Press Release 150/2013

Research-oriented Teaching: Expert Conference at KIT

International Conference Focuses on Knowledge and Learning Cultures at Universities / Online Study on Research-based Education at KIT
2013_150_Forschungsorientiert_Lehren_Fachkonferenz_am_KIT72dpi(1)
Research-oriented teaching: Students conduct experiments at the laboratory. (Photo: Martin Lober, KIT)

Illustrating the importance of study contents, enthusing students for research, and familiarizing them with research contexts – these are the reasons given in favor of research-oriented teaching at KIT. This is the result of an online survey of teachers and lecturers at KIT organized by the Chair for Teaching and Learning Research. Education strategies in the national and international context and their relevance to universities will also be covered by the international conference “Epistemic and Learning Cultures at the Universities of the 21st Century” that will take place at KIT on December 5 and 6, 2013. Representatives of the media are cordially invited.

 

What does research-oriented teaching mean, how do teachers assess certain measures, and how can these be integrated into the university life? Compiling first data and identifying general tendencies were the objectives of an online survey organized by the Chair for Teaching and Learning Research, in which 265 teachers and lecturers of KIT took part. The study is embedded in the project “KIT - LehreForschung” (KIT – Research-based Education) that is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research under the Program for More Quality in Teaching. Research-based does not only refer to laboratory experiments and scientific project work, but also to lectures covering current research issues or independent work on research relationships for presentations.

 

About three quarters of the persons asked answered that references to research illustrate the significance of education contents to the students. For more than 65%, research-based education is suited for enthusing students for scientific issues and imparting detailed contexts to them. About 60% of the persons asked are in favor of integrating research components into lectures, such that students can better understand the contents and are better motivated.

 

Still, the answers given with respect to the use of research-oriented elements in education varied considerably. One reason is due to the nature of the disciplines, says Ines Rohrdantz-Herrmann from the Chair for Teaching and Learning Research of the KIT Institute of Vocational Education and Training and General Pedagogics. Together with Professor Ines Langemeyer, who is now teaching at Tübingen University, she organized the online survey. Students of chemistry and biosciences, for instance, independently conduct laboratory experiments and field tests. In social sciences, field studies and surveys are the rule. Mathematics, by contrast, is based on observable or measurable facts to a limited extent only. Hence, practical experiments often are impossible and research issues mostly are even more theoretical than the teaching contents. “This also shows that good education does not necessarily have to be strongly research-oriented,” says the vocational education expert.

 

Education strategies in the national and international contexts and their relevance to university as a place of knowledge transfer will be discussed by experts in pedagogics, sociology, psychology, university didactics, and quality management at the conference “Epistemic and Learning Cultures at the University of the 21st Century”. The conference will be held in the English language.

 

Selected program items:

 

Thursday, December 5

 

13.45 hrs: Anthropology of practice-oriented learning
Prof. Cathrine Hasse (University of Aarhus in Copenhagen)

 

14.45 hrs: Learning cultures under conditions of Big Science

Prof. Michaela Pfadenhauer (KIT)

 

 

Friday, December 6

8.30 hrs: Keynote: Epistemic and knowledge cultures

Prof. Karin Knorr Cetina (University of Chicago)

 

14.30 hrs: Job-oriented university courses for educating vocational teachers:

Academic discipline versus vocational science

Prof. Martin Fischer (KIT)

 

15.00 hrs: The scientification of work as a challenge to university education
Prof. Ines Langemeyer (Universität Tübingen)

 

 

For the complete program, click
http://lehr-lernforschung.org/?page_id=227

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lcp, 26.11.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Lilith C. Paul, Volontärin
Tel.: +49 721 608-42897
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:l c paul does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 150/2013

Forschungsorientiert Lehren: Fachkonferenz am KIT

Wissens- und Lernkulturen an Universitäten sind Themen einer internationalen Tagung / Online-Studie zur forschungsnahen Lehre am KIT
Forschungsorientierte Lehre: Studentinnen und Studenten experimentieren im Labor. (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)
Forschungsorientierte Lehre: Studentinnen und Studenten experimentieren im Labor. (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)

Den Stellenwert von Studieninhalten verdeutlichen, Studierende für Forschungsfragen begeistern und sie mit Forschungskontexten vertraut machen – so lauten die meistgenannten Gründe für forschungsorientierte Lehre am KIT. Dies ergab eine Online-Befragung des Lehrstuhls für Lehr- und Lernforschung unter Dozentinnen und Dozenten des KIT. Bildungsstrategien im nationalen und internationalen Kontext sowie deren Bedeutung für Universitäten sind am 5. und 6. Dezember 2013 auch Themen der internationalen Fachkonferenz „Epistemic and Learning Cultures at the University of the 21st Century“ am KIT. 

