Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAxx5∂kit edu

Press Release 066/2012

KIT Students Build Photovoltaics Station in India

University Group “Engineers without Borders” Executed “India Electric” Project at a Training Center in the State of Orissa
Die Photovoltaikanlage, hier noch im Aufbau, beliefert das Ausbildungszentrum  im Dorf Gonasika mit Strom aus der Sonne. (Foto: EWB)
The photovoltaics station, here still under construction, supplies the training center in the village of Gonasika with electricity from the sun. (Photo: EWB)

Secure electricity supply was lacking in the training center “Silent Valley” in Gonasika. The university group Engineers without Borders (EWB) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) wanted to change this. Under the “India Electric” project, they built a photovoltaics station in the small village. Construction was completed in early April this year. First balancing shows that the plant provides for a reliable electricity supply. It is the long-term objective of EWB to extend electricity supply for the operation of computers and machines.

The “Silent Valley” center, where apprentices aged 12 to 16 are trained to become tailors or carpenters, is located in the village of Gonasika. It is situated in an impassible jungle area in the north of the Indian state of Orissa. Due to its remote location, the school is not connected to the public electricity grid. “After 8 p.m., light was provided by kerosene lamps. Inhabitants could not use computers and modern machines, which is a drawback for the training of carpenter and tailor apprentices,” says Tim Eck from Engineers without Borders (EWB), who studies business engineering.

“By constructing a solar power station, we wanted to provide for the basic electricity supply of the training center,” emphasized Kaili Shen, EWB chairman and student of electrical engineering. The “India Electric” project started in 2010 and was supported by foundations and the organization operating the training center. Technical components, such as panels and AC converters, were made available by industry. The EWB group constructed the plant and distribution station accommodating the batteries, charge control unit, and the converter, and installed the electric system. The students repeatedly travelled to India during their holidays in order to check local conditions, establish contacts to Indian logistics and battery companies, and to coordinate the project.


Die fertige Photovoltaikanlage in  Gnasika (Foto: EWB)

The completed photovoltaics station at Gonasika. (Photo: EWB)

Installation of the station was completed in early April, the first balance is positive: The lamps provide for reliable illumination. Days with little sunlight are compensated by a battery storage system which also guarantees consumption independent of electricity supply. “We trained supervisors, who are now operating the solar station and ensure that the system works,” says Shen. Now, the EWB members evaluate the technical data for a period of one year in order to check the efficiency of the plant and to optimize it, if necessary. In the long term, the center will be equipped with computers and machines.

The group will make available a detailed project description as an open source. “In this way, all those, who are interested in executing similar projects, may obtain a first idea of technical prerequisites and project execution,” says Eck. Apart from the solar project in India, EWB executes other projects to improve living conditions in developing countries. A cistern at a school in Port-au-Prince on Haiti, for instance, is aimed at improving drinking water supply in the long term. Dry toilets will prevent the drinking and usable waters from being contaminated at an orphanage in Golomolo, Uganda.

On Wednesday, June 20, the EWB group will present the “India Electric” project in a slide show (lecture hall 59, building 10.81, KIT Campus South) to the interested public. Further information on the program and short-term changes will be provided on the website of the university group at http://www.ewb-karlsruhe.de/.

Information on the “India Electric” project:
http://www.india-electric.ewb-karlsruhe.de/.

The KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life. For this purpose, 660 employees of 32 institutes produce fundamental and application-oriented knowledge relating to climate and environmental change. It is not only aimed at eliminating the causes of environmental problems, but increasingly at adapting to changed conditions.


 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

sk, 02.05.2012

Press contact:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtFje0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseZzu8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 066/2012

KIT-Studierende bauen Photovoltaikanlage in Indien

Die Hochschulgruppe „Engineers without Borders“ setzte das Projekt „India Electric“ in einem Ausbildungszentrum im Bundesstaat Orissa um
Die Photovoltaikanlage, hier noch im Aufbau, beliefert das Ausbildungszentrum  im Dorf Gonasika mit Strom aus der Sonne. (Foto: EWB)
Die Photovoltaikanlage, hier noch im Aufbau, beliefert das Ausbildungszentrum im Dorf Gonasika mit Strom aus der Sonne. (Foto: EWB)

Eine sichere Stromversorgung fehlte bislang im Ausbildungszentrum „Silent Valley“ in Gonasika – dies zu ändern war Ziel der Hochschulgruppe Engineers without Borders (EWB) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT): im Projekt „India Electric“ baute sie in dem kleinen Dorf eine Photovoltaikanlage auf – seit Anfang April ist die Installation abgeschlossen. Eine erste Bilanz zeigt: Die Anlage liefert zuverlässig Strom. Langfristiges Ziel der EWB ist, die Stromversorgung für den Betrieb von Computern und Arbeitsmaschinen auszubauen.

