Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 028/2015

Software Development without Barriers

Project Is Aimed at Facilitating Work of Visually Impaired IT Experts – Development of Cooperation Tool for “Diverse Teams”
2015_028_Softwareentwicklung_ohne_Barrieren_72dpi
FZI and SZS wish to improve education and advanced training of IT experts with visual impairment. (Photo: Andrea Fabry)

The demand for information technology experts is high – qualified applicants are wanted everywhere. The IT sector also offers good employment opportunities for instance in software development teams for persons with visual impairment. The Study Centre for the Visually Impaired (SZS) at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in cooperation with FZI Research Centre for Information Technology will now improve the access to software development within the project “Cooperate – New Paths of Cooperation for Diversity Teams in Software Development.”

 

The numerous jobs offered in the IT business and in particular in the field of software development might also improve employment perspectives of visually impaired persons. However, mainly standardized graphical description languages are used. “People with blindness or low vision depend on information in textual mode,” explains Dr. Karin Müller, who heads the Cooperate project at SZS. “Due to their highly visual part, conventional modeling languages, such as the Unified Modeling Language (UML), represent a big obstacle for these persons.” Lacking accessible development software also aggravates cooperation in diversity teams, i.e. teams consisting of people with and without visual impairment. Currently pursued approaches are associated with high costs, as existing barriers are overcome by a high personnel expenditure.

 

This is where the “Cooperate” project starts. In the next few years, the experts will develop a cooperation tool for diversity teams. Work will be financed by the compensation fund of the Federal Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs (BMAS). This tool to be developed makes available contents in both graphical and textual format and supports various output modes, such as magnification, braille or audio output, depending on the visual impairment. The objective is that every team member, no matter with or without visual impairment, can work in a convenient representation mode. The challenge associated with the development of an accessible environment for diversity teams consists in the correct and real-time updates of all representation forms after changes. “If this requirement is met, persons without visual impairment may also profit from alternatives to graphical processing,” Dr. Henning Groenda, project manager at FZI, says.

 

The Cooperate project of FZI and SZS addresses persons working on the development of IT systems and qualifying and training visually impaired IT experts. In parallel to the cooperation tool, training material for visually impaired software developers will be conceived. “By creating the necessary structures, the project will contribute to the successful integration of persons with visual impairment in the labor market and to good cooperation with normal sighted persons,” Karin Müller summarizes the project.

 

About the SZS:

The Study Centre for the Visually Impaired has been supporting and advising students and prospective students with visual impairment in all study courses offered at KIT for many years. Thereby, students with blindness or low vision get the opportunity to study in a self-determined and inclusive way at KIT and to find access to professional life. Together with the Chair of “Computer Systems for Visually Impaired Students”, the SZS conducts research on assistive technologies and on new ways of getting access to mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering.


About the FZI:

The FZI Research Center for Information Technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology is a non-profit institution for applied research in information technology and technology transfer. For 30 years, FZI has transferred latest scientific findings in information technology to companies and public institutions and qualified young people for careers in academics or business as well as self-employment. Scientists of the FZI Research Division Software Engineering contribute their expertise in the decoupling of technical and operational aspects of IT systems and the use of model-driven development techniques (MDSD) and domain-specific languages (DSL) to the project.

 

For further information, please contact:

Johanna Häs
Department Manager Corporate Communications and Media
FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik
Tel. +49 721 9654-904
Fax +49 721 9654-905
E-Mail: haesQen5∂fzi de

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

jm, 13.03.2015
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKpp8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Jonas Moosmüller
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
jonas moosmuellerOxx9∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseYpz1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 028/2015

Softwareentwicklung ohne Barrieren

Projekt will sehgeschädigten IT-Fachkräften die Arbeit erleichtern – Entwicklung eines Kooperationswerkzeugs für „Diversity Teams“
IT-Kräfte mit Sehschädigung aus- und weiterbilden: FZI und SZS wollen dafür bessere Voraussetzungen schaffen (Foto: Andrea Fabry)
IT-Kräfte mit Sehschädigung aus- und weiterbilden: FZI und SZS wollen dafür bessere Voraussetzungen schaffen (Foto: Andrea Fabry)

Der Bedarf an Fachkräften im Bereich der Informationstechnologie ist hoch – geeignete Bewerber sind überall gesucht. Gute Beschäftigungschancen bietet die IT-Branche auch für Menschen mit Sehschädigung, etwa in Teams für Softwareentwicklung. Die dafür nötigen barrierefreien Zugänge entwickelt nun das Studienzentrum für Sehgeschädigte (SZS) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) gemeinsam mit dem FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik im Projekt „Cooperate – Neue Wege der Zusammenarbeit für Diversity Teams in der Softwareentwicklung“.

