Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 171/2011

Brazil Relies on Evaluation Concept of KIT

Universidade de Pernambuco Introduces Teaching Quality Index – KIT also Wins Invitation to Tender of the Vietnamese-German University at Ho-Chi-Minh City
Das LQI-Konzept misst die Zufriedenheit der Studierenden – künftig auch in Brasilien (Foto: Harry Marx)
The teaching quality index measures the satisfaction of students – in the future also in Brazil. (Photo: Harry Marx)

Satisfaction of KIT students with their studies courses is increasing. This is confirmed by the teaching quality index. The empirical method developed by KIT does not only determine the present situation, but the results are used directly to improve education. The concept is not only successful in Germany. The Universidade de Pernambuco will introduce this concept as the first university in Brazil, other universities will follow. Furthermore, KIT’s teaching quality index concept won an invitation to tender by the World Bank for the evaluation of education provided by the Vietnamese-German University at Ho-Chi-Minh City.

“Normally, an evaluation concept remains with the own university,” says Dr. Michael Craanen, Head of the Quality Management Division of KIT, who developed the concept. “Our model is the first acknowledged worldwide, this is a real success.” Craanen points out that the willingness of Brazil to invest in its education system increased parallel to the enormous growth rates. “Quality management is a central issue. Consequently, interest in the teaching quality index is very high,’” emphasizes Craanen. The University of Pernambuco (UPE) will introduce the concept gradually to evaluate teaching activities at all departments. The memorandum of understanding signed by KIT and UPE also covers scientific exchange. Among others, an employee of UPE will work in Craanen’s team before the system will be installed at the university in Brazil.

From Pernambuco, the teaching quality index concept shall spread over the whole country. “Brazil traditionally has a high affinity to the German education system,” explains Michael Craanen. Under a new government program, 10,000 Brazilians are planned to be granted a scholarship for studies in Germany until 2014. In one year from now, Craanen will visit the university again to examine the status of introduction of the concept at the UPE. Then, discussion with two Brazilian ministries will focus on whether an adapted system can be integrated in the quality management scheme of the administration. To measure the satisfaction of their students, the State University of Paraíba will also apply the teaching quality index concept.

Moreover, Craanen’s concept was successful in Vietnam. It won an invitation to tender issued by the World Bank for the evaluation of studies and teaching at the Vietnamese-German University in Ho-Chi-Minh City. If the concept will be successful here, it will be transferred to all other universities in Vietnam. The corresponding agreement is presently being negotiated.

About the Teaching Quality Index
Since the 2008 summer semester, the teaching quality index method has been used to measure the satisfaction of KIT students with studies courses. Every semester, Dr. Michael Craanen and his staff evaluate 1500 lectures, seminars, tutorials, practical exercises, and excursions. For this, they evaluate 50,000 questionnaires and determine the teaching quality index for every course. Via a traffic light system, courses are determined to be uncritical, slightly critical, or critical. The evaluation and, if necessary, improvement measures are then discussed with the department heads. Since the introduction of the teaching quality index concept, results have improved continuously. Presently, the proportion of critical studies courses amounts to 1% only.   

As a central quality management system for studies and teaching, the teaching quality index concept also is the central basis of system accreditation at KIT. In the future, studies courses will no longer be evaluated by an external accreditation agency, but evaluation will cover the quality assurance scheme of KIT as a complete system. This will significantly reduce the administration expenditure of the KIT departments.  

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 18.11.2011
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseVuo9∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneAjq0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseXgf8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 171/2011

Brasilien setzt auf Evaluationskonzept des KIT

Universidade de Pernambuco führt Lehrqualitätsindex (LQI) ein – Erfolg auch bei einer Ausschreibung der Vietnamesisch-Deutschen Universität in Ho-Chi-Minh
Das LQI-Konzept misst die Zufriedenheit der Studierenden – künftig auch in Brasilien (Foto: Harry Marx)
Das LQI-Konzept misst die Zufriedenheit der Studierenden – künftig auch in Brasilien (Foto: Harry Marx)

Die Zufriedenheit der KIT-Studierenden mit ihren Lehrveranstaltungen steigt – das belegt der Lehrqualitätsindex (LQI): Das am KIT entwickelte empirische Verfahren ermittelt nicht nur den Status quo, sondern lässt die Ergebnisse unmittelbar in die Verbesserung der Lehre fließen. Das Konzept überzeugt nicht nur in Deutschland: Als Modell-Hochschule in Brasilien wird es die Universidade de Pernambuco einführen, weitere Universitäten wollen folgen. Das LQI-Konzept setzte sich zudem in einer Ausschreibung der Weltbank zur Lehrevaluation an der Vietnamesisch-Deutschen Universität in Ho-Chi-Minh durch.

