Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 101/2010

LQI Concept Measures Satisfaction of Students

KIT’s Empirical Method Is About to Be Commercialized as a Software – Results Will Improve Lectures and Seminars
Jede Stimme zählt beim LQI-Konzept. (Foto: Jana Mayer)
Using the LQI concept, every vote counts. (Photo: Jana Mayer)

KIT has developed an empirical method that precisely determines the satisfaction of students with lectures and seminars. Students at KIT evaluate about 1500 lectures and seminars per semester. From the 50,000 questionnaires in total, Dr. Michael Craanen determines a teaching quality index (LQI) that reflects the satisfaction of students with every lecture and seminar. Three days upon the survey at the latest are the results passed on to the lecturer. The LQI concept is part of KIT’s quality management scheme. Soon, other universities may be granted a license for the use of this method.

“KIT’s LQI index classifies lectures and seminars according to the traffic light scheme,” says Dr. Michael Craanen from the KIT Planning and Controlling Service Unit, who has developed the system. “Green light indicates high acceptance by the students. Yellow and red lights, however, mean that a lecture or seminar is not received well by the students.” In contrast to conventional teaching evaluations, however, the LQI concept is not restricted to determining the status quo. “Our quality assurance system guarantees that the evaluation results are constantly used to improve our teaching efforts,” underlines Craanen. Deans are also informed about the results. Seminars with bad results will be examined by a studies commission. The evaluation that has been accomplished manually by Craanen and his colleagues so far met with wide interest in practice and on expert conferences and will be commercialized soon as an extension module of the EvaSys evaluation software. This module will automatically generate the reports. “Via our licensee, the company of Electric Paper Gesellschaft für Softwarelösung, Lüneburg, it will also be available to other universities,” says Dr. Dirk Feuchter from the KIT Innovation Management Service Unit.

The acceptance by students and students councils is enormous. 95 percent of the students complete and return their questionnaires. “This is a great rate,” underlines Craanen, “the students at KIT know that their evaluation is appreciated and has consequences.” Due to the rapid evaluation procedure, the results can be discussed with the lecturer during the next lesson already.

First effects of the evaluation with direct feedback are already apparent at KIT: “Since the introduction of the LQI concept in the 2008 summer semester, satisfaction of students with lectures and seminars has increased measurably. We will continue to observe and analyze them in the medium and long term,” underlines Professor Jürgen Becker, KIT Division Director for Studies and Teaching.

KIT’s LQI concept will be presented for the first time as a software at the EvaSys User Meeting 2010, which will take place at KIT from September 16 to 17. The organizers, the Electric Paper Gesellschaft für Softwarelösungen mbH and KIT, expect more than 100 participants from universities.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg, 07.09.2010

Press contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafXpx8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseTok3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 101/2010

LQI-Konzept misst Zufriedenheit der Studierenden

Am KIT entwickeltes empirisches Verfahren demnächst als Software verfügbar – Ergebnisse fließen direkt in die Verbesserung von Lehrveranstaltungen ein
Jede Stimme zählt beim LQI-Konzept. (Foto: Jana Mayer)
Jede Stimme zählt beim LQI-Konzept - Studierende beim Ausfüllen der Evaluationsbögen (Foto: Jana Mayer)

Das KIT hat ein empirisches Verfahren entwickelt, das punkt-genau Auskunft über die Zufriedenheit der Studierenden mit Vorlesungen und Seminaren gibt. Etwa 1500 Lehrveranstaltun-gen beurteilen die Studierenden am KIT pro Semester. Aus den insgesamt 50 000 Fragebögen ermittelt Dr. Michael Craanen für jede Veranstaltung einen Lehrqualitätsindex (LQI), der das Maß der Zufriedenheit der Studierenden widerspiegelt. Spätestens drei Tage nach der Befragung hat der Lehrende die Beurteilung auf dem Tisch. Das LQI-Konzept ist ein Baustein im Qualitäts-management des KIT und steht demnächst in Lizenz auch an-deren Universitäten zur Verfügung.

„Der KIT-LQI-Index teilt Veranstaltungen nach dem Ampelsystem ein“, so Dr. Michael Craanen von der Dienstleistungseinheit Planung und Controlling des KIT, der das System entwickelt hat. „Abstufun-gen in grün zeugen von guter Resonanz bei den Studierenden. Die gelbe und rote Ampel hingegen bedeutet, dass eine Veranstaltung bei den Studierenden nicht so gut ankommt.“ Der große Unterschied zu den bisher üblichen Lehrevaluationen ist, dass nicht nur der Sta-tus quo ermittelt wird. „Unser System der Qualitätssicherung sorgt dafür, dass die Bewertungen ständig in die Verbesserung der Lehre einfließen“, so Craanen. So bekommen auch die Studiendekane Rückmeldungen. Veranstaltungen mit weniger guter Bewertung nimmt eine Studienkommission unter die Lupe. Die Auswertung, die Craanen mit seinen Mitarbeitern bisher per Hand erstellte, kam in der Praxis und auf Fachtagungen so gut an, dass diese in Kürze als Erweiterungsmodul der Evaluationssoftware EvaSys auf den Markt kommt. Dieses Modul generiert die Berichte automatisch. "Über den Lizenznehmer, die Firma Electric Paper Gesellschaft für Softwarelö-sung, Lüneburg, wird es künftig auch anderen Hochschulen zur Verfügung stehen", so Dr. Dirk Feuchter vom Innovationsmanage-ment des KIT.

Der Zuspruch seitens der Studierenden und der Fachschaften ist enorm. 95 Prozent der Studierenden liefern ihre Fragebögen ab. „Eine Traumquote“, so Craanen, „die Studierenden am KIT wissen, dass ihre Beurteilung gehört wird und Auswirkungen hat.“ Das schnelle Auswertungsverfahren sorgt dafür, dass die Ergebnisse der Evaluation bereits in der nächsten Vorlesung mit dem Lehrenden diskutiert werden können.

Die ersten Effekte der Lehrevaluation mit unmittelbarer Rückkopp-lung am KIT zeigen sich: „Seit der Einführung des LQI-Konzepts im Sommersemester 2008 ist die Zufriedenheit der Studierenden mit den Lehrveranstaltungen messbar gestiegen. Diese werden wir weiterhin mittel- und langfristig genau beobachten und analysieren“,
betont Professor Jürgen Becker, KIT-Bereichsvorstand für Studium und Lehre.

Erstmals vorgestellt wird das KIT-LQI-Konzept als Software auf der EvaSys Anwendertagung 2010, die vom 16. bis 17. September am KIT stattfindet. Der Veranstalter, die Electric Paper Gesellschaft für Softwarelösungen mbH in Kooperation mit dem KIT, erwartet mehr als 100 Teilnehmer seitens der Hochschulen

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 07.09.2010

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafCkm9∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseKgr7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.