Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseQkp7∂kit edu

Press Release 028/2012

Energy Smart Home Lab Is Winner in the Land of Ideas

On the Occasion of the Prize Ceremony on March 02, the Smart Home on KIT Campus South Will Be Open to the Public
Clever wohnen: Das Energy Smart Home Lab bietet ein intelligentes Energiemanagement  im Haushalt (Foto: Andreas Drollinger)
Living smartly: The Energy Smart Home Lab provides for smart energy management in the household. (Photo: Andreas Drollinger)

The Energy Smart Home Lab at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is winner of the competition “365 Places in the Land of Ideas”. The prototype of a smart energy-efficient prefabricated house combines living, electric mobility, and energy and was developed under MeRegioMobil, a joint project of science and industry directed by EnBW. On the occasion of the prize ceremony on March 02, the smart home will be open to the interested public from 10 to 12 hrs (Engesserstraße 11, KIT Campus South). Representatives of the media are cordially invited and asked to register using the form enclosed.

The smart home covers an area of about 60 square meters and is equipped with latest technology. All household appliances are connected with each other. The inhabitants always are provided with information on current energy flows and electricity consumption. The smart home generates its electricity via a photovoltaic system and a micro cogeneration unit. Cogeneration allows for the use of electricity as well as of the heat produced. Moreover, electric vehicles are integrated in the energy management scheme as electricity stores and consumers. “The system is designed such that it can be incorporated in a smart grid and the battery is charged whenever electricity from regenerative sources, wind or solar energy, is available at low costs,” says Professor Hartmut Schmeck, Spokesman of the project at KIT. Vice versa, the car, when unused, can feed electricity back into the grid at times of high load. In this way, load peaks are compensated and regenerative energies from fluctuating sources can be integrated in the energy system.  


On the occasion of the hand-over of the prize of “Selected Place 2012” on Friday, March 2, the KIT scientists will present the smart home to the interested public. The prize ceremony will take place at 10 hrs at the smart home on KIT Campus South (Building 30.36, Engesserstrasse 11). Professor Hartmut Schmeck will welcome the guests, welcome addresses will be made by Professor Wilfried Juling, Chief Science and Information Officer of KIT, and a representative of the EnBW Board as well as by Sibel Sagdic from the initiative “Germany – Land of Ideas”. The laudation will be made by Andreas Sengpiel from Deutsche Bank, the cooperation partner of the initiative. Prior to the event, Andreas Sengpiel emphasized: “The Energy Smart Home combines the areas of living, energy, and mobility. Here, it can be seen what the smart home in the future will be like.” Afterwards, the Energy Smart Home Lab will be open to the public from 11 to 12 hrs.   



Das Energy Smart Home Lab integriert Elektrofahrzeuge als Speicher.  (Foto: Andreas Drollinger)

The Energy Smart Home Lab integrates electric vehicles as stores. (Photo: Andreas Drollinger)

 

 

The Germany-wide competition “365 Places in the Land of Ideas” is aimed at visualizing the potential of Germany as a location of innovation. Every year, the initiative “Germany – Land of Ideas” and Deutsche Bank select 365 projects which sustainably contribute to the future viability of Germany.


Invitation to the Prize Ceremony:
http://meregiomobil.forschung.kit.edu/85.php

Film on the Smart Home:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cM1fWAuVPek

About MeRegioMobil
MeRegioMobil is a joint project of science and industry directed by the utility company EnBW. Apart from KIT, the consortium partners are Opel, Daimler, Bosch, SAP, the Karlsruhe Utility Company as well as the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI). The Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi) funds the project under the initiative “Information and Communication Technologies for Electric Mobility”. It is the paramount objective of this research project to efficiently integrate mobile electric stores in vehicles in the existing energy system through the design of innovative information and communication technologies and their implementation in consistent concepts. Eleven chairs of KIT are involved and contribute their competences in the fields of applied and theoretical informatics, software design, law, energy management, electric energy systems, high-voltage technology, electrical engineering as well as telematics and information management. 

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

le, 23.02.2012

Press contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneDny1∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseIgk9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 028/2012

Energy Smart Home Lab im Land der Ideen ausgezeichnet

Zur Preisverleihung am 2. März öffnet das intelligente Haus auf dem KIT-Campus Süd seine Türen.
Clever wohnen: Das Energy Smart Home Lab bietet ein intelligentes Energiemanagement  im Haushalt (Foto: Andreas Drollinger)
Clever wohnen: Das Energy Smart Home Lab bietet ein intelligentes Energiemanagement im Haushalt (Foto: Andreas Drollinger)

Das Energy Smart Home Lab am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist Preisträger im Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen“: Der im Projekt MeRegioMobil, einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft unter Federführung der EnBW, entwickelte Prototyp für ein intelligentes, energieeffizientes Fertighaus verbindet die Bereiche Wohnen, Elektromobilität und Energie. Bei der Preisverleihung am 2. März präsentiert sich das Smart Home von 10 bis 12 Uhr der interessierten Öffentlichkeit (Engesserstraße 11, KIT-Campus Süd).