„Im Normalfall bleibt ein Evaluationskonzept an der eigenen Universität“, sagt Dr. Michael Craanen, Leiter der Abteilung Qualitätsmanagement am KIT, der das LQI-Konzept entwickelt hat. „Unser Modell ist das erste, das weltweit Anerkennung findet – das ist ein echter Erfolg.“ Mit den enormen Wachstumsraten in Brasilien sei die Bereitschaft, in das Bildungssystem zu investieren, deutlich gestiegen. „Qualitätsmanagement ist dabei ein zentrales Thema, das Interesse am LQI ist deshalb sehr groß“, so Craanen. Die Universität Pernambuco (UPE) wird das Konzept nach und nach in allen Fakultäten zur Evaluation der Lehre einführen. Das Memorandum of Understanding der beiden Einrichtungen sieht auch einen wissenschaftlichen Austausch vor: Unter anderem wird ein Mitarbeiter aus der UPE in Craanens Team arbeiten, bevor sie das System dann an ihrer Universität installieren.

Von Pernambuco aus soll das LQI-Konzept im ganzen Land bekannt werden. „Brasilien hat traditionell eine hohe Affinität zum deutschen Bildungssystem“, erklärt Michael Craanen. Mit einem neuen Regierungsprogramm sollen bis 2014 10.000 Brasilianer mit einem Stipendium nach Deutschland kommen. Nach einem Jahr ist vor Ort ein weiterer Besuch geplant, bei dem Craanen den Stand der Einführung des LQI an der UPE begutachten soll. Dann soll auch in Zusammenarbeit mit zwei brasilianischen Ministerien die Frage diskutiert werden, ob ein angepasstes System sich in das Qualitätsmanagement in der Verwaltung integrieren lässt. Zum Messen der Zufriedenheit ihrer Studierenden will auch die Staatliche Universität Paraíba künftig auf das LQI-Konzept setzen.

Einen weiteren internationalen Erfolg landete Craanen in diesem Jahr in Vietnam: Mit dem LQI-Konzept gewann er eine Ausschreibung der Weltbank für ein Evaluationskonzept für Studium und Lehre an der Vietnamesisch-Deutschen Universität in Ho-Chi-Minh Stadt. Bewährt es sich hier, soll das Konzept auch in Vietnam landesweit an allen Universitäten umgesetzt werden. Der entsprechende Vertrag ist derzeit in Verhandlung.

Über den Lehrqualitätsindex (LQI)
Seit dem Sommersemester 2008 bewerten die KIT-Studierenden mit dem Verfahren ihre Zufriedenheit mit den Lehrveranstaltungen. Pro Semester evaluieren Dr. Michael Craanen und seine Mitarbeiter 1500 Vorlesungen, Seminare, Tutorien, Praktika und Exkursionen. Dafür werten sie 50.000 Fragebögen aus und ermitteln für jede Veranstaltung einen Lehrqualitätsindex (LQI), der die Veranstaltungen über ein Ampelsystem in unkritische, leicht kritische und kritische einteilt. Die Bewertung – und bei Bedarf die Verbesserungsmaßnahmen – werden dann mit den Fakultäts-leitungen diskutiert. Seit Einführung des LQI-Konzepts haben sich die Ergebnisse kontinuierlich verbessert. So liegt der Anteil kritischer Veranstaltungen aktuell bei nur einem Prozent.

Als zentrales Qualitätsmanagementsystem für Studium und Lehre bildet das LQI-Konzept auch eine zentrale Grundlage für die Systemakkreditierung am KIT: Demnach werden Studiengänge künftig nicht mehr einzeln von einer Akkreditierungsagentur begutachtet, sondern die Qualitätssicherung des KIT als Gesamtsystem. Das verringert insbesondere für die Fakultäten des KIT den Verwaltungsaufwand.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 18.11.2011
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNfj7∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneAat8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseDtl2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.