Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 122/2014

On the Route to Success: Five Years KIT

KIT President Holger Hanselka at the 2014 Annual Academic Celebration: “We Have Reached a Lot We Can Be Proud of.”
2014_122_Auf_der_Route_in_Richtung_Erfolgsmodell_Fuenf_Jahre_KIT_72dpi
Five years KIT: BMBF Department Head Wolf-Dieter Lukas, Minister Theresia Bauer, KIT President Holger Hanselka, and Lord Mayor Frank Mentrup. (Photo: Martin Lober, KIT)

It started in 2009 as a unique “model test”. Today (Saturday, September 27, 2014), the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) celebrates its fifth anniversary at the Annual Academic Celebration. “We have reached a lot we can be proud of,” says President Holger Hanselka. “In the area of technology transfer, we have successfully acquired federal funding for our founders forge and in the teaching sector, we recently convinced international experts of our excellent quality assurance scheme.“ Looking ahead, Hanselka emphasizes: “At KIT, we have the complete scientific chain of values added and can contribute essentially to solving the grand challenges of the future.” And he adds: “It has to be clear to everybody that a merger process is not completed after five years. But we are on the route to success!”

 

“The state of Baden-Württemberg will continue to give the KIT the room it needs for playing a prominent role in international competition,” says the Baden-Württemberg Minister of Science, Theresia Bauer.

 

“With the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), a new cooperation model was established in the German science sector. All parties involved have used the resulting opportunities well in order to be successful in the international competition of research, teaching, and innovation. I wish the KIT the same success in the next five years,” says Professor Wolf-Dieter Lukas, Department Head of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

 

“The KIT is a success story ‘made in Karlsruhe’. We are very proud of this,” emphasizes the Lord Mayor of the city of Karlsruhe, Dr. Frank Mentrup. “Science and technology are the central strengths of Karlsruhe. Of course, the international reputation of KIT is an important catalyst for our city. I congratulate all employees as well as all students on the first five years and I am looking forward to the joint future of the city and KIT.”

 

“The KIT established by a merger of two strong partners, the University and the Karlsruhe Research Center, appears to be on a good way,” the Chairperson of the KIT Supervisory Board, Professor Renate Schubert, points out. “Meanwhile, both parts have launched joint projects as a matter of course and employees on all levels benefit from the advantages of joint teaching, research, and innovation. I would like to thank the Presidential Committee and all KIT staff members for their high commitment.”

 

The KIT President extends particular thanks to his predecessors, who developed the idea of the KIT and advanced it in the first years. Thanks also go to the federal and state ministries. Without their joint efforts, the KIT would not have been possible. And Hanselka thanks all staff members and students. “They are living the idea of KIT and progress it daily.”

 

Five Years KIT – Outlook
With a ten-point program, the Presidential Committee intends to make the KIT fit for the next five years and to enhance the use of synergy potentials. A first important step was the adoption of the “Joint Statutes of KIT” in early 2014. These statutes describe a new integrated organizational structure and serve as a basis for the cutback of parallel processes. “Now, we want to interlink KIT’s research activities even more closely and to align them strategically. Future big challenges of the society, such as the transformation of the energy system, can only be solved by the different scientific disciplines in cooperation and in close dialog with politics and industry,” Hanselka says. “During this year’s reviews under the Helmholtz program-oriented funding scheme, the experts acknowledged KIT’s high scientific excellence in international comparison and we are waiting curiously for the announcement of the final funding sums that will be made in a few weeks.” According to the KIT President, KIT will then proceed from this high level. “We have just launched the KIT 2025 project to develop an umbrella strategy for the complete KIT. This umbrella strategy will cover all areas of research, teaching, innovation, and administration and will give all 125 scientific institutes and 29 service units of the KIT increased planning security. From mid-2015, this strategy is planned to be implemented. We are facing a big task,” Hanselka says.

