Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 087/2010

Targeting Digital Services

“Second Karlsruhe Service Summit“ brings together Experts from Science, Politics, and Industry
Der Karlsruhe Service Summit: Stufen auf dem Weg zur perfekten digitalen Dienstleistung (Foto:Markus Breig)
Karlsruhe Service Summit: Steps towards perfect digital service. (Photo: Markus Breig)

How can digital services be offered in an intelligent, user-friendly, and efficient way? What is required for a good IT architecture and price, above all when services are provided jointly by several suppliers? These topics will be in the focus of the “Second Karlsruhe Service Summit” on Friday, July 23, 2010. The Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI) of KIT will bring together more than 160 renowned experts from science and decision-makers from politics and industry in order to discuss current and future developments in service research.

Journalists are cordially invited to come to the summit on July 23, 10.00 to 19.00 hrs (Tulla-Hörsaal, Englerstraße 11, building 11.40) (kindly register using the form enclosed).

This second service summit follows the very successful “First Karlsruhe Service Summit” in 2008. The keynote speaker this year will be Dirk Wittkopp, IBM Germany, Vice President Research & Development Lab. Other speakers will be Dr. Kamal Bhattacharya (IBM Research India), Professor Christos Nikolaou (University of Crete, Greece), Professor Bo Edvardsson (Karlstads Universitet, Sweden), and Professor Eric Dubois (Centre de Recherche Public Henri Tudor, Luxembourg). Two panel discussions focusing on both on technical as well as on economic and societal aspects of service research will complement the expert lectures.

The service summit is part of the “Karlsruhe Service Summer”. Prior to the service summit, from July 18 to 22, young international scientists and practitioner already will have the opportunity to attend a summer school (“First Karlsruhe Summer School on Service Research”) and to learn about current research results and trends in lectures, workshops, and IT exercises offered by renowned lecturers in the fields of Service Innovation, Service Design, Service Economics, Service (IT) Architecture, and Service Semantics & Intelligence, IDEAS” in short.

The Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI) was founded in January 2008 and is funded jointly by KIT and IBM Deutschland GmbH. Under an innovative “industry-on-campus” concept, researchers from industry and university are working in joint teams. Interdisciplinary teaching and research activities of the institute focus on IT-based and IT-supported services. Currently, KSRI consists of four research groups: Service Innovation & Management (Prof. Dr. Gerhard Satzger), Knowledge Management (Prof. Dr. Rudi Studer), Economy and Technology of eOrganization (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Tai), and Information & Market Engineering (Prof. Dr. Christof Weinhardt).

Detailed information on the Karlsruhe Service Summer and the program of the service summit may be obtained at www.service-summer.org, and www.ksri.kit.edu

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg, 20.07.2010

Press contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafXcm3∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseWey9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 087/2010

Digitale Dienstleistungen im Visier

„Second Karlsruhe Service Summit“ bringt Experten aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Industrie zusammen
Der Karlsruhe Service Summit: Stufen auf dem Weg zur perfekten digitalen Dienstleistung (Foto:Markus Breig)
Der Karlsruhe Service Summit: Stufen auf dem Weg zur perfekten digitalen Dienstleistung (Foto:Markus Breig)

Wie lassen sich digitale Dienste intelligent, benutzerfreundlich und effizient gestalten? Was ist notwendig, damit am Ende IT-Architektur und Preise stimmen, vor allem wenn Dienstleistungen von mehreren Anbietern gemeinsam erbracht werden? Dies sind Kernfragen des „Second Karlsruhe Service Summit" am Freitag, 23. Juli 2010. Das Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI) am KIT bringt zum Servicegipfel über 160 renommierte Experten aus der Wissenschaft sowie Entscheider aus Politik und Industrie zusammen, um über aktuelle und künftige Entwicklungen der Dienstleistungsforschung zu diskutieren.

Journalistinnen und Journalisten sind zur Veranstaltung am 23. Juli von 10:00 bis 19:00 Uhr (Tulla-Hörsaal, Englerstr. 11, Geb. 11.40) herzlich eingeladen.

Der zweite Servicegipfel knüpft an die sehr erfolgreiche Veranstaltung "First Karlsruhe Service Summit" im Jahr 2008 an. Keynote-Redner des diesjährigen Servicegipfels ist Dirk Wittkopp, IBM Germany, Vice President Research & Development Lab. Weitere Redner sind Dr. Kamal Bhattacharya (IBM Research Indien), Professor Christos Nikolaou (Universität Kreta, Griechenland), Professor Bo Edvardsson (Karlstads Universitet, Schweden) und Professor Eric Dubois (Centre de Recherche Public Henri Tudor, Luxemburg). Zwei Panel-Diskussionen zu technologischen sowie zu ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Fragen der Serviceforschung ergänzen die Expertenvorträge.

Der Servicegipfel ist Teil des "Karlsruhe Service Summer". Bereits in den Tagen vor dem Servicegipfel haben vom 18. bis 22. Juli internationale Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler sowie junge Praktiker in einer Sommerschule ("First Karlsruhe Summer School on Service Research") Gelegenheit sich in Vorlesungen, Workshops und IT-Übungen mit renommierten Dozenten über aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und Trends in fünf Teilbereichen der Service-Forschung zu informieren:  "Service Innovation", " Service Design", "Service Economics”, "Service (IT-) Architecture" und "Service Semantics & Intelligence" – kurz "IDEAS".

Das Karlsruhe Service Research Institute (KSRI) wurde im Januar 2008 gegründet und ist eine gemeinsam getragene Einrichtung des KIT und der IBM Deutschland GmbH. Ein innovatives "industry-on-campus"-Konzept bringt Forscherinnen und Forscher aus Industrie und Hochschule in gemeinsamen Teams zusammen. Der Schwerpunkt der interdisziplinären Arbeit des Instituts in Lehre und Forschung liegt auf IT-basierten und IT-unterstützten Dienstleistungen. Derzeit besteht das KSRI aus vier Forschungsgruppen: Service Innovation & Management (Prof. Dr. Gerhard Satzger), Wissensmanagement (Prof. Dr. Rudi Studer), Ökonomie und Technologie der eOrganisation (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Tai) und Information & Market Engineering (Prof. Dr. Christof Weinhardt).

Weitere Informationen zum Karlsruhe Service Summer und Programm des Service Summits auf: www.service-summer.org   und www.ksri.kit.edu

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 20.07.2010

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafQjj7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseRxv0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.