Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Gay-Lussac-Humboldt Prize 2017 for Johannes Orphal

Académie des Sciences in Paris Honors Karlsruhe Climate Researcher
2018_004_Gay-Lussac-Humboldt-Preis 2017 fuer Johannes Orphal.jpg
Professor Johannes Orphal (photo: Rolf F. Wenzel)

Climate researcher Professor Johannes Orphal from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will be awarded the renowned Gay-Lussac-Humboldt Prize of the Paris Académie des Sciences. By awarding this prize, the academy honors the researcher’s outstanding contributions to remote sensing of the Earth’s atmosphere. The Gay-Lussac-Humboldt Prize is awarded every year to two exceptional German researchers with particular merits in German-French cooperation. The prize was created in 1981 by the then French president Valéry Giscard d’Estaing and the then German chancellor Helmut Schmidt. It is endowed with 60,000 euros.

“Professor Orphal is one of our leading scientists in climate research. With his work, he has set international standards,” says President of KIT Professor Holger Hanselka. “His research, in particular on atmospheric trace gases, highlights important factors that cause climate change. Through science, Professor Orphal intends to contribute to the protection of our natural resources. We are proud of the fact that Johannes Orphal researches and teaches at the KIT.”

“This award is an extraordinary honor and an incentive for me to further expand our German-French cooperation in climate research in the future,” points out Johannes Orphal, who has been researching and teaching at KIT since 2009.

Full text: press release 04/2018

lg, 22.01.2018

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Gay-Lussac-Humboldt-Preis 2017 für Johannes Orphal

Académie des Sciences in Paris würdigt Karlsruher Klimaforscher
2018_004_Gay-Lussac-Humboldt-Preis 2017 fuer Johannes Orphal.jpg
Professor Johannes Orphal (Foto: Rolf F. Wenzel)

Der Klimaforscher Professor Johannes Orphal vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erhält den renommierten Gay-Lussac-Humboldt-Preis der Pariser Académie des sciences. Die Akademie würdigt damit seine herausragenden Beiträge zur Fernerkundung der Erdatmosphäre. Der Gay-Lussac-Humboldt-Preis wird jährlich an zwei herausragende deutsche Forscher verliehen, die sich besonders um die deutsch-französische Zusammenarbeit verdient gemacht haben. Der Preis wurde 1981 gemeinsam vom französischen Präsidenten Valéry Giscard d’Estaing und dem damaligen Bundeskanzler Helmut Schmidt geschaffen. Er ist mit jeweils 60 000 Euro dotiert.  

„Professor Orphal ist einer unserer führenden Wissenschaftler in der Klimaforschung, der mit seinen Arbeiten auch international Maßstäbe gesetzt hat“, sagt der Präsident des KIT Professor Holger Hanselka. „Seine Forschung, insbesondere zu atmosphärischen Spurengasen, stellt einen Gradmesser dar und weist auf wichtige Faktoren hin, die zum Klimawandel beitragen. Sein Ziel ist es, mithilfe der Wissenschaft zum Schutz unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen beizutragen. Wir sind stolz, dass Johannes Orphal am KIT forscht und lehrt.“

„Diese Auszeichnung ist eine außerordentliche Ehre. Und sie ist zugleich Ansporn für mich, unsere deutsch-französische Kooperation in der Klimaforschung künftig noch weiter auszubauen“, betont Johannes Orphal, der seit 2009 am KIT forscht und lehrt.

Vollständiger Text: Presseinformation 04/2018

 

lg, 22.01.2018