Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 019/2015

KIT Physicist Receives ERC Consolidator Grant of EU

Fundamental Research to Understand the Dynamics in Ferromagnets / EUR 2 Million for Five Years
2015_019_KIT-Physiker_erhaelt_ERC_Consolidator_Grant_der_EU_72dpi
For the studies, the physicist uses dilution refrigerators, among others: The refrigerators reach very low temperatures near absolute zero of minus 273°C. (Photo: Dr. Martin Weides, KIT)

The “QuantumMagnonics” project of Dr. Martin Weides of the Physikalisches Institut of KIT deals with dynamic processes inside ferromagnets, such as iron or cobalt. Results of his fundamental research might be used for magnetic data processing components. The Research Council of the European Union funds the project with EUR 2 million.

 

“We are interested in the behavior of ferromagnets in the quantum regime,” the physicist says. To explore physical processes in the atomic range, the researcher studies layers of thin material films structured in the nanometer range. These films are produced by KIT’s DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures. With the help of experiments complementing and extending conventional measurement methods of classical physics, Weides hopes to better understand damping – loss – of energy while passing the magnetized material. Work focuses on intrinsic rotations of the individual electrons, called spins. The project is aimed at generating a single spin wave excited by an electromagnetic impulse. To measure the dynamic processes of the excited state, quantum bits, briefly called qubits, are to be applied as detectors and information units. The long project title is “QuantumMagnonics – Coupling of Spin Waves with Superconducting Quantum Circuits for the Generation and Detection of Individual Spin Waves.” This fundamental research is expected to produce findings that will be of relevance to the use of magnetic materials in data processing, e.g. for storage media or logics elements.

 

Für seine Forschung zum Verständnis  der Dynamik in Ferromagneten erhält  Dr. Martin Weides einen ERC Consolidator Grant der EU (Foto: privat)
For his research to understand the dynamics
in ferromagnets, Dr. Martin Weides receives
an ERC Consolidator Grant of the EU. (Photo: private)

 

One third of the funds of EUR 2 million granted by the European Union for five years will be spent by Weides for purchasing measurement instruments. Two thirds of the funds will be used to cover personnel costs for doctoral students and post-docs involved in the project. For his experimental studies, the physicist among others applies dilution refrigerators that reach extremely low temperatures near absolute zero of minus 273°C.

 

With ERC Consolidator Grants, the European Research Council (ERC) support projects of excellent scientists, who were conferred the doctorate seven to twelve years ago. The ERC was established in 2007 as an institution to fund fundamental pioneer research in Europe. “Thanks to funding under the EU program, we will be able to catch up with Japan and the USA that play a major role in this research area,” Weides says. The project at KIT’s Physikalisches Institut is based on the long-term research of the physicist, who has been working as a research assistant in the research group of Professor Alexey Ustinov since 2012. Before, the expert for solid-state physics and superconductors worked at Forschungszentrum Jülich and the University of California, Santa Barbara, among others.

 

Weides has acquired the meanwhile seventh ERC Grant for the KIT. Before, renowned ERC funds were granted to Dr. Regina Hoffmann, Physikalisches Institut, in 2009, Dr. Matthias Schneider, Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research, in 2010, Professor Holger Puchta of the Botanical Institute, Professor Christian Koos of the Institute of Photonics and Quantum Electronics, and Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller of the Institute of Microstructure Technology in 2011, as well as to Erin Koos of the Institute of Mechanical Process Engineering and Pavel Levkin of the Institute of Toxicology and Genetics in 2013.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

afr, 24.02.2015


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 019/2015

KIT-Physiker erhält ERC Consolidator Grant der EU

Grundlagenforschung zum Verständnis der Dynamik in Ferromagneten / Zwei Millionen Euro Forschungsförderung über fünf Jahre
Für Untersuchungen nutzt der Physiker u.a. Mischkryostate: Die Kühlgeräte erreichen besonders tiefe Temperaturen nahe dem absoluten Nullpunkt von minus 273 Grad Celsius (Foto: Dr. Martin Weides, KIT)
Für Untersuchungen nutzt der Physiker u.a. Mischkryostate: Die Kühlgeräte erreichen besonders tiefe Temperaturen nahe dem absoluten Nullpunkt von minus 273 Grad Celsius (Foto: Dr. Martin Weides, KIT)

Das Projekt „QuantenMagnonics“ von Dr. Martin Weides am Physikalischen Institut des KIT befasst sich mit den dynamischen Prozessen im Innersten von Ferromagneten wie Eisen oder Kobalt. Erkenntnisse seiner Grundlagenforschung könnten für den Einsatz magnetischer Bauelemente in der Datenverarbeitung genutzt werden. Der Forschungsrat der Europäischen Union fördert das Vorhaben mit zwei Millionen Euro.