 

5 Years KIT – Looking Back
The KIT Vice President for Research and Information, Professor Detlef Löhe, looks back on the beginnings of the KIT, starting with the daring idea of establishing the KIT. It was followed by approval under the Excellence Initiative I, politics setting the course, success, but also by the disappointment in Excellence Initiative II. As a member of the first project team, Löhe was significantly involved in the successful formulation and implementation of the KIT idea. An overview of the development of KIT based on characteristics and milestones in the areas of research, teaching, and innovation is given at the end of this press release under “Annex and Short Overview: The Effects of KIT Foundation”. Further information on the history of KIT is available at: http://www.kit.edu/kit/english/history.php

 

Conferral of Department Teaching Awards
Conferral of the Department Teaching Awards is part of every Annual Academic Celebration. The Vice President for Higher Education and Academic Affairs, Professor Alexander Wanner, hands over eleven department teaching awards to teachers, who showed a very high commitment and used innovative teaching concepts in the past year.

Video portraits of the winners can be found at: http://www.kit.edu/foerdern/15668.php

 

Annex and Short Overview: The Effects of KIT Foundation

 

Research

Successful Acquisition of Third-party Funding: Since its establishment, the KIT has succeeded in enormously increasing its share of third-party funding. In 2009, third-party funds in the amount of EUR 275 million were acquired from public and private funding institutions in addition to basic funding. In 2013, third-party funding totaled EUR 358 million, the share of third-party funding in the total budget was more than 40 %. The KIT is in the top group of all universities and research institutions in Germany. Third-party funding granted by the EU increased even more significantly: In 2009, the KIT was granted EUR 16.9 million, whereas in 2013, this total increased to EUR 30.3 million. The KIT was the most successful German research institution in acquiring research funding under the 7th Framework Programme of the EU.

 

Interlinkage and Integration of Research: KIT scientists increasingly use the potential of the merger. In 2007/2008, 43 professors of the former university sector took part in the program-oriented funding projects of the Helmholtz Association. In 2013, this number increased to 79 professors. The number of jointly appointed professors also rose significantly (31 in 2009, 55 in 2014).

 

Rankings: The KIT succeeded in improving its position in nearly all national and international rankings. In the latest ranking of the Wirtschaftswoche, the KIT is the only university in Germany that is ranked in first place in three disciplines (Informatics, Business Engineering, Mechanical Engineering). Since the establishment of KIT, the number of scientific publications has increased from 3307 to 3855 per year.

 

Approval of KIT’s coordination of KIC InnoEnergy, a Europe-wide project in the area of energy research, is one of the first successes of the young KIT and would not have been possible without the merger. KIC InnoEnergy was initiated by the European Institute for Innovation and Technology (EIT) and is aimed at sustainably transforming the energy system for a climate-neutral Europe in 2050. Project work is carried out in cooperation with 27 renowned industrial companies, research institutions, universities, and business schools.

 

Success of the Energiewende will depend on the efficient and low-cost storage of energy. To study and develop the technologies required for this purpose, the Helmholtz Institute Ulm was established as a branch of KIT in cooperation with partners. The Competence E project pools KIT’s research relating to storage technologies and is aimed at developing not only efficient cells and batteries, but also low-cost manufacturing processes at a research factory.

 

Internationality: The KIT attracts scientists from all over the world: Since 2009, their number has increased by 30 %. Nearly 950 of the total of 6000 scientists come from abroad.

 

Promotion of young scientists: Already when it was founded in 2009 did the KIT emphasize the importance of promoting young scientists. For this purpose, it established an institution for doctoral students, the Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS). Today, about 3000 doctoral students are working on their doctoral theses at the KIT. The number of completed doctorates has increased from below 400 to more than 460 every year. Four Graduate Schools, two of which are funded under the Excellence Initiative, ensure networking in the respective disciplines. About 130 master students and 90 doctoral students from 40 countries learn and conduct research at the Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics, for instance. The Young Investigator Network (YIN), a unique self-organized network of 50 heads of young investigator groups, offers training programs to prepare young scientists for executive tasks.

 

Promotion of young scientists also is in the focus of HEiKA, the Heidelberg Karlsruhe Research Partnership. This partnership with the University of Heidelberg in the areas of organic electronics; nature, technology, and society; medical technology for health; synthetic biology and correlative imaging environment started in 2011.

