Press Release 132/2011

Startup Scene Karlsruhe: Technology Goes Business

KIT, CyberForum, and PionierGarage Launch the Project “Research to Business LIVE“
Ideale Schnittstelle: Bei „Research To Business LIVE“ kommen Studierende,  Wissenschaftler und Hightech-Unternehmer zusammen (Foto: Pixelquelle)
Ideal interface: Students, scientists, and high-tech entrepreneurs meet in “Research to Business LIVE“. (Photo: Pixelquelle)

Promising new technologies for the future are developed nearly daily by KIT. However, they do not always find the direct way to the client. The new project “Research to Business LIVE” therefore intends to close the gap to the market by an association of researchers, students, and experienced entrepreneurs. The challenge: Interdisciplinary teams of students conceive business models for technologies developed by KIT researchers. They are supported by “business mentors”, successful entrepreneurs from the Karlsruhe Technology Region.

Within a short period of time, the teams of students execute a potential commercialization process with a selected technology offered by KIT. They build up a team, select the company type, and develop a business model. Presently, five proposals from different research areas are being checked for suitability. One of them will then be implemented by KIT students in a competition. Experts, business angels, and mentors from industrial companies in Europe will assess the business models and teams finally at the “STARTup Live RhineValley” from September 23 to 25, 2011. This startup weekend will take place under the heading of “Mentor Driven. Expert Rated”. This successful European concept is now implemented for the first time in the region of Karlsruhe by the student group PionierGarage.

The big advantage of the Research to Business LIVE project lies in the value added resulting from the combination of scientific excellence, students’ startup spirit, and entrepreneurial acting and thinking.

The three organizers KIT, CyberForum, and PionerGarage have launched the project to foster the startup scene in Karlsruhe. In the region of Karlsruhe, networking of science and industry plays an important role. “Research to Business LIVE contributes to strengthening technology transfer in the region and exploitation of scientific innovations is complemented by an integrated approach that is strongly focused on startups,” says Anke Schmitz from the KIT Innovation Management Service Unit.

PionierGarage is a platform enabling students of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, who think like entrepreneurs, to critically discuss their (business) ideas in the group, implement them in a structured manner, and enhance their startup spirit.

CyberForum supports startup founders and entrepreneurs actively by contacts, know-how, and its network of active business angels. A major element is know-how transfer from and into the network. This strategy is pursued by CyberForum with about 150 events and more than 4600 visitors per year.
    
KIT’s Innovation Management Service Unit is the interface among scientists, industry, and investors for the transfer of know-how from KIT. From patenting to patent exploitation together with an industry partner, the Innovation Management staff counsels employees of KIT in establishing startups. Services include counseling during the development of a business model, search for funds, and financing as well as the search for investors and business angels. Moreover, the Innovation Management Service Unit operates the KIT High-Tech Incubator, where young spinoffs have the opportunity to expand and optimize their business on the Campus.
 
Further Contacts:
KIT Innovation Management:

Anke Schmitz:anke schmitzJlp6∂kit edu

CyberForum: Mentoring & Coaching, Business Angels
Corinna Thumm:thummHak7∂cyberforum de

PionierGarage e.V.:
Sebastian Richter, sebastianYcc7∂pioniergarage de

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 26.08.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEzt2∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneUwh7∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 132/2011

Karlsruher Gründerszene: Technology goes Business

KIT, CyberForum und Pioniergarage starten das Projekt „Research To Business LIVE“.
Ideale Schnittstelle: Bei „Research To Business LIVE“ kommen Studierende,  Wissenschaftler und Hightech-Unternehmer zusammen (Foto: Pixelquelle)
Ideale Schnittstelle: Bei „Research To Business LIVE“ kommen Studierende, Wissenschaftler und Hightech-Unternehmer zusammen (Foto: Pixelquelle)

Am KIT werden fast täglich zukunftsweisende Technologien entwickelt, die jedoch nicht immer den direkten Weg zum Kunden finden. Das neue Projekt „Research To Business LIVE“ möchte deshalb in einem Zusammenschluss von Forschern, Studierenden und erfahrenen Unternehmern die Lücke zum Markt schließen. Die Herausforderung: Interdisziplinäre Studierenden-Teams konzipieren Geschäftsmodelle für Technologien, die von KIT-Forschern entwickelt wurden. „Business-Mentoren“, erfolgreiche Unternehmer aus der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe, begleiten sie dabei.

