Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 066/2014

Measuring Fine Dust Concentration via Smartphone

KIT Computer Scientists Work on a Measurement System for Mobile End Devices to Compile a Pollution Map in Collaboration with Users
2014_066_Feinstaub-Belastung_per_Smartphone_messen_72dpi
Clean air alongside busy roads? The smartphone fine dust sensor is intended to measure concentration in real time. (Photo: Patrick Langer, KIT)

Big cities in the smog: Photos from Beijing and, more recently, Paris clearly illustrate the extent of fine dust pollution. But what about our direct environment? What is the pollution concentration near our favorite jogging route? Scientists of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) are developing a sensor that can be connected easily to smartphones. In the future, users are to take part in drawing up a pollution map via participatory sensing. The precision of the map will be the higher, the more people will take part.

 

The principle of fine dust measurements using a smartphone corresponds to that of simple optical sensors. “Instead of the conventional infrared LED in the sensor, the flashlight of the smartphone emits light into the measurement area. This light is scattered by the possibly existing dust or smoke. The camera serves as a receptor and takes a picture representing the measurement result. The brightness of the pixels can then be converted into the dust concentration,” computer scientist Matthias Budde explains. He has developed the system as a member of the research group TECO of KIT’s Chair for Pervasive Computing.

 

The computer scientists have carried out comparative measurements to prove that the principle works. The smartphone sensors are not yet as precise as specialized instruments. However, their costs are much lower. “Detectors at the official measurement stations operated by the Baden-Württemberg State Agency for the Environment, Measurement, and Nature Conservation are very precise, but also very large, very expensive, and static. In Karlsruhe, for instance, only two measurement stations have been established,” Budde says. He plans to enhance accuracy by a high measurement density. Measurements of many, closely adjacent sensors may be combined to results of reduced inaccuracy. Thus, measurement errors could be reduced. Due to their close vicinity, the sensors might also be calibrated against each other. Budde thinks that a potential application scenario is joint measurement or participatory sensing: Interested citizens measure data at various places in their city and share them. These data may then be used to draw up a fine dust pollution map for the respective city in real time.

 

 

The sensor is planned to be attached to the smartphone by means of a magnet, for instance. Adaptation of electronics will not be required. Users who want to join participatory sensing will have to download the corresponding app. At the measurement point desired, the sensor is attached to the cell phone and the users take a photo or a video for measurement. The images can be evaluated locally or transmitted to a computer system that combines these data with other measurements and sends them back. Then, the fine dust concentration is displayed by the phone.

 

Presently, the smartphone sensor can measure concentrations of about one microgram per cubic meter. This is sufficient for detecting coarse dust and smoke, but not for typical fine dust concentrations in the microgram range. The scientists now plan to further increase the sensitivity of the sensors. This can be achieved among other means by ideally bundling the flashlight in the sensor by using hemispherical lenses. This principle is realized in a recently produced, far smaller second prototype. In addition, the evaluation algorithms and the smartphones themselves will be further developed. In the future, the devices will no longer compress the photos automatically, but also be able to supply raw data. This promises to increase the accuracy of the measurement results even further. Budde reckons that a smartphone sensor able to detect typical fine dust will have been developed in the course of next year.

 

The doctoral thesis of the computer scientist, however, does not only deal with the further development of the sensor and the possibilities of generating a map from the measurement points, but also with the question of how citizens can be motivated to participate. “Many people are intrinsically interested in such offers, because they see a benefit for themselves and others,” Budde says. For those, who like games, a gamification system might be feasible. Users might score points for the collection of data or measurements at certain locations. Also, data protection is an important aspect of participatory sensing. “Users have to be sure that the operator protects their data from being tracked or stolen and uses them for nothing but the pollution map.” An option is data aggregation, by means of which data are combined and bundled such that they can no longer be traced back to an individual person. But the central idea of participatory sensing is the joint benefit resulting from an increased information quality – which increases with the number of measurements.

 

KIT Video on measuring fine dust concentration via smartphone: http://www.kit.edu/videos/feinstaub_messen

 

Further dissemination of the video or parts of it for pedagogic, journalistic, editorial, or private purposes shall be permitted, provided that the source (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) is indicated. Use or reproduction for purposes other than those mentioned above or further dissemination in the advertisement and commercial sectors are not permitted.