 

Teaching

In May 2014, the KIT was granted the so-called system accreditation right by a group of international experts. The KIT now is one of three universities of the TU9 Association that is allowed to evaluate and approve of study programs on its own. For this purpose, an effective internal quality management system was established in the education sector.

 

Research-based Education – Attractive for Students: Research-based education at KIT attracts students. Within the framework of this concept, students are to be familiarized with research practice at an early stage already. Today, the KIT has 24,500 students. During their studies, these students can use and work at large-scale research facilities. Some newly developed master programs, such as energy technology, would not have been possible without the expertise of the research sector. Nearly 4000 foreign students are studying at the KIT. This is an increase by 20 % compared to five years ago.

 

Improved Student-Faculty Ratio: The integration of scientists working in KIT’s research sector resulted in a significant improvement of the student-faculty ratio. In 2013, the student-professor ratio was 70 to 1 – this is a much better ratio than the average of the nine leading technical universities in Germany. A recently opened learning center at KIT is one component of KIT’s efforts to offer optimum studies conditions to students.

 

Innovation

In 2013, KIT won the final round of the competition “EXIST – Gründungskultur” launched by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi). For its university-wide concept for establishing an entrepreneurial culture, the KIT was granted EUR 3 million. In total, 27 universities applied for funding. The KIT founders forge project also covers entrepreneurial education. Among others, a separate platform for funding spinoff projects was established.

 

 

In addition, successful industry partnerships and a very close company-on-campus project with Schaeffler AG in the area of energy storage systems, electric drives, and autonomous driving were established on KIT’s Mobility Campus East.

 

Shared instruments in the form of joint professorships and research groups with industry ensure optimal interlinkage of research and product development.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 27.09.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseRsj6∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafEcx2∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseIvf6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 122/2014

Auf der Route in Richtung Erfolgsmodell: Fünf Jahre KIT

KIT-Präsident Holger Hanselka auf der Akademischen Jahresfeier 2014: „Wir haben vieles erreicht, auf das wir stolz sein können.“
Fünf Jahre KIT: Ministerialdirektor Wolf-Dieter Lukas, Ministerin Theresia  Bauer, KIT-Präsident Holger Hanselka und Oberbürgermeister Frank Mentrup (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)
Fünf Jahre KIT: Ministerialdirektor Wolf-Dieter Lukas, Ministerin Theresia Bauer, KIT-Präsident Holger Hanselka und Oberbürgermeister Frank Mentrup (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)

Im Jahr 2009 als einzigartiger „Modellversuch“ gestartet, feierte das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) heute (Samstag, 27.9.2014) bei der Akademischen Jahresfeier sein „Fünfjähriges“. „Wir haben vieles erreicht, auf das wir stolz sein können“, sagt der Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka. „Im Technologietransfer konnten wir uns erfolgreich bundesweit als Gründerschmiede etablieren und in der Hochschullehre haben wir kürzlich ein internationales Gutachterteam von einer hervorragenden Qualitätssicherung überzeugt.“ Mit Blick nach vorne betont Hanselka: „Wir haben die gesamte wissenschaftliche Wertschöpfungskette am KIT, um maßgeblich zur Lösung wichtiger Zukunftsfragen beizutragen.“ Jedem müsse klar sein: „Ein Fusionsprozess ist nach fünf Jahren noch nicht abgeschlossen. Aber wir sind auf dem Weg in Richtung Erfolgsmodell!“

 

„Das Land wird weiterhin seinen Beitrag dazu leisten, dem KIT den notwendigen Bewegungsspielraum zu ermöglichen, den es braucht, um im internationalen Wettbewerb eine hervorragende Rolle zu spielen“, sagt die baden-württembergische Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer.

