Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 059/2012

Horst Hippler Is New President of the German Rectors‘ Conference

Funding of Universities Is an Urgent Challenge
Professor Horst Hippler (Foto: Harry Marx)
Professor Horst Hippler. (Photo: Harry Marx)

The President of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Professor Horst Hippler, will chair the German Rectors’ Conference (Hochschulrektorenkonferenz, HRK) in the future. The Plenary Assembly of the HRK elected Hippler as its new president during today’s meeting in Hamburg. The German Rectors’ Conference considers itself to be the voice of German universities towards politics and the public.

Hippler succeeds Professor Margret Wintermantel, who has chaired the German Rectors’ Conference since March 2006 and took over the post of President of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) in the beginning of this year. Hippler thinks that the most urgent challenge of his term of office is a solid funding of the universities. “It will be the most important task of the German Rectors’ Conference to set the course for and contribute to the future financing of all universities. This is even more important when thinking of the prognosticated increase in the number of students and the scarce budgets of the states,” says Hippler.

Hippler, who was born in 1946, contributed decisively to the foundation of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and has been its president since 2009. From 2002 to 2009, he was President of Universität Karlsruhe (TH) that merged with the then Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe into KIT. Hippler studied physics and was appointed professor for physical chemistry by Universität Karlsruhe in 1993. Among others, he was the founding president of the TU9 Group and chaired the association of technical universities ARGE TU/TH. Hippler is member of the Council of the German-French University and Deputy Spokesman of the group of universities in the German Rectors’ Conference. Recently, he was elected President of the Consortium of Technical Universities in Europe “CLUSTER”. From 2010 to April 2012, Hippler chaired the Baden-Württemberg State Rectors’ Conference. 

The German Rectors’ Conference presently comprises 266 member universities with about 94% of all students in Germany. The term of office of the President of the German Rectors’ Conference is three years. 

Further information of the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK) may be obtained at http://www.hrk.de/de/home/home.php.

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation pursuing the tasks of a state university of Baden-Wuerttemberg and of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. The KIT mission combines the three strategic lines of activity of research, higher education, and innovation. With about 9,400 employees and 24,500 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

lg, 24.04.2012

For further information, please contact:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafYsw0∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseVaa6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 059/2012

Horst Hippler ist neuer Präsident der HRK

Finanzierung der Hochschulen als drängende Herausforderung
Professor Horst Hippler (Foto: Harry Marx)
Professor Horst Hippler (Foto: Harry Marx)

Der Präsident des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), Professor Horst Hippler, steht künftig an der Spitze der  Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK). Die Plenarversammlung der HRK wählte Hippler in ihrer heutigen Sitzung in Hamburg zu ihrem neuen Präsidenten. Die HRK versteht sich als Stimme der Hochschulen gegenüber Politik und Öffentlichkeit.

Hippler folgt Professorin Margret Wintermantel, die seit März 2006 den Vorsitz der HRK hatte, und seit Anfang des Jahres Präsidentin des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) ist. Als die drängendste Herausforderung für seine Amtszeit sieht Hippler eine solide Finanzierung der Hochschulen. „Die wichtigste Aufgabe der HRK wird sein, maßgeblich Weichen zu stellen und Beiträge zur künftigen Finanzierung aller Hochschulen zu liefern. Das gilt vor allem angesichts der prognostizierten steigenden Studierendenzahlen und der Finanzknappheit der Länder“, sagt Hippler.

Hippler, Jahrgang 1946, ist seit 2009 Präsident des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie, zu dessen Gründung er maßgeblich beigetragen hat. Von 2002 bis 2009 war er Rektor der Universität Karlsruhe (TH), die mit dem damaligen Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe zum KIT fusionierte. Hippler studierte Physik und wurde 1993 von der Universität Karlsruhe auf eine Professur für Physikalische Chemie berufen. Er war unter anderem Gründungspräsident des TU9-Zusammenschlusses und Vorsitzender der Arbeitsgemeinschaft der technischen Universitäten ARGE TU/TH. Hippler ist Mitglied des Hochschulrates der Deutsch-Französischen Hochschule und Stellvertretender Sprecher der Mitgliedergruppe der Universitäten der HRK. Kürzlich wurde er zum Präsidenten des Universitäts-Konsortiums der technischen Universitäten Europas „CLUSTER“ gewählt. Von 2010 bis April 2012 hatte Hippler den Vorsitz der Landesrektorenkonferenz Baden-Württemberg inne.

Der HRK gehören derzeit 266 Mitgliedshochschulen an, in denen gut 94 Prozent aller Studierenden in Deutschland eingeschrieben sind. Die Amtszeit des HRK-Präsidenten beträgt drei Jahre.

Weitere Informationen zur Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK) unter: http://www.hrk.de/de/home/home.php

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

lg, 24.04.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafSlk6∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseSrd6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.