Jan S. Hesthaven Will Assume Presidency of KIT in October

In Fall, the Executive Board Will Be Complete Again
Jan S. Hesthaven Markus Breig, KIT
Jan S. Hesthaven (right) will take over the President’s office of KIT from Oliver Kraft on October 1, 2024.

As of October 1, 2024, Professor Jan S. Hesthaven will take over the President’s office from Professor Oliver Kraft, who has been Acting President of KIT since August 15, 2023.

In the Helmholtz interview, Hesthaven talks about his strategic ideas for KIT, the strengths of the Helmholtz Association and lessons research can learn from Elon Musk.

In January, the Danish mathematician was elected President of KIT by the Supervisory Board. His election was confirmed by the KIT Senate in February. With Hesthaven’s assumption of office, the KIT Executive Board will be complete again. Apart from President Jan S. Hesthaven, the Members of the Executive Board will be Professor Oliver Kraft as Vice President Research, Professor Alexander Wanner as Vice President Higher Education and Academic Affairs, Professor Thomas Hirth as Vice President Transfer and International Affairs, Professor Kora Kristof as Vice President Digitalization and Sustainability, and Dr. Stefan Schwartze as Vice President Finance, Human Resources, and Infrastructure. Schwartze will succeed retiring Michael Ganß in late summer.

mle, April 10, 2024