 

Was bedeutet forschungsorientiert Lehren, wie bewerten Lehrende einzelne Maßnahmen und wie lassen sich diese in den Hochschulalltag integrieren? Hierzu erste Daten zu erfassen und allgemeine Tendenzen aufzuzeigen, war Ziel der Online-Befragung des Lehrstuhls für Lehr- und Lernforschung, an der sich 265 Dozentinnen und Dozenten des KIT beteiligten. Die Studie ist Teil des Projekts „KIT – Lehre hoch Forschung“, welches das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Qualitätspakt Lehre fördert. Als „forschungsorientiert“ galten dabei nicht nur Laborexperimente oder wissenschaftliche Projektarbeiten, sondern beispielsweise auch Vorlesungen, die aktuelle Forschungthemen aufgreifen, oder das selbstständige Erarbeiten von Forschungszusammenhängen für Referate.

 

Knapp drei Viertel der Befragten gaben an, dass Forschungsbezüge den Studierenden die Bedeutung von Lehrinhalten verdeutlichten. Für mehr als 65 Prozent eignet sich forschungsnahe Lehre dazu, Studierende für wissenschaftliche Fragen zu begeistern und ihnen tieferliegende Zusammenhänge zu vermitteln. Rund 60 Prozent sprechen sich dafür aus, Forschungskomponenten in Vorlesungen einzubauen, damit Studierende die Inhalte leichter verstehen und motivierter mitarbeiten.

 

Trotz dieser Übereinstimmungen fielen die Angaben zum tatsächlichen Einsatz forschungsorientierter Elemente in der Lehre sehr unterschiedlich aus. Dies liege zum Teil in der Natur der Disziplinen begründet, sagt Ines Rohrdantz-Herrmann vom Lehrstuhl für Lehr- und Lernforschung des Instituts für Berufspädagogik und Allgemeine Pädagogik am KIT. Gemeinsam mit Professorin Ines Langemeyer, die mittlerweile an der Universität Tübingen lehrt, hat sie die Online-Studie erstellt. So führten beispielsweise Studierende in den Chemie- und Biowissenschaften selbstständig Laborexperimente und Feldversuche durch, in den Sozialwissenschaften seien Feldstudien und Umfragen die Regel. Die Mathematik hingegen beruhe nur in eingeschränktem Maß auf beobachtbaren oder messbaren Tatsachen. Praktische Versuche seien daher in vielen Fällen nicht möglich und Forschungsfragen meist noch theoretischer als die Lehrinhalte. „Damit wird auch deutlich, dass gute Lehre nicht zwangsläufig stark forschungsorientiert ausgerichtet sein muss“, so die Berufspädagogin.

 

Über Bildungsstrategien im nationalen und internationalen Kontext sowie deren Bedeutung für die Universität als Ort zukunftsfähiger Wissensvermittlung diskutieren auf der Tagung „Epistemic and Learning Cultures at the University of the 21st Century“ Experten aus Erziehungswissenschaft, Soziologie, Psychologie, Hochschuldidaktik und Qualitätsmanagement. Die Konferenz findet in englischer Sprache statt.

 

Ausgewählte Programmpunkte sind:

 

Donnerstag, den 5. Dezember

13.45 Uhr: Anthropology of practice-oriented learning
Prof. Cathrine Hasse (University of Aarhus in Copenhagen)

14.45 Uhr: Learning cultures under conditions of Big Science
Prof. Michaela Pfadenhauer (KIT)

 

Freitag, den 6. Dezember

8.30 Uhr: Keynote: Epistemic and knowledge cultures
Prof. Karin Knorr Cetina (University of Chicago)

14.30 Uhr: Job-oriented university courses for educating vocational teachers: Academic discipline versus vocational science
Prof. Martin Fischer (KIT)

15.00 Uhr: The scientification of work as a challenge to university education
Prof. Ines Langemeyer (Universtität Tübingen)

 

Link zum vollständigen Programm
http://lehr-lernforschung.org/?page_id=227

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

lcp, 26.11.2013
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseCdz3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Lilith C. Paul, Volontärin
Tel.: +49 721 608-42897
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:l c paulWtt7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseVzj2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.