 

„Mit der Gründung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) wurde ein neues Kooperationsmodell in der deutschen Wissenschaftslandschaft etabliert. Die geschaffenen Chancen haben alle Beteiligten gut genutzt, um im internationalen Wettbewerb von Forschung, Lehre und Innovation bestehen zu können. Diesen Erfolg wünsche ich dem KIT auch für die nächsten fünf Jahre“, so Professor Wolf-Dieter Lukas, Ministerialdirektor im Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

 

„Das KIT ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte 'made in Karlsruhe'. Darauf sind wir sehr stolz“, betont der Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Karlsruhe, Dr. Frank Mentrup. „Denn Wissenschaft und Technologie sind zentrale Stärken Karlsruhes. Und natürlich ist das internationale Renommee des KIT ein wichtiger Katalysator für unsere Stadt. Ich gratuliere allen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie allen Studierenden zu den ersten fünf Jahren und freue mich auf die weitere gemeinsame Zukunft von Stadt und KIT."

 

„Das KIT, gegründet als Zusammenschluss zweier starker Partner, nämlich der Universität und des Großforschungszentrums Karlsruhe, scheint auf sehr gutem Weg zu sein“, sagt die Vorsitzende des KIT-Aufsichtsrates, Professorin Renate Schubert. „Beide Teile finden sich inzwischen nahezu selbstverständlich in gemeinsamen Projekten zusammen und Mitarbeitende auf allen Ebenen freuen sich an den Vorteilen aus gemeinsamer Lehre, Forschung und Innovation. Dem Präsidium und allen KIT-Mitarbeitenden ist für ihren großen Einsatz zu danken.“

 

In seiner Rede dankte der KIT-Präsident seinen Vorgängern, die die Idee eines KIT entwickelt und in den ersten Jahren vorangebracht haben. Sein besonderer Dank gelte den Bundes- und Landesministerien, ohne deren gemeinsames Handeln das KIT nicht möglich gewesen wäre und schließlich allen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie den Studierenden. „Sie leben die Idee des KIT und bringen diese Tag für Tag ein Stück voran.“

 

5 Jahre KIT – Ausblick
Mit einem 10-Punkte-Programm will das Präsidium das KIT für die kommenden fünf Jahre fit machen und die Synergiepotenziale noch stärker nutzen. Ein wichtiger Schritt war daher zu Beginn des Jahres 2014 die „Gemeinsame Satzung des KIT“, die eine neue integrierte Organisationsstruktur beschreibt und die Voraussetzung zum Abbau paralleler Prozesse schafft. „Nun geht es darum, auch die Forschung des KIT noch enger zu verzahnen und strategisch auszurichten. Denn die großen Zukunftsfragen der Gesellschaft, wie beispielsweise die Energiewende, lassen sich nur im Zusammenspiel der unterschiedlichen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen und im engen Dialog mit Politik und Wirtschaft lösen“, sagte Hanselka. „Bei der programmorientierten Förderung haben die Gutachter dem KIT in diesem Jahr bereits eine im internationalen Vergleich hohe wissenschaftliche Exzellenz signalisiert und wir warten gespannt auf die Bekanntgabe der finalen Fördersummen, die in wenigen Wochen vorliegen werden.“ Auf diesem hohen Niveau müsse man dann weiter aufbauen, so der KIT-Präsident. „Mit der Perspektive 2025 sind wir gerade dabei, eine Dachstrategie für Gesamt-KIT zu entwickeln. Diese Dachstrategie wird alle Bereiche der Forschung, Lehre, Innovation und Administration umfassen und allen 125 wissenschaftlichen Instituten sowie 29 Dienstleistungseinheiten des KIT eine höhere Planungssicherheit geben.“ Ab Mitte 2015 solle diese implementiert werden. „Vor uns liegt eine große Aufgabe“, sagte Hanselka.

 

5 Jahre KIT – Rückblick
Auf die Anfänge des KIT, die zunächst kühne Idee der KIT-Gründung, den Zuschlag in der Exzellenzinitiative I, die politischen Weichenstellungen, die Erfolge, aber auch auf die Enttäuschung bei der Exzellenzinitiative II, blickte der Vizepräsident des KIT für Forschung und Information, Professor Detlef Löhe zurück. Als Mann der ersten Stunde war er maßgeblich an der erfolgreichen Formulierung und Umsetzung der KIT-Idee beteiligt. Eine Zusammenstellung der Entwicklung des KIT anhand von Kennzahlen und Meilensteinen aus Forschung, Lehre und Innovation findet sich am Ende dieser Presseinformation unter „Anhang und Kurzüberblick: Die Effekte der KIT-Gründung“. Weitere Informationen zur Geschichte des KIT unter: http://www.kit.edu/kit/geschichte.php

