Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 149/2014

Science: Insect Tree of Life Decoded

Evolution of Insects Reproduced by Gene Analysis and Supercomputing / Basis for Applications in Agriculture, Pest Control, and Biotechnology
2014_149_Science_Stammbaum_der_Insekten_entschluesselt_1_72dpi
The green lacewing Chrysopa perla and many other species have now been classified into an insect tree of life by means of gene and computer analyses. (Photo: Oliver Niehuis, ZFMK Bonn)

Insects with their about one million species form the most diverse and most successful group of animals. For mankind, they have an enormous ecological and economic significance, e.g. as pollinators of crops or carriers of diseases. In the renowned journal Science, an international team of researchers now for the first time present a widely branched insect tree of life. These fundamental research results may lead to valuable applications in biotechnology or agriculture.

 

For the calculation of the insect tree, the researchers of the 1KITE (1000 Insect Transcriptome Evolution) project used supercomputers that analyzed and classified a large volume of genetic data. Based on genome data, the time of emergence of new species in the tree can be estimated. In the 1KITE project, this “molecular clock” was calibrated based on fossils, as a result of which the reliability of the age information was improved strongly.

 

The plan to process large volumes of genetic data made the computational biologists face big challenges. “In the planning phase of the 1KITE project, it became clear that the available software would be overstrained with the big data volume. The time until the availability of the gene data was therefore used to find new solutions for executing such analyses on high-performance computers,” says Alexandros Stamatakis, Professor of High-Performance Computing in Life Sciences at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and Head of the Research Group “Scientific Computing” of the Heidelberg Institute of Theoretical Studies (HITS).

 

One solution was to modify the algorithms such that improbable evolution scenarios were excluded a priori and, hence, did not have to be calculated. In this way, sufficient computing capacity was available to search the extremely high number (7.1 x 10286) of possible trees for the one that plausibly explains the evolution of insects based on genetic input data. “Otherwise, all computing capacity existing on earth would not be sufficient to calculate the tree of a group of animals that is so rich in species as that of insects,” Stamatakis explains. The software adapted to 1KITE was run on the highest-performance computer “SuperMUC” of the Leibniz Computing Center of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences. The insect tree was computed within a few months. The methods of Stamatakis can now be applied to all creatures or to reproduce the origin and spreading of viruses and bacteria.

 

Apart from the insect tree proper, 1KITE for the first time provides the public with comprehensive genomic data on insects. Based on these data, it is now possible to compare metabolic pathways of various types of insects and to use this knowledge for pest control. With the publication of the tree reconstructed for the first 144 species representing all insect orders, 1KITE also makes available new methods for the processing and analysis of these data volumes. This is the basis for analyzing even larger data volumes.

 

Insects for the first time appeared 480 million years ago, together with the first land plants. Already 100 million years later were the insects the first animals to conquer air. They remained the sole rulers of the air for nearly 200 million years. Many of the still living insect groups evolved in the Paleozoic age. Evolution of insects with pupation started 350 million years ago. The insects experienced their first thriving period long before the occurrence of dinosaurs. The explosion of insect species diversity occurred in the Cretaceous period, closely connected with the evolution of flowering plants.

 

“The 1KITE project is a masterpiece of international cooperation,” explains Bernhard Misof of the Research Museum Alexander Koenig – Leibniz Institute for Animal Biodiversity (ZFMK), Bonn, who headed the project of three years’ duration together with Karl M. Kjer (Rutgers – State University of New Jersey, USA) and Xin Zhou (Beijing Genomics Institute, China). The reconstruction of the insect tree was only possible by a cooperation of more than 100 experts of molecular biology, morphology, paleontology, taxonomy, embryology, and bioinformatics. Thanks to the availability and use of high-performance computers, complex relationships were revealed in the huge biological dataset. The pilot phase of 1KITE will give rise to a number of wide-ranging international follow-up projects, big synergy effects, and long-term cooperative ventures among researchers and institutions.

 

Video about research under the 1KITE project:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFsIBdUBFek
Website of the research group of Alexandros Stamatakis:
www.exelixis-lab.org
http://www.informatik.kit.edu/309_6333.php
Interview of Alexandros Stamatakis at KIT:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6Laa58M-vk
More about the 1KITE project: www.1kite.org

Original publication: “Phylogenomics resolves the timing and pattern of insect evolution“, Science, 7, November 2014

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 07.11.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePrx3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisUcb2∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseQpd2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 149/2014

Science: Stammbaum der Insekten entschlüsselt

Evolution der Insekten mittels Gen-Analysen und Supercomputern nachvollzogen / Grundlage für Anwendungen in Landwirtschaft, Schädlingsbekämpfung und Biotechnologie
Die Florfliege Chrysopa perla und viele weitere Arten konnten nun mittels Gen- und Computeranalysen in einen Stammbaum der Insekten eingeordnet werden (Bild: Oliver Niehuis ZFMK Bonn)
Die Florfliege Chrysopa perla und viele weitere Arten konnten nun mittels Gen- und Computeranalysen in einen Stammbaum der Insekten eingeordnet werden (Bild: Oliver Niehuis ZFMK Bonn)

Insekten mit ihren rund eine Millionen Arten bilden die vielfältigste und erfolgreichste Tiergruppe. Für den Menschen haben sie eine immense ökologische und wirtschaftliche Bedeutung, etwa als Bestäuber von Nutzpflanzen oder Überträger von Krankheiten. Im renommierten Fachjournal Science stellt ein internationales Forscherteam nun erstmals einen weitverzweigten Stammbaum der Insekten dar. Diese Ergebnisse der Grundlagenforschung können zu wertvollen Anwendungen in Biotechnologie oder Landwirtschaft führen.