 

Digital Press Kit Relating to the Science Year 2014

Communication, energy supply, mobility, industry, health care, leisure time: Digital technologies have long been part of our everyday life, they open up new opportunities and offer solutions for problems of society. At the same time, they pose challenges. Opportunities and risks will be in the focus of the Science Year 2014 – The Digital Society. At the KIT, researchers of all disciplines study various – technical and societal – aspects of digitization. The digital press kit of KIT relating to the Science Year 2014 contains short portraits, press releases, and videos:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

le, 22.05.2014

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehnePib4∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseWud6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 066/2014

Feinstaub-Belastung per Smartphone messen

Informatiker des KIT arbeiten an einem Mess-System für mobile Endgeräte: Ziel ist das Erstellen einer Belastungslandkarte – gemeinsam mit Nutzerinnen und Nutzern.
Frische Luft an der Bundesstraße? Der Feinstaubsensor für Smartphones soll die Belastung künfig in Echtzeit messen. (Foto: Patrick Langer, KIT)
Frische Luft an der Bundesstraße? Der Feinstaubsensor für Smartphones soll die Belastung künfig in Echtzeit messen. (Foto: Patrick Langer, KIT)

Großstädte im Smog: Fotos aus Peking oder zuletzt Paris zeigen das Ausmaß der Feinstaubbelastung deutlich. Aber wie sieht es in der eigenen Umgebung aus, an der Lieblingsjoggingstrecke zum Beispiel? Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) entwickeln einen Sensor, der sich einfach an ein Smartphone anschließen lässt. In Zukunft sollen Nutzerinnen und Nutzer über gemeinschaftliches Messen (Participatory Sensing) beim Erstellen einer Belastungskarte mitwirken können. Die Karte wird dann umso genauer, je mehr Menschen sich beteiligen.

 

Das Prinzip der Feinstaub-Messung per Smartphone entspricht dabei dem einfacher optischer Sensoren: „Anstelle der sonst in Sensoren üblichen Infrarot-LED gibt hier der Blitz des Smartphones Licht in den Messbereich ab. Sind dort Staub oder Rauch vorhanden, streuen sie dieses Licht. Die Kamera dient als Rezeptor und fängt das Messergebnis als Bild auf. Anschließend lässt sich die Helligkeit der Pixel in die Staubkonzentration umrechnen“, sagt Informatiker Matthias Budde. Er hat das System am Lehrstuhl für Pervasive Computing und der Forschungsgruppe TECO am KIT entwickelt.

 

Dass das Prinzip funktioniert, haben die Informatiker in Vergleichsmessungen gezeigt. Bei der Genauigkeit können die Smartphone-Sensoren mit den spezialisierten Geräten zwar noch nicht konkurrieren, ihr Vorteil ist der Preis. „Die Geräte an den offiziellen Messstationen der Landesanstalt für Umwelt- und Messtechnik in Baden-Württemberg sind sehr präzise, aber auch sehr groß, sehr teuer und statisch. Deshalb gibt es zum Beispiel in Karlsruhe nur zwei solche Messpunkte“, so Budde. Größere Genauigkeit will er über eine hohe Messdichte erreichen. Messungen vieler, nahe beieinander liegender Sensoren könnten zu Ergebnissen geringerer Ungenauigkeit kombiniert werden, Messfehler ließen sich so verringern. Durch die lokale Nähe zueinander könnten Sensoren zudem gegeneinander kalibriert werden. Als mögliches Anwendungsszenario sieht er daher vor allem das gemeinschaftliche Messen oder Participatory Sensing: Interessierte Nutzerinnen und Nutzer nehmen an unterschiedlichen Orten in ihrer Stadt Messdaten auf und teilen sie. Daraus, so Buddes Idee, ließe sich dann eine Feinstaubbelastungskarte für die jeweilige Stadt in Echtzeit erstellen.

