung aktiviert und die bioaktiven Moleküle binden sich chemisch fest an die Oberfläche. Die physikochemischen Oberflächeneigenschaften und damit Parameter wie Flexibilität oder die dreidimensionale Anordnung von Zellhaftpunkten können durch die modernen photochemischen Verfahren nach Wunsch und mit einer hohen örtlichen Auflösung verändert werden.

 

In sechs aktuellen Veröffentlichungen in den führenden Fachmagazinen Angewandte Chemie, Chemical Science und Advanced Materials stellt das Team einen ganzen Werkzeugkasten an photochemischen Oberflächenkodierungsverfahren vor. Dieser ermöglicht es, chemische Bindungen örtlich kontrolliert und effizient zu knüpfen, ohne dass Katalysatoren oder erhöhte Temperaturen notwendig werden. Je nach Anwendungsfall lassen sich weitere Vorteile realisieren, etwa Maximierung der Kupplungseffizienz, eine Beschleunigung der Photoreaktion, eine direkte Kupplung mit unmodifizierten Biomarkern, eine Reduzierung der chemischen Synthesearbeit sowie die Ausweisung von Bereichen, an denen keine Zellanhaftung stattfinden kann.

 

Referenzen:

[1] Pauloehrl, T.; Delaittre, G.; Winkler, M.; Welle, A.; Bruns, M.; Börner, H. G.; Greiner, A. M.; Bastmeyer, M.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 1071–1074.

[2] Pauloehrl, T.; Delaittre, G.; Bruns M.; Meißler M.; Börner, H. G.; Bastmeyer, M.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 9181–9184.

[3] Pauloehrl, T.; Welle, A; Bruns, M.; Linkert, K.; Börner, H. G.; Bastmeyer, M.; Delaittre, G.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. 2013, 52, 9714 –9718.

[4] Pauloehrl, T.; Welle, A.; Oehlenschlaeger, K. K.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Chem. Sci. 2013, 4, 3503–3507.

[5] Richter, B.; Pauloehrl, T.; Kaschke, J.; Fichtner, D.; Fischer, J.; Greiner, A. M.; Wedlich, D.; Wegener, M.; Delaittre, G.; Barner-Kowollik, C.; Bastmeyer, M. Adv. Mater. 2013, doi:10.1002/adma.201302678.

[6] Rodriguez-Emmenegger, C.; Preuss, C. M.; Yameen, B.; Pop-Georgievski, O.; Bachmann, M.; Mueller, J. O.; Bruns, M.; Goldmann, A. S.; Bastmeyer, M.; Barner-Kowollik, C. Adv. Mat. 2013, DOI: 10.1002/adma.201302492.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 500 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 30.10.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseVrt7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.