Press Release 086/2011

New Search Technology for Environmental Portals

Quicker and Easier Access to Environmental Information on the Internet
Eine neue Suchtechnologie verbessert den Zugang zu Umweltinformationen im Internet. Das Umweltportal Baden-Württemberg arbeitet mit dieser Technologie. (Foto: Gerd Altmann, pixelio)
A new search technology improves access to environmental information on the internet. The Baden-Württemberg Environmental Portal uses this technology. (Photo: Gerd Altmann, pixelio)

By means of a novel search technology, citizens are granted quicker and easier access to environmental information on the Internet. The Institute of Applied Information Science of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, Systems Technology, and Image Evaluation (IOSB), and the Baden-Württemberg State Office for the Environment, Measurements, and Nature Protection are developing this technology together with other partners. The results will be presented by the partners at a workshop on May 30 and 31.

Which nature reserve is situated near the place of my residence? Is my construction site located in a flood area? What is the air quality at the air measurement station next to the place where I live? The research project on semantic web technologies funded by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection and the Energy Sector (UM) is aimed at decisively improving the search for environmental information. Service-oriented interfaces grant access to the connected expert information systems. By semantic technologies, the portal identifies the context of search words even if they do not exactly correspond to the technical terms. Different terminologies of citizens and scientific experts so far have often made the search in environmental information systems by laymen very tiresome. Not rarely, users stop their search after a series of failed attempts, although the desired information is available.

With the new technology, the Baden-Württemberg Environmental Portal (http://www.umwelt-bw.de) established by UM will be further extended and improved. Using modern search technology, it provides access to texts and documents available at the state offices and applies the commercial type of the Google search technology (Google Search Appliance) as its central search machine. However, typical queries will disclose a part of the information available at the environmental offices only.    
 
The semantic web technology now developed by the partners automatically converts the search query of the user into more specific search queries to the underlying information systems. For this purpose, similar terms are identified and relationships established, which go far beyond a text analysis. Search results are grouped depending on their type of information and contextual relationships and displayed clearly on a search result page. Instead of advertisements known from commercial search machines,related information from additional sources are shown beside the main search results. Hence, results from environmental databases, image archives, from the search of the Statistical State Office, and a number of other sources can be displayed at the same time. In the past, the users were forced to individually search all these files in order to obtain all environmental information on the place of their residence, for instance. Now, the system identifies spatial and temporal references and more complex search queries and offers the information fitting to the current “situation” of a citizen without this citizen having to be familiar with the office’s language and organization. I.e a query for “construction Knielingen” offers construction-relevant environmental information for Knielingen as a part of the city of Karlsruhe.  

In the course of the workshop “Intelligent Portals” on May 30 and 31 at Fraunhofer IOSB in Karlsruhe, current results of the research project “Semantic Search for Environmental Information” (SUI) will be presented to environmental authorities and other interested parties. Moreover, the Hippolytos project for the practical implementation of novel semantic technologies and the use of semantic web technologies in the service-bw administration portal of the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of the Interior will be highlighted. For information on the workshop and registration, click http://www.iosb.fraunhofer.de/servlet/is/36647/.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

af, 24.05.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseZhf1∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafSlx3∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 086/2011

Neue Suchtechnologie für Umweltportale

Schneller und einfacher zu Umweltinformationen im Internet
Eine neue Suchtechnologie verbessert den Zugang zu Umweltinformationen im Internet. Das Umweltportal Baden-Württemberg arbeitet mit dieser Technologie. (Foto: Gerd Altmann, pixelio)
Eine neue Suchtechnologie verbessert den Zugang zu Umweltinformationen im Internet. Das Umweltportal Baden-Württemberg arbeitet mit dieser Technologie. (Foto: Gerd Altmann, pixelio)

Eine neuartige Suchtechnologie führt Bürgerinnen und Bürger schneller und einfacher zu Umweltinformationen im Internet. Das Institut für Angewandte Informatik des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), das Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung (IOSB) sowie die LUBW Landesanstalt für Umwelt, Messungen und Naturschutz Baden-Württemberg entwickeln die Technologie gemeinsam mit weiteren Partnern. Ergebnisse stellen die Partner bei einem Workshop am 30. und 31. Mai vor.