 

 

Der Sensor soll sich für Messungen künftig einfach – etwa mit einem Magneten – am Smartphone befestigen lassen, ein Anpassen der Elektronik ist nicht erforderlich. Nutzerinnen und Nutzer müssten sich lediglich die entsprechende App herunterladen. Am gewünschten Messpunkt setzen sie dann den Sensor auf ihr Handy, nehmen für die Messung ein Foto oder ein Video auf. Die Bilder können sowohl lokal ausgewertet als auch an ein Rechnersystem gesendet werden, das die Daten mit anderen Messungen zusammenführt und zurücksendet. Das Display des Telefons zeigt dann die Feinstaubkonzentration an.

 

Zurzeit lassen sich so Konzentrationen von etwa einem Milligramm pro Kubikmeter Luft erkennen. Um groben Staub und Rauch zu entdecken, reicht das aus, für typische Feinstaubkonzentrationen, die sich im Mikrogramm-Bereich bewegen, noch nicht. Ziel der Forscher ist es nun, die Empfindlichkeit der Sensoren weiter zu erhöhen. Erreichen wollen sie das unter anderem, indem sie das Blitzlicht im Sensor mit Halbkugellinsen ideal bündeln. Umgesetzt haben sie das bereits in einem gerade fertiggestellten, bereits deutlich kleineren zweiten Prototyp. Dazu kommt die Weiterentwicklung der Auswertungsalgorithmen sowie der Smartphones selbst: Künftig werden die Geräte Fotos nicht mehr automatisch komprimieren, sondern auch die Rohdaten liefern können. Auch davon verspricht sich das Team noch einmal genauere Messergebnisse. Mit einem Smartphone-Sensor, der typischen Feinstaub entdecken kann, rechnet Matthias Budde im Lauf des kommenden Jahres.

 

In seiner Dissertation beschäftigt sich der Informatiker aber nicht nur mit der Weiterentwicklung des Sensors und den Möglichkeiten, aus den Messpunkten eine Karte zu erstellen, sondern auch mit der Frage, wie man Bürgerinnen und Bürger dazu motivieren kann, sich zu beteiligen. „Viele Menschen interessieren sich von sich aus für solche Angebote, weil sie den Nutzen für sich und andere sehen“, so Budde. Für Spielfreudige sei aber auch ein „Gamification“-System denkbar, in dem es für das Sammeln von Daten oder das Messen an einem bestimmten Ort beispielsweise Punkte gibt. Ein weiterer Aspekt beim gemeinschaftlichen Messen sei auch der Datenschutz: „Nutzerinnen und Nutzer müssen darauf vertrauen können, dass ihre Daten gegen Rückverfolgung und Diebstahl gesichert sind und für nichts anderes als das Erstellen der Belastungskarte verwendet werden.“ Eine Möglichkeit dafür sei das Aggregieren, also das Kombinieren und Bündeln, der Daten, sodass sie nicht mehr zu einer bestimmten Einzelperson zurückverfolgt werden können. Zentrale Idee des Participatory Sensing sei aber der gemeinsame Nutzen, der hier darin liege, dass die Qualität der Information mit der Zahl der Messungen zunimmt.

 

KIT-Videoclip zur Feinstaub-Messung per Smartphone: http://www.kit.edu/videos/feinstaub_messen

 

Die Weiterverbreitung der Videodatei, auch in Auszügen, für pädagogische, journalistisch-redaktionelle oder private Zwecke ist unter Angabe der Quelle (Karlsruher Institut für Technologie) erlaubt. Eine Verwendung bzw. Vervielfältigung zu anderen Zwecken als den oben genannten oder die Weiterverbreitung im werblichen, kommerziellen Bereich ist nicht gestattet.

 

Digitale Pressemappe zum Wissenschaftsjahr 2014

Ob in der Kommunikation, der Energieversorgung oder der Mobilität, in der Industrie, im Gesundheitsbereich oder in der Freizeit: Digitale Technologien sind längst Teil unseres Alltags, sie eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten und bieten Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme. Gleichzeitig stellen sie uns vor Herausforderungen. Chancen und Risiken stehen im Mittelpunkt des Wissenschaftsjahres 2014 – Die Digitale Gesellschaft. Am KIT beschäftigen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Disziplinen mit den vielfältigen – technischen und gesellschaftlichen – Aspekten der Digitalisierung. Kurzporträts, Presseinformationen und Videos dazu bietet die digitale Pressemappe des KIT zum Wissenschaftsjahr:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 22.05.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneIsk0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseNtl6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.