Press Release 110/2012

First Integrated Design of an Artificial Eye Lens

KIT Engineer Is Granted Bertha Benz Prize in the Amount of EUR 10,000 for Research Into the Accommodation System
Dr. Liane Rheinschmitt erarbeitete ihre Dissertation am Institut für Angewandte Informatik (Foto: IAI)
Dr. Liane Rheinschmitt worked on her Ph. D. at the Institute of Applied Computer Science. (Photo: IAI)

By changing the optical power of the lens (accommodation), the human eye focuses on an object as its distance varies. However, this ability decreases with increasing age. For her research into an artificial accommodation system, Dr. Liane Rheinschmitt of the Institute of Applied Computer Science (IAI) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) has now been granted the Bertha Benz Prize in the amount of EUR 10,000. With this prize, the Daimler and Benz Foundation annually honors an excellent doctorate of a young German female engineer.

Liane Rheinschmitt wrote her Ph. D. thesis entitled “First Integrated Design and System Integration for the Artificial Accommodation System” in the team of Professor Georg Bretthauer, one of the Directors of IAI on KIT Campus North and Head of the Institute of Applied Computer Science / Automation on KIT Campus South. “The work of Mrs. Rheinschmitt represents an important step towards the implementation of an artificial accommodation system, by means of which people suffering from presbyopia or after a cataract operation are enabled to see clearly over both longer and shorter distances without wearing any glasses. In this way, also elderly people will be enabled to continue to participate in social life”, says Bretthauer. 

“The thesis written by Mrs. Rheinschmitt shows her capabilities as a modern and interdisciplinary female engineer. Her work is based on fundamental knowledge of microstructure technology and opens up a wide field of future applications in medicine,” said Professor Eike Böhm, Head of the Quality Section of Mercedes Benz PKW, Daimler AG, during the awards ceremony at Heidelberg.

With the help of accommodation, that is by adapting optical power of the eye lens, the human eye can focus on objects as their distance varies. This ability decreases with increasing age. At an age of about 45 to 50 years, reading without aids is getting increasingly difficult. All over world, about 1 billion people are affected by presbyopia. In addition, many suffer from cataract, a clouding of the lens that obstructs the passage of light and has to be removed by an operation. In Germany alone, about 600,000 cataract operations are performed annually.
  
The scientific work of Liane Rheinschmitt is the basis of the implementation of an artificial accommodation system in smallest space. By an operation, this system might be implanted directly into the eye affected. The novel mechatronic lens can restore to the complete extent the ability of the eye to focus on variable distances, contrary to the presently used inflexible artificial lenses. For the people affected, this would mean an enormous gain in quality of life. 
   
Rheinschmitt was selected in a process consisting of several stages. The jury justified its decision as follows: “There is no doubt that the Ph. D. thesis is of societal relevance. The personal history of Mrs. Rheinschmitt is unusual and characterized by a permanent striving for higher academic education on various levels. Her interdisciplinary career also reflects the scope of topics covered by her engineering research activities. The Ph. D. thesis of Mrs. Rheinschmitt is of high quality and an excellent nomination.” Liane Rheinschmitt was born at Madgeburg in 1980. In 2000, she started to study mechatronics at the Karlsruhe Cooperative State University. Three years later, she graduated in engineering. In 2004, she continued her academic career by studying mechanical engineering at the former Universität Karlsruhe (TH), today’s KIT, and completed her studies in July 2007. She wrote her diploma thesis as a GEARE scholarship holder (Global Engineering Alliance for Research and Education) at the Purdue University in the USA (Indiana). Kleinschmitt worked on her Ph. D. thesis at KIT’s Institute of Applied Computer Science and submitted it to the Department of Mechanical Engineering in 2011.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 26.06.2012
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseIka0∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneCaa8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseBpp8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 110/2012

Erster Gesamtentwurf einer künstlichen Augenlinse

KIT-Ingenieurin erhält für ihre Forschung zum Akkommodationssystem den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Bertha Benz-Preis
Dr. Liane Rheinschmitt erarbeitete ihre Dissertation am Institut für Angewandte Informatik (Foto: IAI)
Dr. Liane Rheinschmitt erarbeitete ihre Dissertation am Institut für Angewandte Informatik (Foto: IAI)

Über die Brechkraftanpassung der Linse (Akkommodation) kann das menschliche Auge auf unterschiedlich weit entfernte Objekte fokussieren, diese Fähigkeit lässt altersbedingt jedoch nach. Für ihre Forschungen zu einem künstlichen Akkommodationssystem erhält Dr. Liane Rheinschmitt vom Institut für Angewandte Informatik (IAI) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Bertha Benz-Preis. Mit der Auszeichnung würdigt die Daimler und Benz Stiftung einmal im Jahr eine herausragende Promotion einer jungen deutschen Ingenieurin.

