Press Release 133/2013

Senate Confirms Detlef Löhe as KIT Vice President

The Professor for Materials Science Is Responsible for Research and Information
2013_133_Detlef_Loehe_als_KIT-Vizepraesident_im_Senat_bestaetigt_72dpi
Professor Detlef Löhe. (Photo: Martin Lober, KIT)

Professor Detlef Löhe will remain Vice President of KIT for Research and Information. During yesterday’s meeting, the KIT Senate confirmed the vote of the Supervisory Board. Löhe has been holding this office since the foundation of KIT in 2009. As one of the leading authors of the Institutional Strategy of the former Universität Karlsruhe in 2006, he was actively involved in the merger with the then Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe into KIT from the very beginning. Confirmation of the vote of the Supervisory Board by the Senate will now be followed by contract negotiations and the appointment procedure.

 

Chairperson of the KIT Supervisory Board Professor Renate Schubert appreciated the reelection of Detlef Löhe: “I am very pleased that Mr. Löhe will continue to work for KIT with his high commitment and creativity. As a member of the founding board, he also represents continuity in the Presidential Committee of KIT.”

 

“In the past, Mr. Löhe always stood up for the growing together of KIT. He developed and successfully established excellent instruments in particular for the promotion of young scientists,” emphasized the President of KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka. “That is why I am very pleased about the decision of the Supervisory Board and the Senate. It is one of our objectives to increase the research reputation of KIT on both the national and the international level. With Mr. Löhe, we are well set for this purpose.”

 

“I thank the KIT bodies for the confidence they have placed in me. As KIT Vice President, I will focus on KIT’s role in coordinated research projects on the German and the European level in the future and I plan to specifically use these research funding instruments for KIT. It will be my special concern to extensively promote young scientists and to provide them with clear perspectives in science,” Löhe said.

 

The envisaged term of office of the Vice President for Research and Information is six years from the date of his appointment.

 

The Presidential Committee of KIT now consists of the following members: Professor Holger Hanselka (President), Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt (Vice President for Human Resources and Law), Dr. Ulrich Breuer (Vice President for Business Affairs and Finance), Professor Detlef Löhe (Vice President for Research and Information), and Professor Alexander Wanner (Vice President for Higher Education and Academic Affairs). Another Vice President as envisaged by the KIT Act will be appointed later after a new definition of the scope of responsibilities.

 

About Detlef Löhe:

Detlef Löhe was born in 1949 and studied mechanical engineering at the then Universität Karlsruhe (TH). As a scientist, he was conferred his Ph. D. in 1980 at the Institute for Materials Science I
(IWK I) of Universität Karlsruhe. After heading a research group and a project that was part of a collaborative research center at IWK I, Löhe was appointed professor for materials science by Universität Paderborn in 1991. In 1994, he returned to Karlsruhe as Professor and Head of the Institute for Materials Science I. From 1998 to 2000, Löhe was Dean of the Department of Mechanical Engineering and from 2003 to 2006, he was the spokesperson of a collaborative research center. In 2005, Löhe became Vice-Rector for Research. Since the foundation of KIT in 2009, he has been Vice President of KIT. Löhe is member of several committees and associations, among others of the Nominations Committee of the German Research Foundation (DFG) for the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Program, the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde (German Materials Science Society), and the American Society for Materials. Löhe is Deputy Chairman of the Scientific Commission of the Einstein Foundation, Berlin.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 22.10.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 133/2013

Detlef Löhe als KIT-Vizepräsident im Senat bestätigt

Der Professor für Werkstoffkunde ist für Forschung und Information zuständig
Prof. Detlef Löhe (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)
Prof. Detlef Löhe (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)

Professor Detlef Löhe ist weiterhin Vizepräsident des KIT für Forschung und Information. Der KIT-Senat hat in seiner gestrigen Sitzung das Votum des Aufsichtsrates bestätigt. Löhe hat dieses Amt seit der Gründung des KIT im Jahr 2009 inne. Als einer der maßgeblichen Autoren des Zukunftskonzeptes der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe im Jahr 2006 hat er die Fusion mit dem damaligen Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe zum KIT von Anfang an mitgestaltet. Nach der Bestätigung der Wahl des Aufsichtsrats durch den Senat folgen nun Vertragsverhandlungen und anschließend das Ernennungsverfahren.

