Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 009/2010

MicroTec Southwest and Software Cluster Win Top Cluster Competition

KIT Is Involved in Both Top Clusters – Funds of 40 Millions Each for the Next Five Years
Mouse
Cloud Computing – one trump of KIT in the top cluster competition. (Photo: Gabi Zachmann)

Today, Federal Minister of Research Annette Schavan announced the winners of the second round of the Top Cluster Competition. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) will provide the five winners with funds of up to 200 million Euros in total over a duration of five years. Among the winners of the competition are the microsystems technology cluster “MicroTEC Southwest“ and Europe’s largest software cluster “Software Innovations for the Digital Enterprise”. KIT is involved in both clusters.

MicroTEC Southwest with KIT as a partner is a technology cluster focusing on the use of microsystems technology in various sectors. The cluster based in Baden-Württemberg is aimed at linking research, industry, and in particular small and medium-sized enterprises and crossing the boundaries of branches. Microsystems technology is considered a key technology due to applications in automotive industry, medical engineering, mechanical engineering, and automation. The cluster of 320 partners among others includes the companies of Bosch and Roche as well as a number of universities and research institutions in Baden-Württemberg. On the part of KIT, the NanoMicro Center is involved. “We are very pleased that the numerous partners of the cluster have undertaken the effort and that microsystems technology in Baden-Württemberg will be made visible in an excellent manner,” underlines Professor Volker Saile, Head of the NANOMICRO Helmholtz program and of the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) on KIT Campus North. More information can be found at www.microtec-suedwest.de.

The software cluster is considered the “Silicon Valley” of Europe and includes the centers of Darmstadt, Kaiserslautern, Karlsruhe, Saarbrücken, and Walldorf. The only software cluster in Germany funded by BMBF is aimed at pushing technical and methodological research and development of software solutions for digital enterprises. The CyberForum network, Karlsruhe, coordinated the proposal for the region of northern Baden. Other partners of the software cluster are big German manufacturers of enterprise software, such as IDS Scheer AG, SAP AG, and Software AG, more than 350 small and medium-sized enterprises in the enterprise software branch, as well as research institutions in Darmstadt, Kaiserslautern, and the Saarland.

"KIT participates in the software cluster due to its internationally excellent information science research and training under the KIT COMMputation Focus at the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) and the Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI). KIT research into cloud computing provides crucial inputs in entirely new forms of IT service offers which improve cost efficiency and accelerate innovation processes at enterprises,” says Professor Wilfried Juling, Director of the SCC. Further information on the software cluster can be found at www.software-cluster.com

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg, 26.01.2010

Press contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafGnh9∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 009/2010

MicroTec Südwest und Software-Cluster erhalten Zuschlag beim Spitzencluster-Wettbewerb

KIT an beiden Spitzenclustern beteiligt – Förderung jeweils 40 Millionen für die nächsten fünf Jahre
Mouse
Cloud-Computing - ein Trumpf des KIT im Spitzencluster-Wettbewerb. (Foto: Gabi Zachmann)

Bundesforschungsministerin Annette Schavan hat heute die Sieger der zweiten Runde des Spitzencluster-Wettbewerbs bekannt gegeben. Die fünf Gewinner fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) mit insgesamt bis zu 200 Millionen Euro über fünf Jahre. Unter den Gewinnern des Wettbewerbs ist das Mikrosystemtechnik-Cluster „MicroTEC Südwest“ und Europas größtes Softwarecluster „Softwareinnovationen für das digitale Unternehmen“. An beiden ist das KIT beteiligt.

MikroTEC Südwest mit dem KIT als Partner ist ein Technologiecluster, bei dem die Mikrosystemtechnik als Querschnittstechnologie im Vordergrund steht. Ziel dieses Clusters mit Sitz in Baden-Württemberg ist es, Forschung, Industrie und besonders den Mittelstand zu vernetzen und dabei Branchengrenzen zu überschreiten. Die Mikrosystemtechnik gilt als Schlüsseltechnologie mit Anwendungen in der Automobilindustrie, in der Medizintechnik, Maschinenbau und Automation. Zum Cluster mit 320 Partnern gehören unter anderem die Firmen Bosch und Roche sowie zahlreiche Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen in Baden-Württemberg. Auf KIT-Seite ist hier besonders das Zentrum NanoMikro involviert. „Es ist außerordentlich erfreulich, dass die vielen Partnern im Cluster nach großen Anstrengungen erfolgreich waren und die Mikrosystemtechnik in Baden-Württemberg in herausragender Weise sichtbar wird“, so Professor Volker Saile, Leiter des Helmholtz-Programms NANOMIKRO und Leiter des Instituts für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) im KIT-Campus Nord. Weitere Infomationen unter www.microtec-suedwest.de.

Das „Software-Cluster“ gilt als „Silicon Valley“ Europas und erstreckt sich über die Zentren Darmstadt, Kaiserslautern, Karlsruhe, Saarbrücken und Walldorf. Ziel des Clusters - das als einziges Software-Cluster in Deutschland von BMBF gefördert wird -  ist es, die technologische und methodische Erforschung und Entwicklung von Softwarelösungen für digitale Unternehmen voranzutreiben. Das Karlsruher Netzwerk CyberForum hat für die Region Nordbaden hat die Bewerbung koordiniert. Weitere Partner im Software-Cluster sind große deutsche Hersteller von Unternehmenssoftware wie IDS Scheer AG, SAP AG und Software AG sowie über 350 kleine und mittlere Unternehmen der Unternehmenssoftwarebranche sowie Forschungseinrichtungen in Darmstadt, Kaiserslautern und im Saarland.

"Das KIT ist am Software-Cluster aufgrund seiner international herausragenden Informatik-Forschung und der Ausbildung im KIT-Schwerpunkt COMMputation und hier besonders mit dem Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) und dem Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI) beteiligt. Mit der Forschung zum „Cloud Computing“ liefert das KIT entscheidende Impulse für ganz neue Formen von IT-Dienstangeboten, die eine bessere Kosteneffizienz und beschleunigte Innovationsprozesse in Unternehmen ermöglichen“, so Professor Wilfried Juling, Direktor des SCC. Weitere Infomationen zum Software-Cluster unter: www.software-cluster.com

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 26.01.2010

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafOlw2∂kit edu