Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 062/2014

KIT Is Granted Right to Accredit Study Programs

Internationally Renowned Agency Confirms Excellent Quality Management – KIT Is Granted System Accreditation Right as One of Three TU9 Universities
2014_062_KIT_darf_Studiengaenge_kuenftig_selbst_akkreditieren72dpi
Lecture at the Audimax: In the future, KIT will accredit study programs on its own. (Photo: Harry Marx)

A group of international experts has confirmed that Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) has an excellent in-house quality management system in the area of studies and teaching. For this reason, KIT has been granted the so-called system accreditation right today. Now, KIT is one of three TU9 universities which assess programs on their own and have the right to approve of their execution.

 

Normally, programs have to be accredited separately by external agencies to ensure a high quality of education. This is a time-consuming and cost-intensive process. Education institutions pos-sessing an adequate internal quality management system for stud-ies and teaching, however, have the right to assess and accredit programs on their own.

 

A group of international experts chaired by the President of ETH Zurich, Professor Lino Guzzella, together with the Swiss agency OAQ (Body for the Accreditation and Quality Assurance of Swiss Universities), reviewed the quality assurance system of KIT in a process taking several years. Based on the positive recommenda-tion by the experts, the OAQ today officially granted the right of so-called system accreditation to KIT. For a period of initially six years, KIT is given the right to assess its study programs and to provide them with an internationally acknowledged quality label upon a very detailed inspection.

 

“The experts found that the KIT is on a very good way in the educa-tion sector. Of course, this is considered a rather positive signal by the Supervisory Board. We congratulate the KIT on this success,” the Chairperson of the KIT Supervisory Board, Professor Renate Schubert, comments the evaluation results.

 

“We are very pleased about the vote of the experts, because it con-firms the high quality of education at KIT,” the President of KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka, says. “With this confirmation of an effective and adequate internal quality management system in studies and education, KIT has advanced a step further towards autonomy.”

 

The central element of internal quality assurance is the KIT-PLUS procedure. In analogy to external program accreditation, this proce-dure consists of several steps. By KIT-PLUS that started in the 2013 summer semester, the KIT departments are enabled to systemati-cally analyze and further develop the quality of their study programs. Analysis is based on structural data of the study programs and interviews of students and graduates.

 

“With KIT-PLUS, we have succeeded in installing a highly effective and reliable monitoring and control system,” says the Vice President for Higher Education and Academic Affairs of KIT, Professor Alex-ander Wanner, who managed the development and establishment of the internal quality assurance system. ”It is our objective to provide the young people with an excellent education and to prepare them optimally for their jobs in industry, science, and the society.”

 

“The students are pleased about the successful system accredita-tion of KIT. We expect that improvements of quality in education can be implemented more easily and more sustainably in the future,” says the Chairperson of the General Students Association AStA at KIT, Vera Schumacher.

 

 

About the Internal Quality Assurance System of KIT

Within the framework of KIT-PLUS, individual seminars, lectures, and courses are evaluated based on the Teaching Quality Index (LQI). In addition, study programs are assessed. For this purpose, each department drafts a report about every study program and makes proposals for the planned further development of the pro-gram. In addition to this multi-stage assessment procedure that takes place every three years, external experts are asked to submit two opinions every six years. These and the program report will be reviewed by a so-called KIT-PLUS Commission that prepares rec-ommendations for decision by the Presidential Committee. The KIT-PLUS Commission consists of five professors, three students, and a member of the academic staff. It is supported by the KIT Quality Management Group.

 

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg, 15.05.2014

For further information, please contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafGyu4∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseOhi5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseRrg6∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 062/2014

KIT darf Studiengänge künftig selbst akkreditieren

International renommierte Agentur bescheinigt hervorragendes Qualitätsmanagement – KIT erhält Systemakkreditierung und ist damit eine von drei TU 9-Universitäten mit diesem Zertifikat
Vorlesung im Audimax: Das KIT darf seine Studiengänge künftig selbst akkreditieren. (Foto: Harry Marx)
Vorlesung im Audimax: Das KIT darf seine Studiengänge künftig selbst akkreditieren. (Foto: Harry Marx)

Eine internationale Gutachtergruppe hat dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ein hervorragendes internes Qualitätsmanagement in Studium und Lehre bescheinigt: Daher erhielt das KIT heute die sogenannte Systemakkreditierung. KIT ist damit eine von drei Universitäten im TU9-Verbund, die ihre Studiengänge selbst begutachten und ihren Betrieb bewilligen darf.

