Press Release 126/2013

ZeitzeicheN Sustainability Award for “District Future“

KIT Project Focuses on Sustainable Urban Development – Close Exchange among the Population, Politics, Science, and Industry
2013_126_Nachhaltigkeitspreis_ZeitzeicheN_fuer_Quartier_Zukunft_72dpi
Sustainable urban development – “District Future“ asks citizens for their ideas. (Photo: ITAS)

The “District Future – Urban Lab” project of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) was granted the 2013 ZeitzeicheN German Local Sustainability Award in the category of “Ideas”. Yesterday evening, the Germany-wide Network 21 Congress handed over the award to the scientists of the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) at the Neues Schloss, Stuttgart. Together with the population, politics, industry, and other actors of urban society, the scientists plan to test and develop concepts for future urban life in the next years. It is their objective to sustainably design an existing district of the city of Karlsruhe.

 

“We have to learn to analyze integrated relationships and to realize ‘holistic’ urban development. At the moment, we are far away from this objective, and models and concepts for sustainable urban development are still lacking. The ‘District Future – Urban Lab’ project starts exactly at this point,” said the Baden-Württemberg Minister of the Environment, Climate Protection, and the Energy Sector, Franz Untersteller, in his laudation.

 

District Future – Urban Lab will open up in and for Karlsruhe an area, in which promising technical and societal innovations from KIT as well as project ideas of the urban society will be implemented together with the project team in the coming years. The issues covered will range from living and building to mobility and communication to education, health, leisure, and culture. It is aimed at transforming an existing district of the city of Karlsruhe into a sustainable one. The location of the District Future is presently being negotiated. The award in the amount of EUR 2000 plus non-cash items will be used to help the actors start the project on the local level.

 

The project is executed by the KIT Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) and embedded in the Karlsruhe 2020 integrated urban development concept. As of now, all citizens of Karlsruhe, companies, associations, and initiatives are invited to inform themselves on the website of the project and to submit and comment ideas relating to the development of the city and city life.

For more information, click: www.quartierzukunft.de/en/district-future/

 

The ZeitzeicheN Award is granted by the Germany-wide Network 21 for local sustainability to initiatives that noticed the signs of the times, build bridges to society, and initiate sustainable acting. This year, awards were granted to seven projects from all over Germany. They were handed over at the Network 21 congress organized by GRÜNE LIGA Berlin in cooperation with the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of the Environment, Climate, and the Energy Sector in Stuttgart. Funding is provided by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, and Nuclear Safety, the Federal Environment Agency, the Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Council), the German Association of Cities, the German Association of Districts, and the Deutscher Städte- und Gemeindebund (Association of German Cities and Municipalities).

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 09.10.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUwj7∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 126/2013

Nachhaltigkeitspreis ZeitzeicheN für „Quartier Zukunft“

Im Mittelpunkt des KIT-Projekts steht die nachhaltige Stadtentwickung – enger Austausch zwischen Bevölkerung, Politik, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft
Nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung – bei „Quartier Zukunft“ sind Ideen von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern gefragt (Foto: ITAS)
Nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung – bei „Quartier Zukunft“ sind Ideen von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern gefragt (Foto: ITAS)

Das Projekt „Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt“ des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) hat den Deutschen Lokalen Nachhaltigkeitspreis ZeitzeicheN 2013 in der Kategorie „ZeitzeicheN-Ideen“ erhalten. Der deutschlandweite Netzwerk21Kongress zeichnete die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) gestern Abend im Neuen Schloss in Stuttgart aus. Gemeinsam mit Bevölkerung, Politik, Wirtschaft und weiteren Akteuren der Stadtgesellschaft wollen sie in den nächsten Jahren Konzepte für das Stadtleben der Zukunft erproben und entwickeln. Ziel ist es, ein bestehendes Karlsruher Stadtquartier nachhaltig zu gestalten.

 

„Wir müssen lernen, die Gesamtzusammenhänge in den Blick zu nehmen und eine Stadtentwicklung ‚aus einem Guss‘ zu realisieren. Davon sind wir weit entfernt und es fehlen uns auch noch die Vorbilder und Konzepte für die nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung. Das Projekt Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt setzt genau hier an“, sagte der Minister für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg Franz Untersteller in seiner Laudatio.

 

Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt eröffnet in und für Karlsruhe einen Raum, in dem in den kommenden Jahren Erfolg versprechende technische und gesellschaftliche Innovationen aus dem KIT sowie Projektideen aus der Stadtgesellschaft gemeinsam mit dem Projektteam verwirklicht werden. Dabei reichen die Themen von Wohnen und Bauen über Mobilität und Kommunikation bis hin zu Bildung, Gesundheit, Freizeit und Kultur. Ziel ist es, ein bestehendes Stadtquartier in ein nachhaltiges umzuwandeln. Der Ort für das Quartier Zukunft befindet sich aktuell im Aushandlungsprozess. Die mit 2000 Euro und Sachpreisen dotierte Auszeichnung dient dazu, den Akteuren auf lokaler Ebene eine Starthilfe für die Umsetzung zu geben.

 

Das Projekt ist am Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des KIT angesiedelt und im integrierten Stadtentwicklungskonzept Karlsruhe 2020 verankert. Auf der neuen Website zum Projekt können sich ab sofort alle Karlsruher Bürgerinnen und Bürger, Unternehmen, Vereine und Initiativen informieren und Ideen zur Entwicklung der Stadt und des Stadtlebens äußern und kommentieren.

Nähere Informationen: www.quartierzukunft.de

 

Mit dem ZeitzeicheN-Preis zeichnet das deutschlandweite Netzwerk21 für lokale Nachhaltigkeit Initiativen aus, welche die Zeichen der Zeit erkannt haben, Brücken in der Gesellschaft bauen und zum nachhaltigen Handeln anregen. Insgesamt erhielten in diesem Jahr sieben Projekte aus ganz Deutschland Preise. Vergeben wurden sie beim Netzwerk21Kongress, den die GRÜNE LIGA Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg in Stuttgart ausrichtete. Förderer sind neben dem Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit sowie dem Umweltbundesamt unter anderem der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung, der Deutsche Städtetag, der Deutsche Landkreistag sowie der Deutsche Städte- und Gemeindebund.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 09.10.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneHjr8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseGaw3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.