Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 089/2014

KIT Is First Choice of HR Managers in Three Subjects

In the 2014 WirtschaftsWoche Ranking, KIT Reaches the First Place in Informatics, Business Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering and Ranks Second in Electrical Engineering

For the fifth time in succession, KIT is ranked top in Informatics by the WirtschaftsWoche magazine. In addition, KIT’s Business and Mechanical Engineering programs reach the top position. Hence, the KIT is the only university in Germany that reaches the first place in three disciplines. The rankings are based on interviews of HR managers of large and medium-sized German companies.

 

The interviews confirm that the best graduates in the subjects of informatics, business engineering, and mechanical engineering come from the KIT. These good results of the KIT in the ranking are complemented by the second place in electrical engineering. Already in this year’s rankings of the Center for University Development (CHE) and EU-U-Multirank, the KIT was given very good ratings. For its teaching concept, the Department of Mechanical Engineering was awarded the prize “Best Machine House” by the Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau e.V. (VDMA, German Engineering Association).

 

For the 2014 WirtschaftsWoche university ranking, 571 HR managers were interviewed by the Universum Communications consulting company and access KellyOCG. The results of the survey reflect the HR managers’ opinions as to which universities and universities of applied sciences provide an education that is tailored best to the needs of companies, which criteria are important when selecting applicants, and which soft skills should be trained more.

 

The HR managers were also asked for criteria they considered to be most important when selecting an applicant. They answered that apart from the subject studied, the personality of the applicant, practical experience, and excellent knowledge of the English language play an important role. The type of degree – bachelor, master, diploma – and the examination results come in fourth and fifth place. A doctorate, other foreign languages, an MBA degree, and social activities parallel to the studies are less important. As regards the so-called soft skills, HR managers attach particular importance to solution-oriented thinking, autonomous working, and communication skills. The HR managers interviewed work at small medium-sized and big companies.

 

Further information on the ranking can be found at www.wiwo.de. The complete results are published in the WirtschaftsWoche of Monday, June 23, 2014.

VDMA prize: http://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2014_14685.php
CHE ranking: http://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2014_15076.php
EU-U-Multirank: http://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2014_15121.php 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

sis, 21.06.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseHor5∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneNoj7∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 089/2014

KIT in drei Fächern erste Wahl bei Personalchefs

Den ersten Platz erreicht das KIT im WirtschaftsWoche-Ranking 2014 jeweils in den Fächern Informatik, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen und Maschinenbau, den zweiten Platz in Elektrotechnik

Bereits zum fünften Mal in Folge erreicht das KIT im Hochschulranking der WirtschaftsWoche den Spitzenplatz in Informatik. Zusätzlich nimmt das KIT auch in Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen und im Maschinenbau die Spitzenposition ein. Damit steht das KIT als einzige Universität Deutschlands in drei Disziplinen auf dem ersten Platz. Für die Auswertung wurden Personalchefs mittelständischer und großer deutscher Unternehmen befragt.

 

Die Umfrage belegt, dass die besten Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Fächer Informatik, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen und Maschinenbau vom KIT kommen. Ein zweiter Platz in Elektrotechnik ergänzt das gute Abschneiden des KIT. Bereits in den diesjährigen Rankings des Centrums für Hochschulentwicklung (CHE) und im EU-U-Multirank erhielt das KIT sehr gute Bewertungen. Die Fakultät Maschinenbau erhielt für ihr Lehrkonzept die Auszeichnung „Bestes Maschinenhaus“, die vom Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau e. V. (VDMA) verliehen wurde.

 

Für das WirtschaftsWoche-Hochschul-Ranking 2014 hatten die Beratungsgesellschaft Universum Communications und access KellyOCG 571 Personalverantwortliche befragt. Die Ergebnisse der Umfrage geben die Einschätzung der Personaler wieder, welche Universitäten und Fachhochschulen ihre Absolventen am besten für die Bedürfnisse der Unternehmen ausbilden, welche Kriterien für die Auswahl eines Bewerbers wichtig sind und bei welchen Soft Skills sich die Personaler von den Hochschulen mehr Engagement in Hinblick auf die Ausbildung der Studierenden wünschen.

 

Im Rahmen der Untersuchung wurden die Personaler auch dazu befragt, welche die wichtigsten Kriterien bei der Auswahl eines Bewerbers sind. Demnach spielen neben dem Studienfach die Persönlichkeit des Bewerbers, Praxiserfahrung und sehr gute Englischkenntnisse eine besonders große Rolle. Die Abschlussart – Bachelor, Master, Diplom – und die Examensnote folgen auf dem vierten und fünften Platz. Eine Promotion, weitere Fremdsprachen, ein MBA-Abschluss und Engagement neben dem Studium werden dagegen als eher unwichtig angesehen. Bei den sogenannten Soft Skills sind den Personalern lösungsorientiertes Denken, Selbstständigkeit und Kommunikationsfähigkeit besonders wichtig. Die an der Umfrage beteiligten Personalverantwortlichen kamen sowohl von kleinen Mittelständlern als auch von Großkonzernen.

 

Weitere Informationen zum Ranking gibt es unter www.wiwo.de. Die vollständigen Ergebnisse veröffentlicht die WirtschaftsWoche in ihrer Ausgabe vom Montag, 23. Juni 2014.

VDMA-Preis: http://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2014_14685.php
CHE-Ranking: http://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2014_15076.php
EU-U-Multirank: http://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2014_15121.php 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

sis, 21.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneTgk3∂kit edu