 

Die KIT-Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende Professorin Renate Schubert begrüßte die Wiederwahl von Detlef Löhe: „Es freut mich, dass Herr Löhe dem KIT weiterhin mit seinem großen Engagement und seiner Kreativität zur Verfügung steht. Er repräsentiert als Mitglied des Gründungspräsidiums auch ein Stück Kontinuität für das KIT-Präsidium.“

 

„Herr Löhe hat sich in der Vergangenheit sehr für das Zusammenwachsen des KIT eingesetzt und hervorragende Instrumente, vor allem im Bereich der Nachwuchsförderung, entwickelt und erfolgreich etabliert“, sagt der Präsident des KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka. „Daher freue ich mich sehr über die Entscheidung des Aufsichtsrates und des Senats. Eines unserer Ziele ist, die Forschungsreputation des KIT national und international zu steigern. Hierfür sind wir mit Herrn Löhe hervorragend aufgestellt.“

 

„Für das Vertrauen der KIT-Gremien bedanke ich mich sehr. In meiner Arbeit als Vizepräsident des KIT werde ich vor allem das Engagement des KIT in koordinierten Forschungsprojekten auf deutscher und europäischer Ebene in den Fokus rücken, um diese Instrumente der Forschungsförderung gezielt für das KIT zu nutzen. Mein besonderes Anliegen ist es, den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs umfassend zu fördern und den jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern klare Perspektiven in der Wissenschaft aufzuzeigen“, betont Löhe.

 

Die vorgesehene Amtsdauer des Vizepräsidenten für Forschung und Information beträgt sechs Jahre ab dem Zeitpunkt seiner Ernennung.

 

Das Präsidium des KIT setzt sich wie folgt zusammen: Professor Holger Hanselka (Präsident), Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt (Vizepräsidentin für Personal einschließlich Recht), Dr. Ulrich Breuer (Vizepräsident für Wirtschaft und Finanzen), Professor Detlef Löhe (Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information) sowie Professor Alexander Wanner (Vizepräsident Lehre und akademische Angelegenheiten). Eine im KIT-Gesetz vorgesehene weitere Position eines/r Vizepräsidenten-/in wird aufgrund einer Neudefinition des Aufgabenbereiches erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt besetzt.

 

Detlef Löhe – zur Person:

Detlef Löhe, Jahrgang 1949, studierte Maschinenbau an der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe (TH). Als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter promovierte er 1980 am Institut für Werkstoffkunde I (IWK I), ebenfalls an der Universität Karlsruhe. Nach weiteren Jahren am IWK I als Leiter einer Arbeitsgruppe sowie als Projektbereichsleiter eines Sonderforschungsbereichs folgte Löhe 1991 einem Ruf als Professor für Werkstoffwissenschaften an der Universität Paderborn. 1994 kam er als Professor und Leiter des Instituts für Werkstoffkunde I zurück an seine Alma Mater. In den Jahren 1998 bis 2000 war Löhe Dekan der Fakultät Maschinenbau und 2003 bis 2006 Sprecher eines Sonderforschungsbereiches. 2005 wurde Löhe Prorektor für Forschung; seit der KIT-Gründung im Jahr 2009 ist er Vizepräsident des KIT. Löhe ist Mitglied in zahlreichen Ausschüssen und Verbänden, unter anderem im Nominierungsausschuss der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) für den Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Preis, der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Materialkunde, der American Society for Materials. Löhe ist stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Wissenschaftlichen Kommission der Einstein-Stiftung Berlin.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

lg, 22.10.2013
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKbh6∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseSdg8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.