Academic Honorary Citizens

KIT confers the KIT honorary citizenship to persons for their extraordinary commitment to KIT.

Helga Gaul and Wolfgang Gaul
In February 2015, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology conferred the Honorary Citizenship to Helga and Professor Wolfgang Gaul. In 2001, they established the Helga und Wolfgang Gaul-Stifutung (Helga and Wolfgang Gaul Foundation).

Michael Huber
In recognition of his commitment to the KIT Foundation and the support of young scientists of KIT by the Umweltstiftung der Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen (Foundation for the Environment of Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen), Michael Huber was appointed KIT Honorary Citizen in January 2013.

Dieter Köhnlein
KIT awarded the physicist Dr. Dieter Köhnlein honorary citizenship in 2019. Köhnlein is the founder and long-time director of the KIT Symphony and Chamber Orchestras.

Martin Litschel
Martin Litschel supports the Young Investigator Group "Green Mobility" of the KIT since 2014 with the Vector Foundation. Litschel also awards fifteen "Deutschlandstipendien" (scholarships) a year at KIT and supports another ten students a year through the FundaMINT scholarship program. In 2018, KIT awarded him Honorary Citizenship.

Roland Mack
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology conferred the Honorary Citizenship to Roland Mack in 2016 for his support of young mechanical engineers. Mack co-founded Europa Park Rust, of which he is the Managing Associate. In 1969, he started to study mechanical engineering at Karlsruhe University.

Manfred Popp
For his extraordinary commitment, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology conferred the first KIT Honorary Citizenship to Professor Dr. Manfred Popp in 2012. With the reorganization of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe into a multi-disciplinary, modern large-scale research center, Manfred Popp laid the first foundation stone for the later establishment of KIT, which was co-initiated by him.

Renate Schubert
KIT honored Prof. Dr. Renate Schubert for her longtime commitment as Chairwoman of the KIT Supervisory Board 2021 as an honorary citizen. Renate Schubert, Professor Emeritus of National Economics at ETH Zurich, was a member of the KIT Supervisory Board from 2011 to 2019 and its Chairwoman from 2012.

Anja Schümann
The KIT honored Dr. Anja Schümann, CEO of the Reinhard Frank Foundation, in 2018 as Honorary Citizen. With the Reinhard Frank Foundation she is involved, among others, in the Student Research Laboratory, the international exchange program MINTernship and the Study Center for the Visually Impaired (SZS) at the KIT.

Gerhard Seiler
The then Universität Karlsruhe conferred the honorary citizenship to Professor Dr. Gerhard Seiler in 2005. With this distinction, President Professor Dr. Horst Hippler honored Seiler’s merits for the benefit of the university.

Gerhard Selmayr
The then Universität Karlsruhe honoured Dr. Gerhard Selmayr in 2000 with the honorary citizenship.

Walter Wagner
The then Universität Karlsruhe appointed Walter Wagner an honorary citizen in 1971.

Götz Werner
In January 2013, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology conferred the Honorary Citizenship to Professor Götz W. Werner, among others for his unselfish support of the development of academic education at KIT and for his extraordinary merits in the education of young people.

Hartmut Weule
The then Universität Karlsruhe appointed Professor Dr. Hartmut Weule an honorary citizen in 2006. This was to acknowledge Weule’s achievements with regard to the internationalization of the university, among others by establishing the International Department.

This overview inclues only the living honorary citizens of KIT.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Akademische Ehrenbürgerinnen und -bürger

Das KIT verleiht die Würde eines KIT-Ehrenbürgers oder einer KIT-Ehrenbürgerin an Persönlichkeiten für ihren besonders herausragenden Einsatz zum Wohle des KIT.

Helga Gaul und Professor Wolfgang Gaul
Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie ernannte Helga und Wolfgang Gaul im Februar 2014 zu Ehrenbürgern. Gemeinsam errichteten sie 2001 die Helga und Wolfgang Gaul-Stiftung.

Jürgen Hubbert
Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie verlieh Jürgen Hubbert 2015 die Ehrenbürgerwürde. Mit der Auszeichnung würdigte KIT-Präsident Holger Hanselka die Verdienste Hubberts um eine Internationalisierung der Ingenieursausbildung am KIT.

Michael Huber
Für sein Engagement in der KIT-Stiftung und die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses am KIT durch die Umweltstiftung der Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen wurde Michael Huber im Januar 2013 mit der KIT-Ehrenbürgerwürde ausgezeichnet.

Martin Litschel
Martin Litschel unterstützt mit der Vector Stiftung seit 2014 die Young Investigator Group „Green Mobility“ des KIT. Außerdem vergibt er jährlich fünfzehn Deutschlandstipendien am KIT und unterstützt über das Stipendienprogramm FundaMINT jährlich weitere zehn Studierende. Im Jahr 2018 verlieh ihm das KIT die Ehrenbürgerwürde.

Roland Mack
Das KIT verlieh Roland Mack 2016 die Ehrenbürgerwürde für sein Engagement für den Maschinenbau-Nachwuchs. Mack ist Mitbegründer des Europa-Parks Rust, den er bis heute als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter leitet und studierte von 1969 an Maschinenbau an der Friderciana.

Professor Dr. Manfred Popp
Für sein außergewöhnliches Engagement zeichnete das KIT Professor Manfred Popp 2012 mit der ersten KIT-Ehrenbürgerwürde aus. Mit der Neuausrichtung des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe hin zu einem multithematischen, modernen Großforschungszentrum legte Manfred Popp den ersten Grundstein für die spätere Gründung des KIT, die er mitinitiierte.

Dr. Anja Schümann
Das KIT würdigte Anja Schümann, Vorstandsvorsitzende der Reinhard Frank-Stiftung, 2018 als Ehrenbürgerin. Sie engagiert sich sich mit der Reinhard Frank-Stiftung am KIT unter anderem beim Schülerforschungslabor, beim internationalen Austauschprogramm MINTernship und am Studienzentrum für Sehgeschädigte (SZS).

Professor Dr. Gerhard Seiler
Die damalige Universität Karlsruhe verlieh Professor Gerhard Seiler 2005 die Ehrenbürgerwürde. Rektor Professor Dr. Horst Hippler würdigte mit der Auszeichnung Seilers Verdienste um die Belange der Universität.

Dr. Gerhard Selmayr
Die damalige Universität Karlsruhe würdigte Dr. Gerhard Selmayr im Jahr 2000 mit der Ehrenbürgerwürde.

Walter Wagner
Die damalige Universität Karlsruhe ernannte Walter Wagner 1971 zum Ehrenbürger.

Professor Götz Werner
Das KIT verlieh Professor Götz W. Werner im Januar 2013 die Ehrenbürgerwürde unter anderem für seinen uneigennützigen Einsatz für die Entwicklung der Lehre am KIT und für seine außerordentlichen Verdienste in der Ausbildung junger Menschen.

Professor Dr. Hartmut Weule
Die damalige Universität Karlsruhe ernannte Professor Hartmut Weule 2006 zum Ehrenbürger. Damit werden Weules Leistungen für die Internationalisierung der Universität gewürdigt, unter anderem mit der Gründung des International Departments.

 

 

Diese Übersicht umfasst nur die lebenden Ehrenbürgerinnen und Ehrenbürger.