Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKjn0∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 160/2013

State Funds Four “Young Innovators“ of KIT

Ministry of Science Funds Startups of KIT Researchers in the Areas of Quality Management, Surface Imaging, Test Bed Systems, and Image Data Evaluation

The Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts funds four startups of KIT under the “Young Innovators” program: “simQoo” offers a software for quality management along the supply chain. “Mighty Instruments” has developed a technology for computer-supported imaging of surfaces. “OPVengineering” offers solutions for test beds used in automotive development and “da-cons” is specialized in the analysis, visualization, and archiving of image data.

 

Altogether, the state will fund nine new startups of universities and research institutions in Baden-Württemberg under the “Young Innovators” program. The program is intended to encourage scientists to start an own business and to support the transfer of technology and know-how from science to industry. Funding is provided for the development of innovative products and processes in Baden-Württemberg.

 

The following KIT startups are funded:

simQoo: The founders of simQoo have developed a quality management software for enterprises having a widely branched network of suppliers. So far, considerable efforts have been required to directly integrate suppliers into the quality assurance scheme of a manufacturer. Frequently, manufacturers do not have any comprehensive idea of the quality assurance activities of their suppliers. This reduces their capability to react in case of deficient parts. The software offered by simQoo allows for a systematic, enterprise-overlapping exchange and automatic evaluation of quality data along the supply chain and also supports branch-specific process flows. The data are available in a standardized format. Problem reports or complaints are transmitted in real time. In this way, quality problems can be detected and even prevented at an early stage.
http://www.simqoo.com

 

Mighty Instruments: The “Mighty Tiles Pro” software offered by the company is a tool for computer-generated close-to-reality imaging of surfaces, such as floor covers and wall linings. Instead of simple photos of e.g. complete tiled floors or brick walls, “Mighty Tiles Pro” generates floor covers and wall linings with the help of a computer based on single tiles or bricks. The user can determine not only the color, but also other properties, such as reflection, types of edges, roughnesses, flat areas, and aging phenomena. The software allows to rapidly, intuitively, and flexibly design close-to-reality and highly detailed surface images. Hence, the product is suited for the visualization of architectural projects, film productions, video games, and 3D works of art.
http://www.mighty-instruments.de

 

 

OPVengineering: Development of drive trains for cars is characterized by shorter development cycles and increasing electrification. OPVengineering – the abbreviation stands for open product validation – develops solutions for highly dynamic test beds. The number of vehicle prototypes is reduced and the development process thus becomes shorter and more cost-efficient. The product portfolio focuses on models for the real-time simulation of drive train components, such as combustion engines and electric drive trains. In this way, virtual vehicles are set up. By integration into test bed automation, prototypes of drive train components can be analyzed and tested closer to reality than ever before.
http://opvengineering.de

 

 

da-cons: The company is specialized in services for the analysis, visualization, and archiving of image data. Modern microscopes used in biotechnology, for instance, visualize fascinating details. High-resolution imaging of 3D objects, such as cells or organs, or of dynamic processes, such as movements and developments in space, gives rise to gigantic amounts of data. The da-cons system (dcs) allows for an efficient and individual evaluation of raw data, including the recognition and measurement of sizes, volumes, shapes, and distances. Quality of research can be improved, for instance, when diseases are studied or drugs or cosmetics are developed. In cooperation with specialists in biotechnology and data acquisition, da-cons develops complete solutions for sample uptake, processing, analysis, and visualization in the form of photos and videos.
http://www.da-cons.de

 

 

Under the “Young Innovators” program, the state of Baden-Württemberg has been supporting young entrepreneurs of universities and research institutions since 1995. Funds are provided for establishing the enterprise: The young entrepreneurs are granted financial support for making their living and coaching. Moreover, they are free to use the infrastructure facilities of their university or research institution. Funding focuses on promising areas, such as optoelectronics, biotechnology, medical technology, solar technology, automation technology, and mechatronics. So far, more than 200 young startups of scientists have been supported under the program.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, 06.12.2013

Press contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneTne4∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 160/2013

Land fördert vier „Junge Innovatoren“ aus dem KIT

Wissenschaftsministerium unterstützt Gründungsvorhaben von KIT-Forschern - Themen: Qualitätsmanagement, Oberflächenabbildungen, Prüfstandssysteme, Auswertung von Bilddaten

Das baden-württembergische Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst fördert im Programm „Junge Innovatoren“ vier neue Existenzgründungsvorhaben aus dem KIT: „simQoo“ bietet eine Software zum Qualitätsmanagement entlang der Lieferkette. „Mighty Instruments“ hat eine Technik zur computergestützten Abbildung von Oberflächen entwickelt. „OPVengineering“ bietet Lösungen für Prüfstandssysteme in der Automobilentwicklung. „da-cons“ ist spezialisiert auf Analyse, Visualisierung und Archivierung von Bilddaten.

 

Insgesamt fördert das Land im Rahmen der Ausschreibung 2013 des Programms „Junge Innovatoren“ neun neue Existenzgründungsvorhaben aus baden-württembergischen Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen. Das Programm soll Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler ermutigen, den Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit zu wagen, und zugleich den Transfer von Technologie und Know-how von der Wissenschaft in die Wirtschaft fördern. Voraussetzung für die Unterstützung ist, dass es um die Entwicklung innovativer Produkte und Verfahren in Baden-Württemberg geht.