Vom Teambuilding über die Wahl der Unternehmensform bis hin zur Erarbeitung eines Geschäftsmodells spielen die Studierenden-Teams in Kurzzeit einen möglichen Vermarktungsprozess an einem ausgewählten Technologieangebot des KIT durch. Gegenwärtig werden fünf Vorschläge aus unterschiedlichen Forschungsbereichen auf ihre Eignung untersucht – einen davon setzen KIT-Studierende dann bei einem Wettbewerb um: Experten, Business Angels und unternehmerische Mentoren aus ganz Europa bewerten Geschäftsmodelle und Teams abschließend beim „STARTup Live RhineValley“ vom 23. bis 25. September 2011: Das Gründerwochenende unter dem Motto „Mentor Driven. Expert Rated.“ ist ein europäisches Erfolgskonzept, das die studentische Gruppe PionierGarage erstmals für die Region Karlsruhe umsetzt.

Der große Nutzen des Projekts Research To Business LIVE liegt in der Wertschöpfung, die durch die Kombination aus wissenschaftlicher Exzellenz, studentischem Gründergeist und unternehmerischer Handlungs- und Denkweisen entsteht.

Die drei Organisatoren KIT, CyberForum und Pioniergarage möchten mit dem Projekt auch die Karlsruher Gründerszene vorantreiben. Die Vernetzung von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft spielt dabei in der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe eine tragende Rolle. „Research To Business LIVE trägt zu einer Verstärkung des Technologietransfers in der Region bei und ergänzt die Verwertung von wissenschaftlichen Innovationen um einen integrierten, stark auf Unternehmensgründungen fokussierten Ansatz“, so Anke Schmitz vom KIT-Innovationsmanagement.

Die PionierGarage ist eine Plattform, die unternehmerisch denkenden Studierenden des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie die Möglichkeit bietet, ihre (Geschäfts-)Ideen kritisch in der Gruppe zu hinterfragen, strukturiert umzusetzen und sich vom Gründergedanken anstecken zu lassen.

Das CyberForum unterstützt Gründer und Unternehmer aktiv durch Kontakte, Know-how und sein aktives Business Angels Netzwerk. Elementarer Bestandteil ist der Wissenstransfer vom und in das Netzwerk. Dieser Strategie folgt das CyberForum konsequent mit rund 150 Veranstaltungen und mehr als 4600 Besucher/innen pro Jahr.
 
Das Innovationsmanagement am KIT ist die Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaftlern, Industrie und Kapitalgebern für den Transfer von Wissen aus dem KIT. Von der Patentierung bis zur Patentverwertung mit einem Industriepartner berät das Innovationsmanagement Mitarbeiter des KIT bei ihrer Unternehmensgründung. Die Services umfassen Beratung bei der Entwicklung eines Geschäftsmodells, Vermittlung von Finanzierung und Förderung und die Suche nach Investoren und Business Angels. Darüber hinaus bietet das Innovationsmanagement mit dem KIT-High-Tech Inkubator jungen Spin-Offs die Möglichkeit, ihr Geschäft noch auf dem Campus weiter auf- und auszubauen.

Weitere Kontakte:
KIT-Innovationsmanagement:

Anke Schmitz:anke schmitzNzq9∂kit edu

CyberForum: Mentoring & Coaching, Business Angels
Corinna Thumm:thummCvv0∂cyberforum de

Pioniergarage e.V.:
Sebastian Richter,sebastianXex1∂pioniergarage de

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 26.08.2011
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseHzl9∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneSzu2∂kit edu