Im Dorf Gonasika, in einem unwegsamen Dschungelgebiet im Norden des indischen Bundesstaats Orissa, liegt das Ausbildungszentrum „Silent Valley“, das Lehrlinge zwischen 12 und 16 Jahren zu Schneidern oder Tischlern ausbildet. Aufgrund der abgeschiedenen Lage ist die Schule nicht an das öffentliche Stromnetz angebunden: „Nach 20 Uhr spendeten Petroleumlampen den Bewohnern Licht, Computer und moderne Maschinen konnten sie bisher nicht nutzen, was für die Ausbildung der Tischler- und Schneiderlehrlinge ein Nachteil ist“, sagt Tim Eck von Engineers without Borders (EWB), Student des Wirtschaftsingenieurwesens.

„Wir wollten mit dem Aufbau einer Solaranlage die Basisstromversorgung für das Ausbildungszentrum schaffen“, so Kaili Shen, EWB-Vorsitzender und Elektrotechnikstudent. Das 2010 gestartete Projekt „India Electric“ unterstützten Stiftungen sowie eine Organisation, die das Ausbildungszentrum betreibt. Die technischen Komponenten wie Panels und Wechselstromrichter stellten Firmen der studentischen Projektgruppe zur Verfügung. Für den Aufbau der Anlage und des Schalthauses – in dem die Batterien, der Laderegler und der Wechselrichter installiert sind –, und für die Elektroinstallation war die EWB-Gruppe zuständig. Mehrmals reisten Teilgruppen in den Semesterferien nach Indien, um die Bedingungen vor Ort zu prüfen, den Kontakt zu den indischen Logistik- und Batteriefirmen aufzubauen und den Projektablauf vor Ort zu koordinieren.

Die fertige Photovoltaikanlage in  Gnasika (Foto: EWB)

Die fertige Photovoltaikanlage in Gonasika (Foto: EWB)


Seit Anfang April ist die Anlage installiert – eine erste Bilanz fällt positiv aus: Die Lampen spenden zuverlässig Licht. Ein Batteriespeichersystem gleicht Tage mit wenig Sonnenlicht aus, zugleich garantiert es einen von der Stromerzeugung unabhängigen Verbrauch. „Wir haben Betreuer geschult, die nun vor Ort die Solaranlage betreiben und dafür sorgen, dass das System funktioniert“, sagt Shen. Im zweiten Schritt werten die EWB-Mitglieder ein Jahr lang die technischen Daten aus, um die Effizienz der Anlage zu prüfen und sie gegebenenfalls zu optimieren. Denn langfristig soll das Zentrum mit Computern und Arbeitsmaschinen ausgestattet werden.

Eine detaillierte Projektbeschreibung wird die Gruppe außerdem als Open Source zur Verfügung stellen – „so können sich all diejenigen, die an ähnlichen Projekten interessiert sind, einen ersten Eindruck über die technischen Voraussetzungen und den Projektablauf verschaffen“, so Eck. Neben dem Solarprojekt in Indien führen die EWB weitere Projekte mit dem Ziel durch, die Lebensbedingungen in Entwicklungsländern zu verbessern: Eine Zisterne an einer Schule in Port-au-Prince auf Haiti beispielsweise soll langfristig die Trinkwasserversorgung verbessern, Trockentoiletten in einem Waisenhaus in Golomolo, Uganda, die Verunreinigung von Trink- und Nutzwasser verhindern.

Am Mittwoch, 20. Juni, wird die EWB-Gruppe das Projekt „India Electric“ bei einem Abschlussvortrag mit Diashow (Hörsaal 59, Gebäude 10.81, KIT-Campus Süd) der interessierten Öffentlichkeit vorstellen. Weitere Informationen über den Ablauf sowie über kurzfristige Änderungen gibt es auf der Webseite der Hochschulgruppe unter http://www.ewb-karlsruhe.de/.

Infos zum Projekt „India Electric“ gibt es unter
http://www.india-electric.ewb-karlsruhe.de/.

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

sk, 02.05.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtXqm5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseZgo6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.