Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 055/2014

New Information Platform on Earth and the Environment

Central Information Pool of the Helmholtz Association Bundles Knowledge about Climate Change, Natural Hazards, and Environmental Pollutants
2014_055_Neue_Informationsplattform_zu_Erde_und_Umwelt_72dpi
Current research results and background knowledge: The “Earth System Knowledge Platform.” (Photo: ESKP)

The “Erde und Umwelt – Earth System Knowledge Platform” ESKP has been online since Saturday. At http://www.eskp.de, scientists from eight Helmholtz centres present current research results and detailed background knowledge on “impacts of climate change”, “natural hazards”, and “dispersion of pollutants in the environment.”

 

The impacts of climate change, early recognition and protection against geological natural hazards and weather-related extreme events, and the dispersion of pollutants in the environment are big challenges facing our society. These complex tasks require interdisciplinary cooperation of the Helmholtz centres, as often very different scopes of scientific knowledge have to be pooled to obtain a clear view of the situation. This also holds for slowly progressing processes that might be associated with climate change and lead to various effects, such as a changed risk of storm floods on the North Sea. Relationships and consequences can be explained comprehensively by a holistic assessment and the pooling of expert knowledge only.

 

ESKP is an information pool and the central contact point for the public. Existing knowledge of the Helmholtz centres involved in ESKP is processed in an understandable manner for various target groups (including authorities, politics, decision-makers, media, population). The information offered consists of texts, interviews, real-time data, graphical representations, images, and films. References to expert publications and generally understandable brochures complete the offer. In case of further questions, the experts of the research centers may be contacted.

 

The project is coordinated by the German Research Centre for Geo-sciences GFZ and the Helmholtz Zentrum Geesthacht – Centre for Materials and Coastal Research (HZG). In addition, the Alfred Wegener Institute – Helmholtz Centre of Polar and Marine Research (AWI), the German Aerospace Center (DLR), Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ), GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), and the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ) participate in the Helmholtz Earth System Knowledge Platform.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

um, 12.05.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUbc8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Dr. Ute Münch
Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum
Telegrafenberg
14473 Potsdam
Tel: 0331-2881079
Mail:ute muenchOwy7∂gfz-potsdam de
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseExr9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 055/2014

Neue Informationsplattform zu Erde und Umwelt

Zentrales Informationspool der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft bündelt Wissen über Klimawandel, Naturgefahren und Umweltschadstoffe
Aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und Hintergrundwissen: Die Wissensplattform „Erde und Umwelt“. (Abbildung: ESKP)
Aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und Hintergrundwissen: Die Wissensplattform „Erde und Umwelt“. (Abbildung: ESKP)

Die Wissensplattform „Erde und Umwelt – Earth System Knowledge Platform“ ESKP ist seit Samstag online. Auf www.eskp.de präsentieren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus acht Zentren der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und fundiertes Hintergrundwissen zu den Themen „Auswirkungen des Klimawandels“, „Naturgefahren“ und „Ausbreitung von Schadstoffen in der Umwelt“.

 

Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, die Früherkennung und der Schutz vor geologischen Naturgefahren und wetterbedingten Extremereignissen sowie die Verbreitung von Schadstoffen in der Umwelt sind enorme Herausforderungen für unsere Gesellschaft. Diese vielschichtigen Aufgaben erfordern eine interdisziplinäre, zentrenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit, da für die Erstellung eines Lagebildes oftmals sehr unterschiedliche wissenschaftliche Expertisen zusammengeführt werden müssen. Dies gilt auch für langsam fortschreitende Prozesse, die mit dem Klimawandel einhergehen und unterschiedliche Folgeerscheinungen wie zum Beispiel ein verändertes Risiko von Sturmfluten an der Nordsee mit sich bringen könnten. Auch hier können Zusammenhänge und Konsequenzen nur durch die ganzheitliche Betrachtung und die Bündelung von Fachwissen umfassend erklärt werden.

 

ESKP ist ein Informationspool und eine zentrale Anlaufstelle für die Öffentlichkeit. Vorhandenes Wissen der an ESKP beteiligten Helmholtz-Zentren wird für verschiedene Zielgruppen (u. a. Behörden, Politik, Entscheidungsträger, Presse, Bevölkerung) verständlich aufgearbeitet. Das breite Informationsangebot umfasst Texte, Interviews, Echtzeitdaten, Grafiken, Bild- und Filmmaterial. Literaturhinweise auf Fachpublikationen aber auch allgemeinverständliche Broschüren ergänzen das Angebot. Darüber hinaus stehen für zusätzliche Fragen die Fachexperten der Forschungszentren zur Verfügung.

 

Das Projekt wird koordiniert durch das Deutsche GeoForschungsZentrum GFZ und das Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht — Zentrum für Material- und Küstenforschung (HZG). Darüber hinaus beteiligen sich das Alfred-Wegener-Institut — Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung (AWI), das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), das Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ), das GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel, das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und das Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ) an der Helmholtz-Wissensplattform „Erde und Umwelt“.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

um, 12.05.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Dr. Ute Münch
Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum
Telegrafenberg
14473 Potsdam
Tel: 0331-2881079
Mail: ute muenchRtf0∂gfz-potsdam de
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVox2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.