Welches Naturschutzgebiet ist in der Nähe meines Wohnorts? Liegt mein Bauplatz in einem Überschwemmungsgebiet? Wie ist die Luftqualität an der meinem Wohnort nächstgelegenen Luftmessstation? Das vom Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg (UM) geförderte Forschungsprojekt zu semantischen Webtechnologien will die Suche nach Umweltinformationen entscheidend verbessern. Service-orientierte Schnittstellen ermöglichen den Zugang zu angeschlossenen Fachinformationssystemen. Durch semantische Technologien erkennt das Portal den fachlichen Zusammenhang von Sucheingaben, auch wenn sie nicht genau den Fachbegriffen entsprechen. Denn unterschiedliche Begriffswelten von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern und wissenschaftlichen Fachleuten machen für Laien die Suche in Umweltfachinformationssystemen bislang oft langwierig. Nicht selten brechen Nutzer eine Suche nach einer Reihe vergeblicher Versuche ab, obwohl die gewünschten Informationen vorhanden sind.

Mit der neuen Technologie wird das vom UM  eingerichtete Umweltportal Baden-Württemberg (http://www.umwelt-bw.de) weiter ausgebaut und verbessert. Es macht mit moderner Suchtechnologie Texte und Dokumente, die bei den Umweltfachbehörden vorliegen, zugänglich und setzt die kommerzielle Variante der Google Suchtechnologie (Google Search Appliance) als zentrale Suchmaschine ein. Doch auch diese Technik erschließt über ihre Volltextsuche bei typischen Anfragen nur einen Teil der Informationen aus den Umweltbehörden.
 
Die semantische Webtechnologie, die die Partner nun entwickeln, wandelt die Suchanfrage eines Nutzers automatisch in gezieltere Suchanfragen an rückwärtige Fachinformationssysteme um. Dafür müssen nicht nur ähnliche Begriffe erkannt, sondern auch Zusammenhänge hergestellt werden, die weit über eine Textanalyse hinausgehen. Zurückkommende Ergebnisse werden nach Informationsart und fachlichen Zusammenhängen gruppiert und auf einer Suchergebnisseite übersichtlich angezeigt. Anstelle von Werbeanzeigen, wie sie von kommerziellen Suchmaschinen bekannt sind, werden zusätzliche Informationsquellen eingeblendet. Damit lassen sich gleichzeitig Ergebnisse aus den Umweltdatenbanken, aus Bildarchiven, aus der Suche des Statistischen Landesamtes und zahlreichen anderen Quellen anzeigen, die die Nutzer bislang hätten einzeln durchsuchen müssen, um beispielsweise alle Umweltinformationen zu ihrem Wohnort zu erhalten. Das System erkennt den räumlichen und zeitlichen Bezug sowie komplexere Suchanfragen und bietet die zur aktuellen „Lebenslage“ eines Bürgers passende Information, ohne dass er sich in der Behördensprache und Behördenorganisation auskennen muss. So liefert eine Anfrage nach „Bauen Knielingen“ baurelevante Umweltinformationen mit Bezug zu Knielingen als Stadtteil von Karlsruhe.

Im Zuge des Workshops „Intelligente Portale“ am 30. und 31. Mai im Fraunhofer IOSB in Karlsruhe werden aktuelle Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts „Semantische Suche nach Umweltinformationen“ (SUI) den Umweltbehörden und anderen Interessierten vorgestellt. Außerdem werden auf diesem Workshop das Projekt Hippolytos, mit dem ebenfalls neuartige semantische Technologien in die Praxis gebracht werden sollen, sowie die Nutzung semantischer Webtechnologien im Verwaltungsportal service-bw des Innenministeriums Baden-Württemberg präsentiert. Informationen zum Workshop und zurAnmeldung unter http://www.iosb.fraunhofer.de/servlet/is/36647/.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

af, 24.05.2011
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseDap2∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafFvy9∂kit edu