 

Viele freie Stellen in der IT-Wirtschaft und insbesondere im Bereich der Softwareentwicklung könnten auch die beruflichen Chancen für Menschen mit Sehschädigung verbessern. In diesem Bereich setzt man jedoch überwiegend auf standardisierte grafische Beschreibungssprachen. „Menschen mit Sehbehinderung oder Blindheit sind auf die Informationsausgabe in Form von Text angewiesen“, erklärt Dr. Karin Müller, die das Cooperate-Projekt am SZS leitet. „Aufgrund ihres hohen visuellen Anteils stellen gängige Modellierungssprachen, wie die Unified Modeling Language (UML), deshalb eine große Hürde für diese Menschen dar“. Der fehlende barrierefreie Zugang zu Entwicklungssoftware erschwert auch die Zusammenarbeit in Diversity Teams, also solchen die aus Menschen mit und ohne Sehschädigung bestehen. Aktuell existierende Ansätze erzeugen große Kosten, da sie die bestehenden Barrieren nur durch einen hohen Personalaufwand überwinden.

 

Hier setzt das Projekt „Cooperate“ an. Innerhalb der kommenden Jahre entwickeln die Experten, gefördert vom Ausgleichsfonds des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales (BMAS), ein Kooperationswerkzeug für Diversity Teams. Dieses soll dieselben Inhalte gleichermaßen als Grafik und Text zugänglich machen und je nach Seheinschränkung unterschiedliche Ausgabemodi wie Vergrößerung, Braillezeile oder Audioausgabe unterstützen. Ziel ist es, jedem Teammitglied – egal ob mit oder ohne Sehschädigung – zu ermöglichen, in der für ihn passenden Darstellungsform zu arbeiten. Die besondere Herausforderung bei der Entwicklung einer barrierefreien Umgebung für Diversity Teams ist, dass alle Darstellungsformen korrekt und verzögerungsfrei aktualisiert werden. „Wenn diese Voraussetzung erfüllt ist, könnten auch Menschen ohne Sehschädigung von Alternativen zur grafischen Bearbeitung profitieren“, ist Dr. Henning Groenda, der am FZI das Projekt leitet, überzeugt.

 

Mit dem Cooperate-Projekt wollen FZI und SZS Personen ansprechen, die in der Entwicklung von IT-Systemen arbeiten, und die in der beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung IT-Kräfte mit Sehschädigung schulen. Deshalb werden begleitend zum Kooperationswerkzeug auch Schulungsmaterialien entwickelt, die einen Einstieg in die Softwareentwicklung für Menschen mit Sehschädigung ermöglichen. „Wenn wir die entsprechenden Strukturen dafür schaffen, kann das Projekt dazu beitragen, dass Menschen mit Sehschädigung in den Arbeitsmarkt eingegliedert und erfolgreich mit Menschen ohne Sehschädigung zusammenarbeiten können“, resümiert Karin Müller.

 

Über das SZS:

Das Studienzentrum für Sehgeschädigte (SZS) unterstützt und berät seit vielen Jahren Studierende und Studieninteressierte mit Sehschädigung in allen am KIT angebotenen Studienfächern. Damit erhalten Studierende mit Sehbehinderung oder Blindheit die Möglichkeit, selbstbestimmt und inklusiv am KIT zu studieren und einen Einstieg in den Beruf zu finden. Gemeinsam mit dem Lehrstuhl „Informatik-Systeme für Sehgeschädigte Studierende“ erforscht das SZS neue Assistive Technologien und neue Zugänge zu MINT-Studiengängen.


Über das FZI:

Das FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie ist eine gemeinnützige Einrichtung für Informatik-Anwendungsforschung und Technologietransfer. Es bringt seit 30 Jahren die neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse der Informationstechnologie in Unternehmen und öffentliche Einrichtungen und qualifiziert junge Menschen für eine akademische und wirtschaftliche Karriere oder den Sprung in die Selbstständigkeit. Wissenschaftler des FZI-Forschungsbereichs Software Engineering bringen ihre Erfahrung bei der Entkopplung technischer und betrieblicher Aspekte von IT-Systemen sowie der Nutzung von modellgetriebenen Entwicklungstechniken (MDSD) und domänenspezifischen Sprachen (DSL) in das Projekt ein.

 

Weiterer Kontakt:

Johanna Häs
Abteilungsleiterin Corporate Communications and Media
FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik
Tel. +49 721 9654-904
Fax +49 721 9654-905
E-Mail: haesFzn1∂fzi de

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

jm, 13.03.2015

Weiterer Kontakt:

Jonas Moosmüller
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
jonas moosmuellerHcv5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseSzc8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.