Press Release 151/2013

Karlsruhe’s East End on the Way to Sustainability

Sustainable Urban Development: KIT Scientists and the City Community Jointly Implement Ideas and Innovations – “RepairCafé” as a Kickoff EventSustainable Urban Development: KIT Scientists and the City Community Jointly Implement Ideas and Innovations – “R
2013_151_Quartier_Zukunft_-_Start_in_der_Karlsruher_Oststadt_72_dpi
Public participation is one of the focal points of the project now launched in the Karlsruhe East End. (Photo: Alexandra Quint, KIT)

Advancing an existing urban quarter in social, ecological, economic and cultural terms in an effort to achieve sustainability is the key objective of the “Sustainable Quarter – Urban Lab” project of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) currently launched in the Karlsruhe East End. Together with the public, the city administration, politics, industry, the cultural scene and other community players, scientists try a number of projects testing old and new ideas and societal and technical innovations. The series of kick-off events begin with a “RepairCafé” on Saturday, November 30, 2013, between 4 and 8 p.m.; this is to be followed by a community meeting in the spring of 2014.

 

The “RepairCafé” idea is to help conserve resources instead of throwing away objects still fit for use. The Project Team of the “Sustainable Quarter,” together with its partners, help interested persons to repair damaged household objects, such as small furniture items, bicycles or radios, or to get advice in doing the job. Offerings and projects like these are the subject of the “Sustainable Quarter” urban development project of the KIT Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS).

 

“The decisive feature of the Sustainable Quarter project is the active participation of the public in this eastern part of the city,” says Project Leader Dr. Oliver Parodi of ITAS. “Sustainability affects everybody and, ultimately, can succeed only in a common effort. As members of the public, as a group, a club, a company or an association: We are happy to welcome everybody willing to contribute to a sustainable development of the city’s East End and seeking contact with us.” The objective was to generate impulses in order to advance the East End in a long-term, careful process on the road to sustainability. This was to include the design of structures which would continue this development even after the official end of the project term.

 

“The Karlsruhe East End offers ideal preconditions for this project: This urban district enjoys a great variety in socio-cultural, functional and architectural respects, traditional close links among the players on the spot, openmindedness of the population, and proximity to the KIT, all of which constitutes an excellent breeding ground for new, sustainable urban development,” explains Parodi. This was a prerequisite for the Sustainable Quarter project to act as a model not only to other Karlsruhe districts, but also to other, especially European, cities. The project area was chosen on the basis of a thorough scientific analysis.

 

The Sustainable Quarter project is also associated with the wish to bring science closer to the people – and vice versa. In early 2014, the Project Team will inform about the Sustainable Quarter project at a community meeting. Members of the public then will have the opportunity to ask questions and inject their ideas and activities. 2014 also will be the year to start the first projects in the East End of the city. These could be activities in climate protection, recycle economy, health, education, energy supply, and projects, such as autonomous living for aged community members, neighborhood kitchens, a biomarket and regional market operated in the evenings for the working population, a science shop, fast lanes for bikers, multi-generation houses, sidewalks and road pavements equipped with sensors, a center for subsequent use of empty flats, street libraries. Specific projects could also be located in regions adjacent to the East End.

 

Information to the Population

In the past few months, some preliminary talks have been arranged with local players from industry, society, culture, and sports. Others will follow. On Tuesday, November 26, 2013, the approximately 7000 East End households received an information letter explaining the project and presenting the kickoff events in the winter of 2013 and the spring of 2014. Exchanges among the Project Team and the public in the Karlsruhe East End are in the focus of all these events.

 

Kickoff Events Launching the “Sustainable Quarter” Project


RepairCafé

Saturday, November 30, 2013, 4 – 8 p.m.
Kinder- und Jugendhaus (Rintheimerstr. 47, 76131 Karlsruhe)

This is an active contribution to resource conservation and against throwing away objects still fit for use: At the RepairCafé, participants can repair damaged household objects, such as small furniture items, bicycles and radios, or get advice on how to do the job. The team responsible for the Sustainable Quarter supports through these projects: FabLab Karlsruhe, Transition Town Karlsruhe – Karlsruhe im Wandel, KonsumGlobal Karlsruhe, Gemeinwohl Ökonomie Karlsruhe, and many other groupings committed to these endeavors.

 

 

Detailed information is available under
http://quartierzukunft.de/erstes-reparaturcafe-in-karlsruhe-reparieren-statt-kaufen/

 

Sustainable Quarter on Its Way!
Wednesday, December 18, 2013, 12 noon – 6 p.m.
Streets and squares in the East End, including the Tulla-Schule, Karl-Wilhelm-Platz, the site of the old slaughterhouse (Alter Schlachthof)

The Sustainable Quarter van can be found in the streets and squares of the Karlsruhe East End: The Sustainable Quarter Team, over a cup of coffee or tea, invite people to exchange ideas about the sustainable development of the Karlsruhe East End. We can be found at the Tulla-Schule, the Karl-Wilhelm-Platz, and on the premises of the old slaughterhouse (Alter Schlachthof), among other places.

