Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Nature: Optical Communication at Record-High Speed

Soliton frequency combs generated in optical microresonators allow to transmit data at rates of more than 50 terabits per second – publication in Nature
Optical chip carrying a multitude of silicon nitride microresonators (Picture: J. N. Kemal/ P. Marin Palomo/KIT)
Optical chip carrying a multitude of silicon nitride microresonators (Picture: J. N. Kemal/ P. Marin Palomo/KIT)
Solitonen-Frequenzkämme (Bild: J. N. Kemal/P. Marin Palomo/KIT)
Soliton frequency combs, generated in silicon nitride microresonators, are used for massively parallel data transmission via various frequency channels (Photo: J. N. Kemal/ P. Marin-Palomo/ KIT)

Researchers at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) have set a new record for optical data transmission: As reported in Nature, the team exploits optical solitons circulating in silicon nitride microresonators to generate broadband optical frequency combs. Two such superimposed frequency combs enable massive parallel data transmission on 179 wavelength channels at a data rate of more than 50 terabits per second.

Optical solitons are special wave packages that propagate without changing their shape. In optical communications, solitons can be used for generating frequency combs with various spectral lines, which allow to realize particularly efficient and compact high-capacity optical communication systems. This was demonstrated recently by researchers from KIT’s Institute of Photonics and Quantum Electronics (IPQ) and Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) together with researchers from EPFL’s Laboratory of Photonics and Quantum Measurements (LPQM).

As reported in Nature, the researchers used silicon nitride microresonators that can easily be integrated into compact communication systems. Within these resonators, solitons circulate continuously, thus generating broadband optical frequency combs. In their experiments, the researchers from Karlsruhe and Lausanne used two interleaved frequency combs to transmit data on 179 individual optical carriers, which completely cover the optical telecommunication C and L bands and allow a transmission of data in a rate of 55 terabits per second over a distance of 75 kilometers. “This is equivalent to more than five billion phone calls or more than two million HD TV channels. It is the highest data rate ever reached using a frequency comb source in chip format,” explains Christian Koos, professor at KIT’s IPQ and IMT.

The components have the potential to reduce the energy consumption of the light source in communication systems drastically. The soliton comb sources are ideally suited for data transmission and can be produced in large quantities at low costs on compact microchips. Microresonator soliton frequency comb sources can considerably increase the performance of wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) techniques in optical communications.

Further Information in the Press Release 074/2017.



or, 08.06.2017

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Nature: Optische Kommunikation im Rekordtempo

Mit sogenannten Solitonen-Frequenzkämmen aus optischen Mikroresonatoren lassen sich Daten mit einer Geschwindigkeit von über 50 Terabit pro Sekunde übertragen – Publikation in Nature
Kreisförmige Siliziumnitrid-Mikroresonatoren auf einem Chip im Vergleich mit einer Cent-Münze. (Bild: J. N. Kemal/ P. Marin Palomo/KIT)
Kreisförmige Siliziumnitrid-Mikroresonatoren auf einem Chip im Vergleich mit einer Cent-Münze. (Bild: J. N. Kemal/ P. Marin Palomo/KIT)
Solitonen-Frequenzkämme (Bild: J. N. Kemal/P. Marin Palomo/KIT)
Solitonen-Frequenzkämme werden durch Siliziumnitrid-Mikroresonatoren erzeugt und zur parallelen Datenübertragung über eine Vielzahl von Frequenzkanälen genutzt. (Bild: J. N. Kemal/P. Marin Palomo/KIT).

Einen neuen Rekord in der Datenübertragung mit Licht haben Wissenschaftler am KIT und an der École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) erreicht: Wie die Forscher in der Zeitschrift Nature berichten, ließen sie optische Solitonen in Mikroresonatoren aus Siliziumnitrid auf einem Chip zirkulieren und erzeugten dadurch optische Frequenzkämme, welche eine Datenübertragung auf 179 Wellenlängenkanälen mit einer Datenrate von über 50 Terabit pro Sekunde ermöglichen.

In der optischen Kommunikation können sogenannte Solitonen zur Erzeugung von Frequenzkämmen mit einer Vielzahl von Spektrallinien eingesetzt werden, mit denen sich besonders leistungsfähige und kompakte Übertragungssysteme von hoher Kapazität realisieren lassen. Dies haben Forscher am Institut für Photonik und Quantenelektronik (IPQ) und am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) des KIT, sowie am Laboratory of Photonics and Quantum Measurements (LPQM) der EPFL nun demonstriert.

Wie die Wissenschaftler in der Zeitschrift Nature berichten, erzeugten sie in Mikroresonatoren aus Siliziumnitrid Solitonen, welche kontinuierlich zirkulieren und optische Frequenzkämme von großer Bandbreite erschaffen. Mit zwei sich überlagernden Kerr-Frequenzkämmen erzeugten die Forscher damit insgesamt 179 optische Trägerwellen zur Datenübertragung. Dabei erreichten sie eine Datenübertragungsrate von 55 Terabit pro Sekunde über eine Entfernung von 75 Kilometern. „Dies entspricht mehr als fünf Milliarden Telefongesprächen oder mehr als zwei Millionen HDTV-Kanälen. Es ist die höchste Datenrate, die bislang mit einer Frequenzkammquelle im Chip-Format erreicht wurde“, erklärt Professor Christian Koos vom IPQ und IMT des KIT.

Das Verfahren kann das technisch vorherrschende Wellenlängen-Multiplex-Verfahren (engl. Wavelength Division Multiplexing, WDM) in der optischen Kommunikation wesentlich verbessern: Die Bauteile haben das Potenzial, den Energieverbrauch der Lichtquelle in Kommunikationssystemen drastisch zu reduzieren. Die Solitonen-Kammquellen lassen sich zudem kostengünstig und in großen Stückzahlen auf kompakten Mikrochips herstellen.

Weitere Informationen in der Presseinformation 074/2017.



or, 08.06.2017