 

„Uns interessiert das Verhalten der Ferromagnete im Quantenregime“, sagt der Physiker. Um die physikalischen Vorgänge im atomaren Bereich zu erkunden, untersucht der Forscher Schichten dünner, nanometergroß strukturierter Materialfilme, die im DFG-Forschungszentrum für Funktionelle Nanostrukturen am KIT hergestellt werden. Durch Experimente, die die konventionellen Messmethoden der klassischen Physik ergänzen und erweitern, hofft Weides unter anderem die Dämpfung - Abschwächung - von Energie beim Durchlaufen des magnetisierten Materials besser zu verstehen. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Eigendrehungen der einzelnen Elektronen, die Spins. Ein Ziel des Projekts ist es, eine einzelne von einem elektromagnetischen Impuls angeregte Spinwelle zu erzeugen. Für die Messung der dynamischen Prozesse des energetisch angeregten Zustands sollen Quantenbits - kurz Qubits - als Detektoren und Informationseinheiten eingesetzt werden. Das Projekt trägt den ausführlichen Titel „QuantenMagnonics - Koppelung von Spinwellen mit supraleitenden Quantenschaltkreisen für die Erzeugung und Detektion einzelner Spinwellen“. Von der Grundlagenforschung werden auch Erkenntnisse für den Einsatz magnetischer Materialien in der Datenverarbeitung erwartet, zum Beispiel für Speichermedien oder Logikelemente.

 

Für seine Forschung zum Verständnis  der Dynamik in Ferromagneten erhält  Dr. Martin Weides einen ERC Consolidator Grant der EU (Foto: privat)
Für seine Forschung zum Verständnis der Dynamik in Ferromagneten erhält Dr. Martin Weides einen ERC Consolidator Grant der EU (Foto: privat)

 

Die Förderungszuwendung von der Europäischen Union in Höhe von zwei Millionen Euro für fünf Jahre wird Weides zu einem Drittel für die Anschaffung von Messgeräten und zu zwei Dritteln für die Personalkosten der am Projekt mitwirkenden Doktoranden und Postdoktoranden verwenden. Für seine experimentellen Untersuchungen nutzt der Physiker unter anderem Mischkryostate, Kühlgeräte, die besonders tiefe Temperaturen nahe dem absoluten Nullpunkt von minus 273 Grad Celsius erreichen.

 

Mit ERC Consolidator Grants fördert der Europäische Forschungsrat (European Research Council, ERC) Projekte exzellenter Wissenschaftler, deren Promotion zwischen sieben und zwölf Jahre zurückliegt. Der ERC wurde 2007 als Institution zur Finanzierung grundlagenorientierter Pionierforschung in Europa gegründet. „Die Aufnahme in das EU-Programm ermöglicht uns auf einem Forschungsgebiet, auf dem Japan und die USA eine wesentliche Rolle spielen, zur Spitze aufzuschließen“, sagt Weides. Das Projekt am Physikalischen Institut des KIT basiert auf der langjährigen Forschung des Physikers, der seit 2012 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am KIT in der Forschungsgruppe um Professor Alexey Ustinov arbeitet. Davor war der Experte für Festkörperphysik und Supraleiter unter anderem am Forschungszentrum Jülich und an der University of California, Santa Barbara, tätig.

 

Weides warb den mittlerweile siebten ERC-Grant für das KIT ein. Zuvor hatten 2009 Dr. Regina Hoffmann vom Physikalischen Institut, 2010 Dr. Matthias Schneider vom Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, 2011 Professor Holger Puchta vom Botanischen Institut, Professor Christian Koos vom Institut für Photonik und Quantenelektronik und PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller vom Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik sowie 2013 das Forscherteam Erin Koos vom Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Mechanik und Pavel Levkin vom Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik hoch dotierte ERC-Auszeichnungen erhalten.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

afr, 24.02.2015