 

Community Meeting: East End Perspective – Designing the Sustainable Quarter
Sunday, February 9, 2014 I 12 noon – 7 p.m.
The venue will be announced in time.


This is where dialog comes in: The Sustainable Quarter Team present the project and are available for questions, criticism, and suggestions. There will be workshops for members of the public to introduce their ideas about sustainable urban life. Possible schemes for cooperation will be explored in an Offered-Wanted type of market. A cultural program will accompany the kickoff workshop.

 

Discussions: What Type of Mobility Do We Want for the Future East End?
Thursday, March 20, 2014, 6 – 8 p.m.
alina café, Alter Schlachthof 39, 76131 Karlsruhe

Entertaining round for exchanging perspectives and visions, from scientific to personal to future urban mobility, among invited participants and committed persons from the region.

 

Other Events to Follow.

 

Contact for Questions:
Alexandra Quint, Quartier Zukunft, Strategie, Kommunikation und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Telefon: +49 721 608-24644, E-Mail:alexandra quint does-not-exist.kit edu

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 27.11.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGqf0∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 151/2013

„Quartier Zukunft“: Start in der Karlsruher Oststadt

Nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung: KIT-Wissenschaftler und Stadtgesellschaft setzen gemeinsam Ideen und Innovationen um – Veranstaltungsreihe startet mit „ReparaturCafé“
Das Einbeziehen von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern steht im Mittelpunkt des Quartier Zukunft, das nun in der Karlsruher Oststadt startet (Foto: Alexandra Quint, KIT)
Das Einbeziehen von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern steht im Mittelpunkt des Quartier Zukunft, das nun in der Karlsruher Oststadt startet (Foto: Alexandra Quint, KIT)

Ein bestehendes Stadtquartier sozial, ökologisch, ökonomisch und kulturell Richtung Nachhaltigkeit weiterentwickeln: Das ist das zentrale Ziel im Projekt „Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt“ des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), das nun in der Karlsruher Oststadt startet. Gemeinsam mit Bevölkerung, Stadtverwaltung, Politik, Wirtschaft, Kulturschaffenden und weiteren Akteuren der Stadtgesellschaft probieren die Wissenschaftler in verschiedenen Projekten alte und neue Ideen sowie gesellschaftliche und technische Innovationen aus. Die Reihe der Auftaktveranstaltungen startet mit einem ReparaturCafé am Samstag, 30. November 2013, von 16 bis 20 Uhr. Im Frühjahr 2014 folgt eine Bürgerversammlung.

 

Die Idee des „ReparaturCafés“ ist es, dazu beizutragen, Ressourcen zu schonen, statt noch gebrauchsfähige Gegenstände wegzuwerfen. Das Projektteam des „Quartiers Zukunft“ unterstützt gemeinsam mit seinen Partnern Interessierte dabei beschädigte Haushaltsgegenstände wie Kleinmöbel, Fahrräder oder Radios selbst zu reparieren oder sich beraten zu lassen. Um Angebote und Projekte wie dieses geht es beim Stadtentwicklungsprojekt „Quartier Zukunft“ des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) am KIT.

 

„Entscheidend für das Quartier Zukunft ist das aktive Einbeziehen der Oststädterinnen und Oststädter“, sagt Projektleiter Dr. Oliver Parodi vom ITAS. „Nachhaltigkeit geht alle etwas an und kann letztlich nur gemeinsam gelingen. Ob als Bürger, Gruppe, Verein, Firma oder Verband: Wir freuen und über alle, die zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung der Oststadt beitragen möchten und auf uns zukommen.“ Ziel sei es, Impulse zu setzen, um die Oststadt in einem langfristig angelegten, behutsamen Prozess weiter Richtung Nachhaltigkeit zu entwickeln. Dabei sollen Strukturen aufgebaut werden, die diese Entwicklung auch nach der offiziellen Projektlaufzeit weitertragen.

 

„Die Karlsruher Oststadt bietet ideale Voraussetzungen dafür: Die Vielfalt des Stadtgebietes in sozio-kultureller, funktionaler und städtebaulicher Hinsicht, die enge und seit vielen Jahren bestehende Vernetzung zwischen den Akteuren vor Ort, die Offenheit der Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner und die Nähe zum KIT bieten einen sehr guten Nährboden für eine neue, nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung“, so Parodi. Dies sei Voraussetzung dafür, dass das Quartier Zukunft nicht nur als Vorbild für andere Karlsruher Stadtteile, sondern auch für andere, insbesondere europäische Städte entwickelt werden könne. Das Projektgebiet wurde auf Basis einer intensiven wissenschaftlichen Analyse ausgewählt.