 

Vergabe der Fakultätslehrpreise:
Die Verleihung der Fakultätslehrpreise ist ein fester Programmpunkt der Akademischen Jahresfeier. Der Vizepräsident für Lehre und akademische Angelegenheiten Professor Alexander Wanner vergab elf Fakultätslehrpreise an Lehrende, die sich im letzten Jahr durch besonderes Engagement auszeichneten und innovative Lehrkonzepte einsetzten.
Videoportraits der Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger: http://www.kit.edu/foerdern/15668.php

 

Anhang und Kurzüberblick: Die Effekte der KIT-Gründung

 

Forschung

Erfolgreiche Einwerbung von Drittmitteln: Das KIT konnte seit seiner Gründung seinen Anteil an Drittmitteln enorm steigern. Wurden noch 2009 Drittmittel in Höhe von 275 Millionen von öffentlichen und privaten Geldgebern zusätzlich zur Grundfinanzierung eingeworben, so waren dies im Jahr 2013 358 Millionen Euro. Das KIT ist damit mit einem Drittmittelanteil von mehr als 40 Prozent des Gesamthaushalts einer der Spitzenreiter unter den Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen in Deutschland. Noch deutlicher stieg der Anteil der Drittmittel aus der EU: Erhielt das KIT im Jahr 2009 16,9 Millionen Euro, so waren es im Jahr 2013 30,3 Millionen Euro. Bei der Einwerbung von Forschungsgeldern aus dem 7. Rahmenprogramm der EU war das KIT die erfolgreichste deutsche Forschungseinrichtung.

 

Verzahnung und Integration der Forschung: Mehr und mehr nutzen KIT-Wissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler das Potenzial der Fusion. Während sich 2007/2008 43 Professorinnen und Professoren des ehemaligen Universitätsteils an der Programmorientierten Förderung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft engagierten, waren dies im Jahr 2013 bereits 79 Professoren. Ebenso stieg die Zahl der intern gemeinsam berufenen Professorinnen und Professoren deutlich (31 im Jahr 2009 auf 55 im Jahr 2014).

 

Rankings: In so gut wie allen nationalen und internationalen Rankings konnte das KIT seine Position verbessern. Im aktuellen Ranking der Wirtschaftswoche steht das KIT als einzige Universität Deutschlands in drei Disziplinen (Informatik, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen, Maschinenbau) auf Platz 1. Die Zahl der wissenschaftlichen Publikationen hat sich seit KIT-Gründung von 3307 auf 3855 pro Jahr erhöht.

 

Der Zuschlag für die Koordination von KIC InnoEnergy, einem europaweiten Projekt in der Energieforschung und eines der ersten Erfolge des jungen KIT, wäre ohne den Zusammenschluss nicht möglich gewesen. KIC InnoEnergy wurde vom Europäischen Institut für Innovation und Technologie (EIT) ausgeschrieben und soll gemeinsam mit 27 renommierten Partnern aus Industrie, Forschungseinrichtungen, Universitäten und Business Schools das Energiesystem nachhaltig für ein klimaneutrales Europa 2050 umgestalten.

 

Für das Gelingen der Energiewende ist die effiziente und kostengünstige Speicherung von Energie eine wichtige Voraussetzung. Um die hierfür notwendigen Technologien zu erforschen und zu entwickeln, hat das KIT gemeinsam mit Partnern das Helmholtz-Institut Ulm als Außenstelle des KIT ins Leben gerufen. Das Projekt Competence E bündelt am KIT die Forschung zu Speichertechnologien, um in einer Forschungsfabrik neben effizienten Zellen und Batterien auch kostengünstige Fertigungsverfahren zu entwickeln.

 

Internationalität: Das KIT zieht Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt an: Ihre Zahl hat sich seit 2009 um 30 Prozent erhöht. Knapp 950 der insgesamt 6000 Wissenschaftler kommen heute aus dem Ausland.

