Press Release 023/2012

86 KIT Students Are Granted a Deutschlandstipendium

Maximum Quota Reached – Official Awarding at a Celebration with Sponsors and Scholarship Holders
Deutschlandsstipendiaten am KIT (Foto: Eva Pailer, KIT)
Holders of the Deutschlandstipendium at KIT. (Photo: Eva Pailer, KIT)

300 Euros per month will be paid to the scholarship holders for a duration of one year, which will be funded at a ratio of 50 to 50 by companies or private sponsors and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). Having awarded 86 scholarships, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of the German universities that reached the maximum funding quota. The students received their certificates yesterday evening during a celebration with the sponsors. The funding period already started on October 01, 2011.

“The Deutschlandstipendium (Germany Scholarship) started well at KIT. We were able to reach the funding quota given by the BMBF, 0.45 percent of the students, to the complete extent,” says Professor Jürgen Becker, Chief Higher Education Officer of KIT. “We are very pleased that this initiative is not only supported by companies, but also by private sponsors.” Each scholarship is paid at equal ratios of EUR 150 per month by the Federal Republic of Germany and sponsors found by KIT. Among these sponsors are industry partners of KIT, the Karlsruhe University Society, and some KIT alumni. “It is of no use to point the finger at others, you have to do something yourself,” says Dr. Frank Stäudner, alumnus of the Department of Physics, who supports the Deutschlandstipendium. “Support of students should no longer be a matter of foundations or companies, but a heartfelt wish by private persons.”

The 86th scholarship is donated jointly by the two KIT Presidents Professor Horst Hippler and Professor Eberhard Umbach. “Today’s students are tomorrow’s decision-makers. Therefore, we consider it very important to support this program with all our efforts.”

With the Deutschlandstipendium, the federal government wishes to create incentives for talented students. “For me, the Deutschlandstipenium actually is more than just financial support. It is a recognition of my achievements and my commitment, and a motivation for my further studies,” says Michael Münig, student of business engineering and one of the first holders of a Germany scholarship at KIT. “Moreover, students get into contact with sponsors, which may be of high value for both sides.”

KIT has distributed the 86 scholarships to its eleven departments according to their numbers of students. The scholarship holders are selected by the departments based on the study achievements so far. But also prizes or voluntary services as well as personal or family circumstances may play a role. In the next funding period starting in the 2012/2013 winter semester, the highest quota will presumably amount to 1% of the students. This means that KIT will be able to award nearly 200 scholarships. From spring, companies and private sponsors will have the possibility to show their commitment again. Then, students and freshmen of all nationalities, who have already enrolled at KIT or will start their studies in the 2012/2013 winter semester, are invited to apply for scholarships again.

More information on the Deutschlandstipendium at KIT:
www.rsm.kit.edu/deutschlandstipendium

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 10.02.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseLju1∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehnePlv6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseTcy7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 023/2012

86 KIT-Studierende erhalten Deutschlandstipendien

Höchstquote erfüllt – Offizielle Übergabe bei einer Feier mit Stiftern und Stipendiaten
Deutschlandsstipendiaten am KIT (Foto: Eva Pailer, KIT)
Deutschlandsstipendiaten am KIT (Foto: Eva Pailer, KIT)

300 Euro im Monat erhalten die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten für ein Jahr, jeweils zur Hälfte finanziert von Unternehmen oder privaten Förderern und dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Mit 86 vergebenen Stipendien gehört das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) zu den deutschen Hochschulen, welche die Förderhöchstquote voll ausgeschöpft haben. Ihre Urkunden erhielten die Studierenden gestern Abend bei einer Feier mit den Stiftern, Förderbeginn war bereits am 1. Oktober 2011.

„Am KIT ist das Deutschlandstipendium sehr gut angelaufen: Wir konnten die vom BMBF vorgegebene Förderquote – 0,45 Prozent der Studierenden – voll erfüllen“, sagt Professor Jürgen Becker, Chief Higher Education Officer am KIT. „Es freut uns sehr, dass nicht nur Unternehmen, sondern auch private Förderer dem so offen gegenüberstehen.“ Pro Stipendium kommen monatlich jeweils 150 Euro vom Bund und von Förderern, die das KIT angeworben hat, darunter beispielsweise Industrie- und Wirtschaftspartner des KIT, die Karlsruher Universitätsgesellschaft sowie einige KIT-Alumni. „Man darf nicht immer mit dem Finger auf andere zeigen, man muss selbst etwas tun“, sagt Dr. Frank Stäudner, Alumnus der Fakultät für Physik, der sich beim Deutschlandstipendium engagiert. „Die Studienförderung soll nicht länger nur eine Sache von Stiftungen oder Unternehmen sein, sondern zu einer Herzensangelegenheit von Privatleuten werden."

Das 86. Stipendium stiften gemeinsam die beiden KIT-Präsidenten Professor Horst Hippler und Professor Eberhard Umbach. „Die Studierenden von heute sind die Entscheider von morgen – deshalb ist es uns ein persönliches Anliegen, dieses Programm nach Kräften zu unterstützen."

Ziel der Bundesregierung ist es auch, mit dem Deutschlandstipendium Anreize für begabte Studierende zu schaffen. „Für mich ist das Deutschlandstipendium tatsächlich mehr als nur finanzielle Unterstützung: Es ist eine Anerkennung für meine Leistungen und mein Engagement – und das motiviert mich auch für mein weiteres Studium“, sagt Michael Münig, Student des Wirtschaftsingenieurwesens und einer der ersten Deutschlandstipendiaten am KIT. „Außerdem bringt es Studierende und Förderer in Kontakt, was für beide Seiten von großem Wert sein kann.“

Das KIT hat die 86 Stipendien entsprechend der jeweiligen Studierendenzahlen auf die elf Fakultäten verteilt, dort erfolgt auch die Auswahl der Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten. Dabei geht es vor allem um die bislang erbrachte Studienleistung, beim Gesamtbild können aber auch Auszeichnungen oder ehrenamtliches Engagement sowie besondere persönliche oder familiäre Umstände eine Rolle spielen. In der nächsten Förderrunde, die mit dem Wintersemester 2012/2013 startet, wird die Höchstquote voraussichtlich bei einem Prozent der Studierenden liegen. Das KIT könnte damit knapp 200 Stipendien vergeben. Ab dem Frühjahr werden Unternehmen und private Förderer wieder die Möglichkeit haben, sich zu engagieren. Studierende und Studienanfänger aller Nationalitäten, die bereits am KIT immatrikuliert sind oder ihr Studium am KIT zum Wintersemester 2012/2013 aufnehmen, können sich, ebenfalls ab dem Frühjahr, als Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten bewerben.

Nähere Informationen zum Deutschlanstipendium am KIT:
www.rsm.kit.edu/deutschlandstipendium

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 10.02.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneGwz3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseXbw3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.