Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseZsg2∂kit edu

Press Release 102/2011

KARIS Is Winner in the Land of Ideas

Institute for Material Handling and Logistics Celebrates Award’s Ceremony with an Open Day on Next Wednesday
KARIS – autonome Elemente optimieren den Materialfluss in Warenlagern und Fertigungshallen (Foto: KIT)
KARIS – autonomous elements optimize materials flow at stores and production halls. (Photo: KIT)

KARIS, the intelligent materials flow system developed by the Institute for Material Handling and Logistics of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is awardee in the competition “365 Orte im Land der Ideen” (365 places in the land of ideas). The system consists of small autonomous elements optimizing materials flow at stores or production halls. On June 22, the Institute will receive the award on an Open Day.

Materials flow systems are the heart of any store and production hall. However, stationary systems used so far, such as roller conveyors, meet today’s alternating requirements to an insufficient degree only. Their adaptation requires a high expenditure and is associated with high costs. In the future, intelligent and small autonomous transporters are to transport objects much more flexibly and inexpensively than existing systems.

With KARIS (Small-scale Autonomous Redundant Intralogistics System), KIT scientists focus on the interaction of a number of small, quick, and autonomous elements instead of rigid systems. Development of this novel system was inspired by the flexible transportation logistics of an ant colony. The individual KARIS elements have a base area of half a square meter and are 40 centimeters high. Thanks to special sensors, the intelligent transport units are capable of orienting autonomously in their environment. Mutual coordination via a WLAN component ensures that they are always there when objects have to be transported. For the transportation of larger objects, they may also combine to clusters of variable size. 

“We are very proud of being a ‘selected place’ in the land of ideas,” says Professor Kai Furmans, Head of the Institute for Material Handling and Logistics, IFL, of KIT. “KARIS stands for materials flow at future stores and production halls: Autonomous, flexible, resources-efficient.”

Frank Arlaud from Deutsche Bank, Karlsruhe, will hand over the award “Ausgewählter Ort 2011” (selected place 2011) on June 22 and emphasizes prior to the ceremony: “The intralogistics system of KIT is an excellent example of Germany as a location of innovation and shows how transportation processes within a company will be carried out more flexibly and efficiently in the future.”

The award’s ceremony is planned to start at 16.45 hrs and will be part of an Open Day of the Institute for Material Handling and Logistics. It will begin at 13.30 hrs and offer tours through the Institute and various presentations on aspects of future logistics concepts.

The Germany-wide competition “365 Orte im Land der Ideen” visualizes the potentials of Germany as a location of innovation. Since 2006, this competition has been organized by the initiative “Deutschland – Land der Ideen” (Germany – land of ideas) together with Deutsche Bank under the auspices of the Federal President. The KARIS project of the Institute for Material Handling and Logistics is one of 2600 applications submitted this year.

For KARIS, KIT logistics experts have been cooperating with a total of eleven partners from science and industry that have joined the “AGT Intralogistik BW” since 2007. The KARIS project is funded by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts (MWK).

A short film on KARIS can be found at:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKvB8PpPayA


The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop energy-efficient, low-emission, and safe vehicles and mobility concepts. The researchers also consider the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, and society.

Under the heading of “Future Mobility”, KIT will present its scientific activities on its new “Campus East – Mobility and Innovation” during an Open Day on July 02. More information can be found at: www.pkm.kit.edu/3072.php

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

jh, 20.06.2011

Press contact:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldHhx3∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseGni5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYxe3∂kit edu

Presseinformation 102/2011

KARIS ausgezeichnet im Land der Ideen

Institut für Fördertechnik und Logistiksysteme feiert am kommenden Mittwoch Preisübergabe mit Tag der offenen Tür
KARIS – autonome Elemente optimieren den Materialfluss in Warenlagern und Fertigungshallen (Foto: KIT)
KARIS – autonome Elemente optimieren den Materialfluss in Warenlagern und Fertigungshallen (Foto: KIT)

Das intelligente Materialflusssystem „KARIS“ aus dem Institut für Fördertechnik und Logistiksysteme des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)  ist Preisträger im Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen“. Das System setzt sich aus kleinen autonomen Elementen zusammen, die eigenständig den Materialfluss in Warenlagern oder Fertigungshallen optimieren. Am 22. Juni erhält das Institut den Preis im Rahmen eines Tages der offenen Tür.

