Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 137/2012

Horst Hippler Moves from Karlsruhe to Bonn

HRK President Gives up Position as President of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology – Eberhard Umbach to Be Sole President of KIT in the Future
Professor Horst Hippler (Foto: Harry Marx)
Professor Horst Hippler. (Photo: Harry Marx)

KIT President Professor Horst Hippler is about to leave Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) to take up his full-time work as President of the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK) in Bonn. Hippler was elected in April. His former colleague in office, Professor Eberhard Umbach, will be the sole president of KIT in the future.

“Horst Hippler is the mastermind and one of the biggest advocate of the KIT concept. He has pushed this merger of a university with a national research center, which so far has been unique in Germany,” says KIT President Eberhard Umbach. “With his visionary ideas and his enormous persuasive power, Hippler decisively determined the first years of KIT and tirelessly promoted the merger process. For this, we would like to thank him cordially.”

During his term of office, Hippler extended worldwide contacts and cooperative ventures of KIT in research, education, and innovation and considerably contributed to the international visibility of KIT. As regards university policy, he supported the interests of both students and scientists as KIT President and Chairman of the Baden-Württemberg Rectors’ Conference and he pleaded for a solid funding of universities.

“As President of the HRK, I will continue this work in Bonn,” emphasizes Horst Hippler. “Leaving KIT was not easy. I am still very closely attached to KIT. It was a great and exciting time: Here, in Karlsruhe, I was able to write university history as a president of the university and then as KIT President together with my fellow campaigners.”

In the future, Eberhard Umbach will be the sole President of KIT. The physicist can look back on a long academic career that led him from the universities of Munich, Stanford (USA), Stuttgart, and Würzburg to Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (FZK) in 2007. Together with Professor Hippler, he started to develop the KIT concept in detail. Umbach considers the sharpening of the KIT profile to be one of the major tasks in the next years for a better international visibility and the continued growing together of KIT.

About Horst Hippler:
After studying physical chemistry at the University of Göttingen, Horst Hippler started his scientific career at ETH Lausanne. From there, he moved to the IBM Research Laboratory at San José, USA. After he had been conferred his post-doctoral lecture qualification at the University of Göttingen, Hippler was appointed ordinary Professor of Chemistry by Universität Karlsruhe (TH) in 1993. Following two years of work as Vice-Rector for Research, he was elected President of the Fridericiana in October 2002. Among others, Hippler was the founding president of the TU9 group and chaired the Association of Technical Universities ARGE TU/TH. From 2010 to April 2012, Hippler chaired the Baden-Württemberg State Rectors’ Conference. Since the merger into KIT in 2009, he has directed KIT as a president together with Eberhard Umbach.

An official farewell event for Horst Hippler is planned to take place in autumn this year. Representatives of the media will receive a separate invitation.

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

lg, 06.09.2012

For further information, please contact:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafXzf0∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseJht4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 137/2012

Horst Hippler wechselt von Karlsruhe nach Bonn

Der HRK-Präsident gibt seine Position als Präsident des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie auf – Eberhard Umbach ist künftig alleiniger Präsident des KIT
Professor Horst Hippler (Foto: Harry Marx)
Professor Horst Hippler (Foto: Harry Marx)

KIT-Präsident Professor Horst Hippler verlässt das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), um hauptamtlich seine Tätigkeit als Präsident der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK) in Bonn auszuüben. In sein neues Amt war er im April gewählt worden. Sein bisheriger Amtskollege, Professor Eberhard Umbach, ist künftig alleiniger Präsident des KIT.

„Horst Hippler hat die deutschlandweit bislang einmalige Fusion einer Universität und eines nationalen Forschungszentrums als Vordenker und einer der größten Verfechter der KIT-Idee vorangetrieben“, sagt KIT-Präsident Eberhard Umbach. „Mit seinen visionären Ideen und seiner enormen Überzeugungskraft hat Hippler die ersten Jahre des KIT entscheidend mitgeprägt und unermüdlich den Fusionsprozess vorangetrieben. Dafür danken wir ihm sehr.“

In seiner Amtszeit hat Hippler weltweit die Kontakte und Kooperationen des KIT in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation ausgebaut und maßgeblich zur internationalen Sichtbarkeit des KIT beigetragen. In der Hochschulpolitik setzte er sich bereits in seiner Amtszeit als KIT-Präsident und Vorsitzender der Landesrektorenkonferenz Baden-Württemberg für die Belange von Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern und für die solide Finanzierung der Hochschulen ein.

„Dieses Engagement werde ich in Bonn als Präsident der HRK fortsetzen“, betont Horst Hippler. „Der Weggang vom KIT ist ein Schritt, der mir nicht leicht gefallen ist – nach wie vor bin ich dem KIT sehr verbunden. Es war eine großartige und spannende Zeit: Hier in Karlsruhe konnte ich als Rektor der Universität und später als KIT-Präsident gemeinsam mit meinen Mitstreitern ‚Hochschulgeschichte‘ schreiben.“

Künftig ist Eberhard Umbach alleiniger Präsident des KIT. Der Physiker kann auf eine lange akademische Karriere zurückblicken, die ihn von den Universitäten in München, Stanford (USA), Stuttgart und Würzburg 2007 an das Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (FZK) führte. Zusammen mit Prof. Hippler hat er die detaillierte Ausarbeitung des KIT-Konzepts von Anfang an maßgeblich mitgestaltet. Zu den großen Aufgaben für die kommenden Jahre zählt Umbach die Profilschärfung des KIT mit Blick auf die internationale Sichtbarkeit und das weitere Zusammenwachsen des KIT.

Zur Person Horst Hippler:
Nach seinem Studium der Physiko-Chemie an der Universität Göttingen begann Horst Hippler seine wissenschaftliche Karriere an der ETH Lausanne. Von dort wechselte er an das IBM Research Laboratory in San José, USA. Nach der Habilitation, wiederum an der Universität Göttingen, wurde Hippler 1993 zum Ordinarius für Chemie an die Universität Karlsruhe (TH) berufen. Nach zweijähriger Tätigkeit als Prorektor für Forschung wurde er im Oktober 2002 zum Rektor der Fridericiana gewählt. Hippler war unter anderem Gründungspräsident des TU9-Zusammenschlusses und Vorsitzender der Arbeitsgemeinschaft der technischen Universitäten ARGE TU/TH. Von 2010 bis April 2012 hatte Hippler den Vorsitz der Landesrektorenkonferenz Baden-Württemberg inne. Seit der Fusion zum KIT im Jahr 2009 führte er gemeinsam mit Eberhard Umbach als Präsident das KIT.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

lg, 06.09.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafIqt1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseCgm8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.