Ihre Dissertation „Erstmaliger Gesamtentwurf und Realisierung der Systemintegration für das Künstliche Akkommodationssystem" erarbeitete Liane Rheinschmitt im Team von Professor Georg Bretthauer, Mitglied der kollogialen Leitung des  IAI am KIT-Campus Nord und Leiter des Instituts für Angewandte Informatik/Automatisierungstechnik am KIT-Campus Süd. „Die Arbeit von Frau Rheinschmitt stellt einen wichtigen Schritt auf dem Weg der Realisierung eines Künstlichen Akkommodationssystems dar, das es Menschen mit Alterssichtigkeit oder nach einer Katarakt-Operation ermöglicht, ohne Brille sowohl in der Nähe als auch in der Ferne wieder scharf sehen zu können. Damit können auch ältere Menschen weiterhin voll am gesellschaftlichen Leben teilnehmen“, so Bretthauer.

„Die vorgelegte Arbeit weist Frau Rheinschmitt als Ingenieurin moderner und interdisziplinärer Prägung aus. Ihre Arbeit verbindet grundlegende Fachkenntnisse der Mikrostrukturtechnik und eröffnet ein weites Feld zukunftsweisender medizinischer Einsatzmöglichkeiten", sagte Professor Eike Böhm, Leiter Qualität Mercedes Benz PKW der Daimler AG, bei der Preisverleihung in Heidelberg.

Mit Hilfe der Akkommodation, der Brechkraftanpassung der Augenlinse, kann das menschliche Auge auf unterschiedlich weit entfernte Objekte fokussieren. Diese Fähigkeit lässt altersbedingt nach, ab etwa 45 bis 50 Jahren wird das Lesen ohne Hilfsmittel immer schwieriger. Von dieser Alterssichtigkeit sind weltweit rund eine Milliarde Menschen betroffen, hinzu kommt bei vielen die „Katarakt-Krankheit" (auch „Grauer Star"), bei der sich die Linse eintrübt und operativ entfernt werden muss. Allein in Deutschland werden jährlich rund 600.000 Katarakt-Operationen durchgeführt.
  
Die wissenschaftliche Arbeit von Liane Rheinschmitt legt den Grundstein, ein künstliches Akkommodationssystem auf kleinstem Raum zu realisieren. Dieses könnte bei einer Operation unmittelbar in das erkrankte Auge implantiert werden. Die neuartige mechatronische Linse kann die Fähigkeit des Auges zur Fokussierung auf verschiedene Blickdistanzen vollständig wiederherstellen – die gegenwärtig verwendeten unflexiblen künstlichen Linsen können dies nicht. Dies würde für die Betroffenen einen enormen Gewinn an Lebensqualität bedeuten.
   
Die Preisträgerin wurde in einem mehrstufigen Auswahlprozess ermittelt, ihre Entscheidung begründete die Jury wie folgt: „Die Dissertation besitzt ohne Zweifel gesellschaftliche Relevanz. Der Lebenslauf von Frau Rheinschmitt ist ungewöhnlich und weist ein auf verschiedene Stufen verteiltes beständiges Streben nach höherer akademischer Bildung auf. Ihr interdisziplinärer Werdegang kann auch als Beleg für die Breite ingenieurwissenschaftlicher Forschungsthemen dienen. Mit der Arbeit von Frau Rheinschmitt liegt eine hochklassige Preisnominierung vor." Liane Rheinschmitt wurde 1980 in Magdeburg geboren. Im Jahr 2000 begann sie ein Mechatronikstudium an der Berufsakademie in Karlsruhe, das sie drei Jahre später als Diplom-Ingenieurin BA abschloss. 2004 setzte sie ihren akademischen Werdegang mit einem Maschinenbaustudium an der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe (TH), heute KIT, fort und beendete es im Juli 2007. Ihre Diplomarbeit verfasste sie dabei als GEARE-Stipendiatin (Global Engineering Alliance for Research and Education) an der Purdue Universität in den USA (Indiana). Ihre Dissertation erarbeitete sie am KIT am Institut für Angewandte Informatik und legte sie 2011 der Fakultät für Maschinenbau vor.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 26.06.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneOom9∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseZlc8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.