Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 059/2010

KIT Wins 2011 Automobile Summer Competition

With Its Open House Event, KIT Is One of Ten Winners of the Competition of Ideas
Ein Thema am Tag der offenen Tür: das Projekthaus e-drive (Foto: Markus Breig)
One topic of the open house: The e-drive project house. (Photo: Markus Breig)

The engineer Carl Benz was born in Karlsruhe and one of the pioneers of mobility. 125 years ago, he succeeded in inventing the automobile. On January 29, 1886, it was patented officially under No. 3 74 35, and his wife Bertha set out on a first drive from Mannheim to Pforzheim. Baden-Württemberg still is an important location of major automotive manufacturers and suppliers. Hence, the state of Baden-Württemberg will celebrate the invention of the automobile with a number of exhibitions and events in 2011. KIT now is one of ten winners of the competition of ideas for celebration events.

KIT plans to open its laboratories and vehicle test rigs on the premises of the former Mackensen barracks to the interested public on July 02, 2011. Latest research results of the more than 800 scientists conducting research in the field of mobility systems will be demonstrated. The exciting future of mobility can be experienced. Mobility systems research mainly focuses on the future of the automobile and its important, but changed role in the mobility mix of the next years. KIT creates the basis for automobile innovations, some of which are presently being implemented in cooperation with large automotive manufacturers and supply companies in Baden-Württemberg. In the future, this fruitful cooperation will even gain importance.  

“At our open house event, visitors will be provided an exclusive insight into the world of mobility research. Laboratory visits, popular scientific lectures, test drives, and a large accompanying program will offer information and entertainment for young and old. People will have the opportunity to experience the future of mobility,” underlines Dr. Thomas Windmann, coordinator of the 2011 Automobile Summer at KIT. The event will include a program for children with presentations of the KIT Children’s University, pupils laboratories, and a rallye. To present an entertaining artistic program, KIT will cooperate with media partners in order to attract many visitors.

The following topics will be covered by this event: Fuels of the future (fuel from biomass, hydrogen, energy stores), e-mobility (project house e-drive, electric drives, steer-by-wire, stores), lightweight construction (component optimization, test rigs, bionics, production technology), light technology (visibility conditions, perceptibility, safety), navigation and assistance systems (vehicle control, traffic control, logistics, driver assistance systems, cognitive vehicles). Under the heading of “studying racing”, KIT supports the KA Racing Team that will soon participate in electric car races.

Professor Horst Hippler, President of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, has all reasons to be proud. “We are very happy about this success of KIT. Under the heading of The Future of Mobility, KIT will make an excellent contribution to the 2011 Automobile Summer.” The event will demonstrate that KIT is the mobility campus in Germany.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

gp, 07.05.2010
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseWmq7∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Dr. Thomas Windmann Leiter Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing Tel.: +49 7247-82-2248 Fax: +49 7247-82-7687 E-Mail:thomas windmannXqh5∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseXmt5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 059/2010

KIT für den Automobilsommer 2011 ausgezeichnet

Das KIT ist mit seinem Tag der Offenen Tür einer der zehn Gewinner im Ideenwettbewerb
Ein Thema am Tag der offenen Tür: das Projekthaus e-drive (Foto: Markus Breig)
Ein Thema am Tag der offenen Tür: das Projekthaus e-drive (Foto: Markus Breig)

Der in Karlsruhe geborene Ingenieur Carl Benz war einer der Pioniere der Mobilität. Vor 125 Jahren gelang es ihm, das Automobil zu erfinden, am 29. Januar 1886 ließ  er es unter der Nummer 3 74 35 offiziell patentieren, und seine Frau Bertha unternahm die erste Fahrt von Mannheim nach Pforzheim. Noch heute ist Baden-Württemberg wichtiger Standort bedeutender Automobilhersteller und –zulieferer. Deshalb feiert das Land Baden-Württemberg 2011 die Erfindung des Autos mit zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Events. Das KIT gewann mit neun anderen den Ideenwettbewerb der Einzelaktionen.

Mit einem breitgefächerten Angebot wird das KIT am 2. Juli 2011 seine  Labore und Fahrzeugprüfstände auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Mackensen-Kaserne für das interessierte Publikum öffnen. Neueste Forschungsergebnisse der über 800 Wissenschaftler, die am KIT im Bereich Mobilitätssysteme forschen, werden gezeigt: Die spannende Zukunft der Mobilität ist damit jetzt schon eröffnet. Denn es geht im Forschungsschwerpunkt Mobilitätssysteme vor allem um die Zukunft des Automobils und seiner wichtigen, aber doch veränderten Rolle im Mobilitätsmix der nächsten Jahre. Dafür werden gerade am KIT die Grundlagen für automobile Innovationen gelegt, die zusammen mit großen baden-württembergischen Automobilherstellern und –zulieferern schon jetzt umgesetzt werden. Diese fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit wird in Zukunft noch wichtiger werden.

„An unserem Tag der offenen Tür erhalten die Besucher einen exklusiven Einblick in die Welt der Mobilitätsforschung. Laborbesichtigungen, populärwissenschaftliche Vorträge, Testfahrten und ein großes Bühnenprogramm bieten Informationen und Unterhaltung für Jung und Alt. Wir machen die Zukunft der Mobilität erlebbar!“, so Dr. Thomas Windmann, Koordinator des Automobilsommers 2011 am KIT. Ein kindgerechtes Rahmenprogramm, das Vorlesungen der KIT-Kinderuni, Schülerlabore und eine Kinder-Rallye umfassen wird, ergänzt das Angebot. Zusammen mit Medienpartnern wird an diesem Tag der offenen Tür auch ein attraktives Bühnenprogramm viele Besucher nach Karlsruhe locken.

Spannende Themenfelder dieses Tages werden sein: Kraftstoffe der Zukunft (Treibstoff aus Biomasse, Wasserstoff, Energiespeicher), E-mobility (Projekthaus e-drive, Elektroantrieb, steerbywire, Speicher), Leichtbau (Bauteiloptimierung, Prüfstände, Bionik, Produktionstechnik), Lichttechnik (Sichtverhältnisse, Erkennbarkeit, Sicherheit) und Leit- und Assistenzsysteme (Fahrzeug-, Verkehrsführung, Logistik, Fahrerassistenz, kognitive Fahrzeuge). Außerdem fördert das KIT unter dem Motto „Rennsport studieren“  das KA-Raceing-Team, das demnächst auch in Elektroautos Rennen fahren wird.

Zu Recht ist deshalb Prof. Dr. Horst Hippler, Präsident des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie – KIT, stolz: „Wir freuen uns sehr über den Erfolg des KIT. Mit dem Thema Zukunft der Mobilität wird das KIT einen hervorragenden Beitrag zum Automobilsommer 2011 leisten.“ Denn hier wird sich zeigen, dass das KIT der Mobilitätscampus Deutschlands ist.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

gp, 07.05.2010

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Dr. Thomas Windmann Leiter Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing Tel.: +49 7247-82-2248 Fax: +49 7247-82-7687 E-Mail:thomas windmannAgx0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseTqv1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.