 

Nachwuchsförderung: Bereits bei seiner Gründung 2009 hatte sich das KIT die wissenschaftliche Nachwuchsförderung auf die Fahnen geschrieben und eine eigene Einrichtung für Doktoranden, das Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS), ins Leben gerufen. Heute arbeiten am KIT rund 3000 Doktoranden an ihren Dissertationen. Die Zahl der abgeschlossenen Promotionen hat sich von knapp 400 auf mehr als 460 pro Jahr erhöht. Vier Graduiertenschulen, davon zwei durch die Exzellenzinitiative gefördert, sorgen für fachliche Vernetzung. Rund 130 Masterstudierende und 90 Doktoranden aus 40 Nationen lernen und forschen beispielsweise in der Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics. Das Young Investigator Network (YIN) als einzigartiges selbstorganisiertes Netzwerk mit 50 leitenden Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern bietet u. a. Weiterbildungsprogramme, um auf Führungsaufgaben vorzubereiten.

 

Nachwuchsförderung wird auch bei HEiKA, der Heidelberg Karlsruhe Research Partnership, großgeschrieben. Die Forschungspartnerschaft mit der Universität Heidelberg in den Bereichen Organische Elektronik; Natur, Technik und Gesellschaft; Medizintechnik für die Gesundheit; Synthetische Biologie und Korrelative Abbildungsumgebung besteht seit 2011.

 

Lehre
Im Mai 2014 erhielt das KIT von einer internationalen Gutachtergruppe die sogenannte Systemakkreditierung. KIT ist damit eine von drei Universitäten im TU9-Verbund, die ihre Studiengänge selbst begutachten und ihren Betrieb bewilligen darf. Erreicht wurde dies durch die Einrichtung eines wirksamen internen Qualitätsmanagements in der Lehre.

 

„Lehre hoch Forschung“ – Attraktiv für Studierende: Die forschungsorientierte Lehre am KIT, in der sich die Studierenden bereits früh mit Fragen aus der Forschungspraxis auseinandersetzen, ist ein Attraktionspunkt für Studierende: Heute hat das KIT 24 500 Studierende. Bereits im Studium können diese Geräte der Großforschung nutzen. Auch einige neu ins Leben gerufene Masterstudiengänge, wie beispielsweise Energietechnik, wären ohne die Expertise des Großforschungsbereichs nicht möglich gewesen. Heute studieren knapp 4000 ausländische Studierende am KIT, dies bedeutet eine Steigerung um 20 Prozent im Vergleich zu vor fünf Jahren.

 

Bessere Betreuungsrelation: Die Integration von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus dem Großforschungsteil des KIT konnte die Betreuungsrelation deutlich verbessern. Im Jahr 2013 kommen auf eine/einen Professorin/Professor knapp 70 Studierende – dies ist eine bessere Betreuungsrelation als im Durchschnitt der neun führenden Technischen Universitäten in Deutschland. Ein vor Kurzem eingeweihtes Lernzentrum am KIT ist ein Baustein im Bestreben des KIT, seinen Studierenden optimale Studienbedingungen zu bieten.

 

Innovation

Das KIT hat sich 2013 in der Endrunde des Wettbewerbs „EXIST-Gründungskultur“ des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi) durchgesetzt: Für sein hochschulweites Konzept zum Ausbau der Gründungskultur erhält das KIT drei Millionen Euro. Insgesamt hatten sich 27 deutsche Hochschulen beworben. Das Projekt der KIT-Gründerschmiede bezieht auch eine Entrepreneurship-Lehre ein und hat unter anderem eine KIT-eigene Finanzierungsplattform für junge Gründungsprojekte etabliert.

 

Daneben konnten am Campus Ost des KIT für Mobilität erfolgreiche Industrie-Partnerschaften und ein besonders intensives Company on Campus-Projekt mit der Schaeffler AG im Bereich Energiespeicher, elektrische Antriebe und autonomes Fahren eingerichtet werden.

 

Shared Instrumente in Form von gemeinsamen Professuren und Forschergruppen mit der Industrie, sorgen ebenfalls dafür, dass Forschung und Produktentwicklung optimal ineinandergreifen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

lg, 27.09.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafFnx8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseMoq4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.