Materialflusssysteme sind das Herzstück jedes Warenlagers und jeder Fertigungshalle. Bislang gebräuchliche, fest installierte Systeme, wie zum Beispiel Rollenförderer, entsprechen den heutzutage ständig wechselnden Anforderungen aber nur unzureichend – die Anpassung ist aufwändig und kostenintensiv. Den reibungslosen Transport von Objekten sollen in Zukunft intelligente und kleine, autonom agierende Transporteure übernehmen – weitaus flexibler und kostengünstiger als bestehende Systeme.

Mit KARIS (Kleinskaliges Autonomes Redundantes Intralogistik System) setzen die Wissenschaftler des KIT anstelle starrer Anlagen auf das Zusammenspiel zahlreicher kleiner, schneller und voneinander unabhängig agierender Elemente. Die Entwicklung des neuen Systems wurde dabei von der flexiblen Transportlogistik eines Ameisenstaates inspiriert. Die einzelnen KARIS-Elemente haben die Grundfläche von einem halben Quadratmeter und sind 40 cm hoch. Dank spezieller Sensortechnik sind die intelligenten Transporteinheiten in der Lage, sich autonom in ihrem jeweiligen Umfeld zu orientieren. Mittels gegenseitiger Abstimmung durch eine WLAN-Komponente sind sie immer dann zur Stelle, wenn ein Transportauftrag ansteht. Für den Transport großer Objekte können sie sich auch zu Clustern verschiedener Größe vereinen.

„Wir sind sehr stolz, ein ‚Ausgewählter Ort‘ im Land der Ideen zu sein“, freut sich Professor Kai Furmans, Leiter des Instituts für Fördertechnik und Logistiksysteme (IFL) des KIT. „KARIS steht für den Materialfluss in Warenlagern und Fertigungshallen der Zukunft: autonom, flexibel, ressourceneffizient.“

Frank Arlaud von der Deutschen Bank in Karlsruhe zeichnet das Institut am 22. Juni als „Ausgewählten Ort 2011“ aus und betont im Vorfeld der Preisverleihung: „Das Intralogistik-System des KIT ist ein herausragendes Beispiel für den Innovationsstandort Deutschland und zeigt, wie unternehmensinterne Transportprozesse zukünftig flexibler und effizienter durchgeführt werden können.“

Die Preisübergabe ist ab 16.45 Uhr vorgesehen und eingebunden in einen Tag der offenen Tür des Instituts für Fördertechnik und Logistiksysteme, der um 13.30 Uhr beginnt und neben Institutsführungen verschiedene Vorträge zu Aspekten künftiger Logistikkonzepte anbietet.

Der bundesweite Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen“ macht das Potenzial des Innovationsstandortes Deutschland sichtbar. Er wird seit 2006 von der Standortinitiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“ gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Bank durchgeführt und steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundespräsidenten. Das Projekt KARIS des Instituts für Fördertechnik und Logistik hat sich in diesem Jahr unter 2600 eingereichten Bewerbungen durchgesetzt.

Für KARIS kooperieren die Logistikexperten des KIT seit 2007 mit insgesamt elf Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Industrie, die in der „AGT Intralogistik BW“ zusammengeschlossen sind. Das KARIS-Projekt wird vom baden-württembergischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst (MWK) gefördert.

Einen kurzen Film zu KARIS finden Sie unter:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKvB8PpPayA



Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute am Campus Süd und Nord des KIT mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, energieeffiziente, emissionsarme und sichere Fahrzeuge sowie Mobilitätskonzepte zu entwickeln. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr und Gesellschaft.

Unter dem Motto „Die Zukunft der Mobilität“ präsentiert das KIT am 2. Juli beim Tag der offenen Tür am neuen Standort „Campus Ost – Mobilität und Innovation“ Wissenschaft zum Anfassen. Nähere Informationen: www.pkm.kit.edu/3072.php

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

jh, 20.06.2011

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldZle8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseGoa4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.