 

Mit dem Quartier Zukunft verbunden ist auch das Anliegen, Wissenschaft näher an die Bürgerinnen und Bürger zu bringen – und umgekehrt. Anfang 2014 wird das Projektteam in einer Bürgerversammlung über das Quartier Zukunft informieren. Bürgerinnen und Bürger können Fragen stellen und ihre Ideen und Aktivitäten einbringen. 2014 sollen dann auch die ersten Projekte in der Oststadt beginnen: Möglich sind Aktivitäten zu Klimaschutz, Kreislaufwirtschaft, Gesundheit, Bildung, Energieversorgung und Vorhaben wie selbstbestimmtes Wohnen im Alter, Nachbarschaftsküchen, ein Bio- und Regio-Abendmarkt für Berufstätige, ein Wissenschaftsladen, Fahrradschnellstraßen, Mehrgenerationenwohnen, sensorische Gehwege und Fahrbahnbeläge, eine Nachnutzungszentrale für Leerstand und Straßenbibliotheken. Einzelne Projekte können auch in an die Oststadt angrenzenden Gebieten verortet sein.

 

Informationen für Bürgerinnen und Bürger

In den vergangenen Monaten fanden bereits erste Gespräche mit lokalen Akteuren der Oststadt aus Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft, Kultur und Sport statt. Weitere werden folgen. Am gestrigen Dienstag, 26. November 2013, erhielten die rund 7.000 Haushalte der Oststadt einen Informationsbrief, der das Vorhaben erläutert und die Auftaktveranstaltungsreihe im Winter 2013 und Frühjahr 2014 vorstellt: Der Austausch zwischen dem Projektteam und den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern der Karlsruher Oststadt steht dabei bei allen Veranstaltungen im Vordergrund.

 

Auftaktveranstaltungsreihe zum „Quartier Zukunft“


ReparaturCafé

Samstag, 30. November 2013, 16 bis 20 Uhr
Kinder- und Jugendhaus (Rintheimer Str. 47, 76131 Karlsruhe)

Einen aktiven Beitrag zur Ressourcenschonung und gegen das Wegwerfen gebrauchsfähiger Gegenstände leisten: Im ReparaturCafé können Bürgerinnen und Bürger beschädigte Haushaltsgegenstände wie Kleinmöbel, Fahrräder und Radios selbst reparieren oder sich dabei beraten lassen. Das Quartier-Zukunft-Team unterstützt dabei mit FabLab Karlsruhe, Transition Town Karlsruhe – Karlsruhe im Wandel, KonsumGlobal Karlsruhe, Gemeinwohl Ökonomie Karlsruhe und vielen anderen Engagierten.


Ausführliche Informationen unter:

http://quartierzukunft.de/erstes-reparaturcafe-in-karlsruhe-reparieren-statt-kaufen/

 

Quartier Zukunft unterwegs!
Mittwoch, 18. Dezember 2013, 12 bis 18 Uhr
Straßen und Plätze der Oststadt, u. a. Tulla-Schule, Karl-Wilhelm-Platz, Gelände des Alten Schlachthofs


Das Quartier-Zukunft-Mobil in den Straßen und auf den Plätzen der Oststadt entdecken: Das Quartier Zukunft Team lädt bei Kaffee und Tee zum Austausch über die nachhaltige Entwicklung der Oststadt ein. Sie finden uns u. a. an der Tulla-Schule, dem Karl-Wilhelm-Platz und auf dem Gelände des Alten Schlachthofs.

 

Bürgerversammlung: Perspektive Oststadt – Quartier Zukunft gestalten
Sonntag, 09. Februar 2014 | 12 bis 19 Uhr
Der Veranstaltungsort wird rechtzeitig bekannt gegeben.


Hier geht es um den Dialog: Das Quartier-Zukunft-Team stellt das Vorhaben vor und steht für Fragen, Kritik und Anregungen bereit. In Workshops können Bürgerinnen und Bürger ihre Ideen für ein nachhaltiges Stadtleben einbringen. In einem Biete-Suche-Markt werden mögliche Kooperationen ausgelotet. Ein kulturelles Programm begleitet die Auftaktwerkstatt.

 

Staffelgespräch: Welche Mobilität wollen wir für die Oststadt der Zukunft?
Donnerstag, 20. März 2014, 18 bis 20 Uhr
alina café, Alter Schlachthof 39, 76131 Karlsruhe

Unterhaltsame Runde zum Austausch von Perspektiven und Visionen: von wissenschaftlich bis persönlich über zukünftige urbane Mobilität mit Eingeladenen und Engagierten aus der Region.

 

Weitere Veranstaltungen folgen.

 

Kontakt für Fragen:
Alexandra Quint, Quartier Zukunft, Strategie, Kommunikation und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Telefon: +49 721 608-24644, E-Mail: alexandra quintQys7∂kit edu

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 27.11.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneZmc3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseNjr0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.