 

Normalerweise müssen Studiengänge einzeln von externen Agenturen akkreditiert werden, um die Qualität der Ausbildung nachzuweisen, was aufwändig und kostenintensiv ist. Nur Lehreinrichtungen, die ein geeignetes internes Qualitätsmanagementsystem für Studium und Lehre vorweisen können, dürfen die eigenen Studiengänge künftig selbst begutachten und akkreditieren.

 

Eine internationale Gutachtergruppe unter Vorsitz des Rektors der ETH Zürich, Professor Lino Guzzella, hat gemeinsam mit der Schweizer Agentur OAQ (Organ für Akkreditierung und Qualitätssicherung der Schweizerischen Hochschulen) das Qualitätssicherungssystem des KIT in einem mehrjährigen Prozess geprüft. Auf Grundlage der positiven Gutachterempfehlung hat das OAQ heute schließlich die sogenannte Systemakkreditierung ausgesprochen. Damit erhält das KIT für zunächst sieben Jahre das Recht, seine Studiengänge nach gründlicher Prüfung selbst mit einem international anerkannten Gütesiegel auszustatten.

 

„Die Gutachter haben festgestellt, dass das KIT im Bereich der Lehre auf einem sehr guten Weg ist. Das wertet der Aufsichtsrat natürlich als ausgesprochen erfreuliches Signal. Wir gratulieren dem KIT ganz herzlich zu diesem Erfolg“, kommentiert die Vorsitzende des KIT-Aufsichtsrats, Professorin Renate Schubert, das Evaluierungsergebnis.

 

„Über das Votum der Gutachter freuen wir uns sehr, denn es ist Beweis für die hohe Qualität der Lehre am KIT“, sagt der Präsident des KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka. „Mit diesem Nachweis eines wirksamen und passgenauen internen Qualitätsmanagements in Studium und Lehre geht das KIT einen Schritt weiter in Richtung Autonomie.“

 

Zentrales Element der internen Qualitätssicherung ist das Verfahren KIT-PLUS, das analog zu einer externen Progammakkreditierung angelegt ist und aus mehreren Schritten besteht. Mit KIT-PLUS, das im Sommersemester 2013 startete, werden die Fakultäten des KIT in die Lage versetzt, die Qualität ihrer Studiengänge systematisch zu analysieren und weiter zu entwickeln. Basis für diese Analyse sind die Strukturdaten des Studiengangs sowie Studierenden- und Absolventenbefragungen.

 

„Mit KIT-PLUS ist es uns gelungen, ein hochwirksames und zuverlässiges Kontroll- und Steuerungssystem fest zu installieren“, betont der Vizepräsident für Lehre und akademische Angelegenheiten des KIT, Professor Alexander Wanner, der die Entwicklung und Einrichtung des internen Qualitätssicherungssystems geleitet hat. „Unser Ziel ist es, den jungen Menschen eine hervorragende Ausbildung mitzugeben, die sie aktuell und optimal für Aufgaben in der Wirtschaft, der Wissenschaft und der Gesellschaft vorbereitet.“

 

„Die Studierendenschaft freut sich über die erfolgreiche Systemakkreditierung des KIT. Wir erwarten uns davon, dass Qualitätsverbesserungen in der Lehre künftig einfacher und nachhaltiger umgesetzt werden können", sagt die Vorsitzende des Allgemeinen Studierendenausschusses AStA am KIT, Vera Schumacher.

 

 

Zum KIT-internen Qualitätssicherungssystem
KIT-PLUS sieht vor, dass neben den Evaluationen der einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen, die im KIT-internen Qualitätsmanagement im LQI-Index abgebildet sind, auch Evaluationen auf Studiengangsebene durchgeführt werden. Dazu erstellt eine Fakultät pro Studiengang einen Bericht und erarbeitet Vorschläge zur geplanten Weiterentwicklung des Studiengangs. Zusätzlich zu diesem mehrstufigen Prüfungsprozess, der alle drei Jahre stattfindet, werden alle sechs Jahre zwei externe Gutachten eingeholt, die mit dem Studiengangsbericht durch eine sogenannte KIT-PLUS-Kommission geprüft werden und Empfehlungen für die Entscheidung im Präsidium vorbereiten. Die KIT-PLUS-Kommission besteht aus fünf Professorinnen bzw. Professoren, drei Studierenden und einem akademischen Mitarbeiter/-in und wird von KIT-Qualitätsmanagement unterstützt.

 

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

lg, 15.05.2014

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafAns9∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseSpc4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.