 

Die neu aufgenommen Vorhaben aus dem KIT:

simQoo: Die Gründer haben eine Qualitätsmanagement-Software für Unternehmen mit einem weit verzweigten Netz von Lieferanten entwickelt. Bis jetzt ist es enorm aufwendig, Lieferanten direkt in die Qualitätssicherung eines Herstellers mit einzubinden. Hersteller haben daher häufig keinen umfassenden Überblick über die entsprechenden Aktivitäten ihrer Lieferanten. Dies behindert ihre Reaktionsfähigkeit im Fall von defekten Zulieferteilen. Mit seiner Software ermöglicht simQoo einen systematischen unternehmensübergreifenden Austausch und eine automatisierte Auswertung der Qualitätsdaten entlang der Lieferkette und unterstützt zugleich die branchenspezifischen Prozessabläufe. Die Daten liegen in einem einheitlichen Format vor; Fehlermeldungen oder Beschwerden werden in Echtzeit weitergegeben. So lassen sich drohende Qualitätsprobleme frühzeitig erkennen und verhindern.
http://www.simqoo.com

 

Mighty Instruments: Mit ihrer Software „Mighty Tiles Pro“ bietet die Firma ein Werkzeug für die computergenerierte wirklichkeitsnahe Abbildung von Oberflächen, beispielsweise von Bodenbelägen und Wandverkleidungen. Statt wie bisher üblich einfache Fotos, etwa von kompletten Fliesenböden oder Ziegelwänden, zu verwenden, erzeugt „Mighty Tiles Pro“ Bodenbeläge und Wandverkleidungen computergestützt auf der Basis einzelner Tiles, etwa Fliesen oder Ziegel. Dabei kann der Benutzer nicht nur die Farbe, sondern auch weitere Eigenschaften wie Reflexion, Kantenvariationen, Unebenheiten, Abflachungen und Alterungserscheinungen individuell bestimmen. Die Software ermöglicht, realitätsnahe und detailreiche Oberflächenabbildungen schnell, intuitiv und flexibel zu gestalten. Daher eignet sich das Produkt zur Visualisierung von Architekturprojekten, für Filmproduktionen, Videospiele und 3D-Kunstwerke.
http://www.mighty-instruments.de

 

 

OPVengineering: Die Entwicklung von Antriebssystemen für Automobile ist gekennzeichnet durch immer kürzer werdende Entwicklungszyklen und zunehmende Elektrifizierung. OPVengineering – die Abkürzung steht für „open product validation“ – entwickelt Lösungen für hochdynamische Prüfstandssysteme, welche die Zahl der aufwendigen Prototypen für Gesamtfahrzeuge senken und den Entwicklungsprozess damit kürzer und kosteneffizienter machen. Im Zentrum des Produktportfolios stehen Modelle zur Echtzeitsimulation von Antriebskomponenten wie Verbrennungsmotoren und elektrische Antriebe, die den Aufbau virtueller Gesamtfahrzeuge ermöglichen. Durch die Integration in die Prüfstandautomatisierung lassen sich einzelne Antriebselement-Prototypen realitätsnäher als bisher analysieren und testen.
http://opvengineering.de

 

 

da-cons: Das Unternehmen ist spezialisiert auf den Service für Analyse, Visualisierung und Archivierung von Bilddaten. Moderne Mikroskope, wie sie beispielsweise in der Biotechnologie eingesetzt werden, machen faszinierende Details sichtbar. Bei der hochaufgelösten Aufnahme von 3D-Objekten wie Zellen oder Organen oder von dynamischen Prozessen wie Bewegungen und Entwicklungen im Raum entstehen enorme Datenmengen. Das da-cons-System (dcs) ermöglicht eine effiziente und individuelle Auswertung der Rohdaten, die unter anderem das Erkennen und Vermessen von Größen, Volumen, Formen und Abständen umfasst. Dadurch lässt sich die Qualität der Untersuchungen verbessern, etwa bei der Erforschung von Krankheiten oder der Entwicklung von Arzneimitteln oder Kosmetika. In Kooperation mit Spezialisten aus Biotechnologie und Datenakquisition entwickelt da-cons Komplettlösungen zur Probenaufnahme, Aufbereitung, Analyse und Visualisierung in Form von Fotos und Videos.
http://www.da-cons.de

 

 

Mit dem Programm „Junge Innovatoren“ unterstützt das Land Baden-Württemberg seit 1995 Existenzgründerinnen und Existenzgründer aus Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen. Gefördert wird die gezielte Vorbereitung auf die Gründung: Die Gründerinnen und Gründer erhalten eine finanzielle Unterstützung, um ihren Lebensunterhalt zu sichern, sowie ein begleitendes Coaching. Zudem können sie die Infrastruktur ihrer Hochschule oder Forschungseinrichtung nutzen. Im Fokus der Förderung stehen vor allem zukunftsträchtige Felder wie Optoelektronik, Biotechnologie, Medizintechnik, Solartechnik, Automatisierungstechnik und Mechatronik. Bis jetzt hat das Programm mehr als 200 Unternehmensgründungen aus dem wissenschaftlichen Bereich zu einem guten Start verholfen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 06.12.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneTan8∂kit edu