 

Für die Berechnung des Stammbaums setzten die Forscher des 1KITE Projektes (1000 Insect Transcriptome Evolution) Supercomputer ein, die eine große Menge an genetischen Daten analysierten und klassifizierten. Anhand von Genomdaten kann man den Zeitpunkt der Entstehung neuer Spezies im Stammbaum abschätzen. Im 1KITE Projekt wurde diese „molekulare Uhr“ anhand von Fossilien kalibriert, wodurch die Verlässlichkeit der Altersangaben stark verbessert wird.

 

Der Plan, große Mengen genetischer Daten zu bearbeiten, stellte die Bioinformatiker vor große Herausforderungen. „In der Planungsphase des 1KITE Projektes wurde klar, dass die verfügbare Software mit der riesigen Datenmenge überfordert sein würde. Wir mussten daher bis zur Verfügbarkeit der Gendaten neue Lösungen finden, um solche Analysen auf Höchstleistungsrechnern durchzuführen“, schildert Alexandros Stamatakis, Professor für High Performance Computing in den Lebenswissenschaften am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und Leiter der Forschungsgruppe „Scientific Computing“ am Heidelberger Institut für Theoretische Studien (HITS).

 

Eine Lösung bestand darin, die Algorithmen so zu verändern, dass unwahrscheinliche Evolutionsszenarien von vornherein ausgeschlossen wurden und somit nicht berechnet werden mussten. So war ausreichend Rechenkapazität verfügbar, um unter der extrem großen Zahl (7,1 mal 10 hoch 286) an möglichen Stammbäumen einen zu finden, welcher die Evolution der Insekten aufgrund der genetischen Eingabedaten plausibel erklärt. „Die gesamte Rechenkapazität auf der Erde würde sonst nicht ausreichen, um den Baum einer artenreichen Tiergruppe wie der Insekten zu berechnen“, erklärt Stamatakis. Die angepasste Software für 1KITE wurde am Höchstleistungsrechner "SuperMUC" auf dem Leibniz-Rechenzentrum der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften ausgeführt und der Stammbaum innerhalb weniger Monate berechnet. Stamatakis Methoden kann man für alle Lebewesen nutzen, etwa auch um den Ursprung und die Verbreitung von Viren und Bakterien nachzuvollziehen.

 

Neben dem Stammbaum an sich stellt 1KITE erstmals umfassende genomische Daten für Insekten der Allgemeinheit zur Verfügung. Anhand dieser Daten ist es nun möglich, zum Beispiel Stoffwechselwege unterschiedlicher Insektenarten zu vergleichen und dieses Wissen dann in der Schädlingsbekämpfung einzusetzen. Mit der Veröffentlichung der Stammbaumrekonstruktion der ersten 144 Spezies, alle Insektenordnungen repräsentierenden Arten, stellt 1KITE auch neue Methoden zur Bearbeitung und Analyse dieser Datenmassen frei zur Verfügung. Damit wurde der Grundstein für die Analyse noch wesentlich umfangreicherer Daten gelegt.

 

Insekten traten schon vor rund 480 Millionen Jahren erstmals auf, zeitgleich mit den ersten Landpflanzen. Bereits 100 Millionen Jahre später eroberten Insekten als erste Tiere den Luftraum und blieben für fast 200 Millionen Jahre die alleinigen Herrscher der Lüfte. Viele der heute noch lebenden Insektengruppen entstanden schon im Erdaltertum. Auch die Evolution von Insekten mit einem Puppenstadium in ihrer Entwicklung begann bereits vor etwa 350 Millionen Jahren. Insekten erreichten damit ihre erste Blütezeit lange vor dem Auftreten der Dinosaurier. Die Explosion der Artenvielfalt der Insekten erfolgte aber erst in der Kreidezeit in enger Verbindung mit der Evolution der Blütenpflanzen.

 

„Das 1KITE Projekt ist ein Lehrstück internationaler Kooperation“, erklärt Bernhard Misof vom Zoologischen Forschungsmuseum Alexander Koenig – Leibniz-Institut für Biodiversität der Tiere (ZFMK) in Bonn, der das dreijährige Projekt gemeinsam mit Karl M. Kjer (Rutgers - State University of New Jersey, USA) und Xin Zhou (Bejing Genomics Institute, China) leitete. Die Rekonstruktion des Stammbaumes der Insekten war durch die Zusammenarbeit von rund 100 Experten für molekulare Biologie, Morphologie, Paläontologie, Taxonomie, Embryologie und Bioinformatik möglich. Durch die Verfügbarkeit und den Einsatz von Hochleistungsrechnern war es möglich, in dem riesigen biologischen Datensatz komplexe Zusammenhänge aufzuzeigen. Aus der Pilotphase von 1KITE werden zahlreiche und breitgefächerte internationale Folgeprojekte hervorgehen, mit großen Synergieeffekten und langfristigen Kooperationen zwischen Forschern und Institutionen.

 

Video über die Forschung beim Projekt 1KITE:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFsIBdUBFek
Web-Site der Forschungsgruppe von Alexandros Stamatakis:
www.exelixis-lab.org
http://www.informatik.kit.edu/309_6333.php
Interview am KIT mit Alexandros Stamatakis:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6Laa58M-vk
Mehr zum 1KITE Projekt: www.1kite.org

Originalveröffentlichung: “Phylogenomics resolves the timing and pattern of insect evolution“, Science, 7, November 2014

 

Bildbeschreibung Nr. 2 - 6:
2: Steinfliege (Perla marginata), 3: Rotbrauner Reismehlkäfer (Tribolium castaneum), 4: Sandgoldwespe (Hedychrum nobile), 5: Schrecke (Diestrammena asynamora), 6: Kamelhalsfliege (Dichrostigma flavipes), Copyright: Dr. Oliver Niehuis, ZFMK

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 07.11.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseMcp9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.