Press Release 047/2012

German-Japanese University Consortium Signs Joint Statement

Representatives of Six Partner Institutions Met for a Two-day Conference at Kyoto
Von links nach rechts: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Eitel (Heidelberg), Prof. Hiroshi Matsumoto (Kyoto), Prof. Volker Saile (KIT), Prof. Akihisa Inoue (Tohoku), Prof. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne (Göttingen), Prof. Toshio Hirano (Osaka). (Foto: Universität Göttingen)
From left to right: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Eitel (Heidelberg), Prof. Hiroshi Matsumoto (Kyoto), Prof. Volker Saile (KIT), Prof. Akihisa Inoue (Tohoku), Prof. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne (Göttingen), Prof. Toshio Hirano (Osaka). (Photo: Universität Göttingen)

The universities of Heidelberg and Göttingen and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) signed a joint statement to enhance their international cooperation with the Japanese universities of Kyoto, Osaka, and Tohoku. Within the framework of the German-Japanese University Consortium HeKKSaGOn, the rectors and presidents of the institutions involved met at Kyoto for the “2nd Japanese-German Presidents‘ Conference“ on March 29 and 30, 2012.


At the conference, scientists of various disciplines discussed promising fields of research. Planning of ongoing cooperation projects was continued. The next joint conference is planned to take place at the University of Göttingen in September 2013. The six partners founded the university consortium in 2010. HeKKSaGOn stands for Heidelberg – Kyoto – Karlsruhe – Sendai – Göttingen – Osaka – network.

The conference was opened by the former Japanese ambassador in Germany, Dr. Takahiro Shinyo, the Consul General Dr. Alexander Olbrich from the German General Consulate of Osaka-Kobe, Dieter Berg, Chairman of the Board of the Robert Bosch Foundation, and the President of the JSPS, Dr. Yuichiro Anzai.

The working groups did not only focus on general university policies and reforms, but also on scientific work, among others in social and cultural sciences, environmental sciences, neurosciences, and scientific computing. In the past months, promising joint research projects were planned. Increased mobility of the scientists for stays and lectures abroad is beginning to show. With the support of the Baden-Württemberg Foundation, the University of Heidelberg is presently establishing a Ph. D. exchange program with the three Japanese partners.

KIT’s delegation under the direction of the Chief Science Officer Professor Volker Saile consisted of scientists working in the fields of materials sciences, applied life sciences, robotics, and earth and the environment. In addition, representatives of the International Affairs Service Unit participated in the meeting in Japan. Already in July 2010 at Heidelberg did the rectors and presidents of the University of Heidelberg, the University of Göttingen, and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and of the three leading universities of Japan, Kyoto University, Osaka University, and Tohuku University, sign a declaration to establish the German-Japanese University Consortium. This consortium is aimed at intensifying cooperation in research and education, initiating joint research projects and graduate programs, and promoting the exchange of scientists, post-graduates, and students. 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 04.04.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseJlz5∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafNer0∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 047/2012

Deutsch-Japanisches Universitätskonsortium unterzeichnet Joint Statement

Vertreter der sechs Partnerinstitutionen trafen sich zu zweitägiger Konferenz in Kyoto
Von links nach rechts: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Eitel (Heidelberg), Prof. Hiroshi Matsumoto (Kyoto), Prof. Volker Saile (KIT), Prof. Akihisa Inoue (Tohoku), Prof. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne (Göttingen), Prof. Toshio Hirano (Osaka). (Foto: Universität Göttingen)
Von links nach rechts: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Eitel (Heidelberg), Prof. Hiroshi Matsumoto (Kyoto), Prof. Volker Saile (KIT), Prof. Akihisa Inoue (Tohoku), Prof. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne (Göttingen), Prof. Toshio Hirano (Osaka). (Foto: Universität Göttingen)

Mit der Unterzeichnung eines Joint Statements haben die Universitäten Heidelberg und Göttingen und das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ihre länderübergreifende Zusammenarbeit mit den japanischen Hochschulen Kyoto University, Osaka University und Tohoku University weiter intensiviert. Im Rahmen des deutsch-japanischen Universitäts-konsortiums HeKKSaGOn trafen die Rektoren und Präsidenten der beteiligten Einrichtungen am 29. und 30. März 2012 in Kyoto zur „2nd Japanese-German Presidents‘ Conference“ zusammen.

Wissenschaftler verschiedener Disziplinen diskutierten dabei zukunftsweisende Forschungsfelder und führten die Planungen für bestehende Projekte der Kooperation fort. Die nächste gemeinsame Konferenz ist im September 2013 an der Universität Göttingen geplant. Die sechs Partner haben das Universitätskonsortium im Jahr 2010 gegründet. HeKKSaGOn steht für Heidelberg – Kyoto – Karlsruhe – Sendai – Göttingen – Osaka – network.

Zur Eröffnung der Konferenz sprachen der frühere Japanische Botschafter in Deutschland, Dr. Takahiro Shinyo, und Generalkonsul Dr. Alexander Olbrich, Deutsches Generalkonsulat Osaka-Kobe, sowie Dieter Berg, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der Robert Bosch Stiftung, und der Präsident der JSPS, Dr. Yuichiro Anzai.

Neben der generellen Frage hochschulpolitischer Entwicklungen und Reformen ging es in den verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen um die wissenschaftliche Arbeit unter anderem in den Themenfeldern Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften, Umweltwissenschaften, Neurowissenschaften oder Wissenschaftliches Rechnen. In den vergangenen Monaten wurden bereits vielversprechende gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte geplant, und es zeichnet sich eine verstärkte Mobilität der Wissenschaftler für Forschungsaufenthalte und Gastdozenturen ab. Die Universität Heidelberg baut zudem mit Unterstützung der Baden-Württemberg Stiftung ein Doktoranden-Austausch-programm mit den drei japanischen Partnern auf.
 
Der Delegation des KIT unter Leitung des Chief Science Officers, Professor Volker Saile, gehörten unter anderem Wissenschaftler aus den Bereichen Materialwissenschaften, Angewandte Lebenswissenschaften, Robotik und Erde und Umwelt an. Außerdem nahmen Vertreter der DE Internationales am Treffen in Japan teil. Die Rektoren und Präsidenten der Universität Heidelberg, der Universität Göttingen und des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie sowie drei der führenden Universitäten Japans – der Kyoto University, der Osaka University und der Tohoku University – hatten im Juli 2010 in Heidelberg eine Erklärung zur Gründung des deutsch-japanischen Universitätskonsortiums unterzeichnet. Ziel dieses Konsortiums ist es, die Zusammenarbeit in Forschung und Lehre zu intensivieren, gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte und Graduiertenprogramme zu initiieren und den Austausch von Wissenschaftlern, Doktoranden und Studierenden zu fördern.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 04.04.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafHtk5∂kit edu