Das Smart Home hat eine Fläche von etwa 60 Quadratmetern und ist mit modernster Technik ausgestattet: Sämtliche Haushaltsgeräte sind miteinander vernetzt, die Bewohner haben jederzeit Einblick in die aktuellen Energieflüsse sowie den Stromverbrauch. Seinen Strom erzeugt das intelligente Haus über eine Photovoltaikanlage und ein Mikro-Blockheizkraftwerk selbst. Durch Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung wird dabei nicht nur der Strom, sondern auch die produzierte Wärme genutzt. Zudem bindet das Haus Elektrofahrzeuge als Stromspeicher und -verbraucher in das Energiemanagment ein. „Das System ist so ausgelegt, dass es sich in ein intelligentes Stromnetz, also ein Smart Grid, einfügt und die Batterie immer dann auflädt, wenn Strom aus regenerativer Produktion, etwa Wind- oder Sonnenenergie, besonders günstig ist“, sagt Professor Hartmut Schmeck, Sprecher des Projekts am KIT. Umgekehrt könne das Auto, wenn es gerade nicht genutzt wird, in Hochlastzeiten Strom ins Netz zurückspeisen. So lassen sich Lastspitzen ausgleichen und regenerative Energien aus schwankenden Quellen in das Energiesystem integrieren.

Anlässlich der Auszeichnung als „Ausgewählter Ort 2012“ am Freitag, 2. März, präsentieren die KIT-Wissenschaftler das Smart Home der interessierten Öffentlichkeit. Die Preisverleihung findet um 10 Uhr am Smart Home auf dem KIT-Campus Süd statt (Gebäude 30.36, Engesserstraße 11). Professor Harmut Schmeck wird begrüßen, Grußworte sprechen außerdem Professor Wilfried Juling, Chief Science and Information Officer des KIT und ein Vertreter des EnBW-Vorstands sowie Sibel Sagdic von der Initiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“. Die Laudatio wird Andreas Sengpiel von der Deutschen Bank, dem Kooperationspartner der Standortinitiative, halten. Anlässlich der Auszeichnung betonte Andreas Sengpiel im Vorfeld: „Das Energy Smart Home vernetzt die Lebensbereiche Wohnen, Energie und Mobilität. Es zeigt uns das intelligente Haus der Zukunft.“ Anschließend ist das Energy Smart Home Lab von 11 bis 12 Uhr bei einem Tag der offenen Tür zu besichtigen.

Das Energy Smart Home Lab integriert Elektrofahrzeuge als Speicher.  (Foto: Andreas Drollinger)

Das Energy Smart Home Lab integriert Elektrofahrzeuge als Speicher. (Foto: Andreas Drollinger)


Der bundesweite Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen“ macht das Potenzial des Innovationsstandortes Deutschland sichtbar. Die Initiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“ zeichnet gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Bank jedes Jahr 365 Projekte aus, die einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur Zukunftsfähigkeit Deutschlands leisten.  


Einladungsflyer zur Preisverleihung:
http://meregiomobil.forschung.kit.edu/85.php

Film zum Smart Home:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cM1fWAuVPek

Über MeRegioMobil
MeRegioMobil ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft unter der Federführung des Energiekonzerns EnBW. Neben dem KIT gehören dem Konsortium Opel, Daimler, Bosch, SAP, die Stadtwerke Karlsruhe sowie das Fraunhofer Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung (ISI) an. Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi) fördert das Projekt in der Initiative „IKT für Elektromobilität“. Oberstes Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist es, mobile elektrische Speicher in Fahrzeugen durch den Entwurf innovativer Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien und deren Umsetzung in schlüssigen Gesamtkonzepten effizient in das bestehende Energiesystem zu integrieren. Das KIT ist mit elf Lehrstühlen vertreten und bringt dabei seine Kompetenzen aus den Bereichen Angewandte und Theoretische Informatik, Softwaredesign, Rechtswissenschaft, Energiewirtschaft, Elektronenergiesysteme und Hochspannungstechnik, Elektrotechnik sowie Telematik und Informationswirtschaft ein.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 23.02.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneRaa1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseLfn6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.