Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 182/2011

Millions for Research-oriented Teaching

Under Their Program for More Quality in Teaching, the Federation and Federal States Support the KIT Proposal for an Early Integration of Students in Research Projects
Forschungsorientiert studieren – hierfür will das KIT mit „Lehre hoch Forschung“ flächendeckend Angebote schaffen (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim, KIT)
Research-oriented studies will be offered by KIT under the program “Lehre hoch Forschung“ (research-based education). (Photo: Sandra Göttisheim, KIT)

Intensive research-based education is a major element of studies at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). It is subject of the proposal “KIT – Lehre hoch Forschung”, with which KIT has won the second round of the Qualitätspakt Lehre. With this program, the Federal Republic of Germany and the Federal States support universities in enhancing studies conditions and teaching quality. For its proposal “Lehre hoch Forschung”, KIT will presumably be granted up to EUR 8.5 million from the 2012 summer semester. 

“At KIT, the principle of education follows research applies: We do not only convey theoretical knowledge and expert competences, but also integrate the students in current research projects and processes during all studies phases,” says Professor Jürgen Becker, Chief Higher Education Officer at KIT. “With our successful proposal, the merger of the university sector and research sector of KIT will also be advanced in education.” According to Becker, research-oriented education is a characteristic feature of KIT and the basis of a successful career in industry and society. 

The proposal “Lehre hoch Forschung” is aimed at offering in the future a wide scope of problem-based, research-oriented practical exercises and projects to students in early semesters already. The students shall be given insight into fundamental and research-relevant aspects. Inter- and trans-disciplinary competences shall be conveyed.

The planned or already started (pilot) projects are aimed at sustainably improving learning and studies conditions at KIT. In parallel, expert knowledge in the respective discipline will be considered. Among others, a service point for “problem-oriented teaching” shall be established at the Department of Informatics. Here, projects of student teams shall be coordinated. Standardized requirements and learning objectives will ensure a high teaching quality. A new concept for team projects in early studies phases is being implemented already. It was developed by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology together with students, the objective being to interlink fundamentals and practical work and, thus, increase the motivation of students and understandability of learning contents. At the Department of Architecture, structured design studios – a “school of architectonic thinking” – are to be established, where students are to learn not only design as a method, but also to work on research aspects in cooperation with e.g. the KIT Energy Center or the KIT Humans and Technology Focus. In addition, a number of other offers will be made by all departments, including the study courses of pedagogics.
   
Parallel to these measures, a process shall be established to support students in preparing better for the requirements of learning in problem- and research-oriented projects and practical exercises. For this purpose, KIT will establish an IT-based self-monitoring and self-management scheme, by means of which students will be assisted in learning and examination management that is frequently considered to be problematic. After the pilot phase, the experience gained and concepts developed are to be transferred to other studies courses and departments.

The second element of the proposal is the constant increase in the quality of education at KIT. For this purpose, KIT will extend the support offers made by its central institutions, e.g. the House of Competence (HoC). Employees working in the research sector of KIT are planned to be integrated to improve the faculty-student ratio and to offer close-to-research education to the students. According to KIT’s proposal, a central contact partner will support cooperation, initiate exchange, and coordinate the qualification of the staff in the future. The activities shall be complemented by comprehensive qualification and support offers for new professors and a wrap-up of the teaching evaluations under didactic aspects.

In the second round of the Qualitätspakt Lehre, 102 German universities, Universities of Applied Sciences, and Universities of Arts and Music will be granted about EUR 400 million by the Federal Republic of Germany until 2016 to improve studies conditions and teaching quality. In total, the federation will make available about EUR 2 billion for all projects funded under the Qualitätspakt Lehre until 2020. “We want to offer to the increasing number of students good studies conditions and support them on their way to a successful graduation. This is why the Federal Government invests in the quality of education at universities,” said Professor Annette Schavan, Federal Minister of Education and Research. “Particular emphasis is placed on projects that offer to the students in the first semesters the help and orientation that will be so important later on during their studies.” In the second round of the Qualitätspakt Lehre, 169 universities submitted 135 proposals to the Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonfe-renz (Joint science conference) for the funding period from summer semester 2012 to the end of 2016.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 13.12.2011
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseHfp7∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJmm7∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseLbm2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 182/2011

Millionen-Förderung für forschungsorientierte Lehre

Bund und Länder unterstützen im Qualitätspakt Lehre den KIT-Antrag zur frühen Einbindung Studierender in Forschungsprojekte.
Forschungsorientiert studieren – hierfür will das KIT mit „Lehre hoch Forschung“ flächendeckend Angebote schaffen (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim, KIT)
Forschungsorientiert studieren – hierfür will das KIT mit „Lehre hoch Forschung“ flächendeckend Angebote schaffen (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim, KIT)

Die intensive forschungsorientierte Ausbildung ist ein wesentliches Element des Studiums am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT): Sie steht im Mittelpunkt des Antrags „KIT – Lehre hoch Forschung“, mit dem das KIT zu den Gewinnern in der  zweiten Runde des Qualitätspakts Lehre gehört. Mit dem Programm unterstützen Bund und Länder die Hochschulen bei der Verbesserung von Studienbedingungen und Lehrqualität. Für „Lehre hoch Forschung“ erhält das KIT ab dem Sommersemester 2012 voraussichtlich bis zu 8,5 Millionen Euro.

„Am KIT gilt das Prinzip Lehre folgt Forschung: Wir vermitteln Studierenden nicht nur theoretisches Wissen und fachliche Kompetenzen, sondern integrieren sie in allen Studienphasen in aktuelle Forschungsinhalte und -abläufe“, sagt Professor Jürgen Becker, Chief Higher Education Officer am KIT. „Mit dem erfolgreichen Antrag können wir das Zusammenwachsen von Universitäts- und Großforschungsbereich im KIT auch in der Lehre voranbringen.“ Die forschungsorientierte Lehre sei ein Markenzeichen des KIT und Grundstein für eine erfolgreiche Berufslaufbahn in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.

Ziel des Antrags „Lehre hoch Forschung“ ist es, künftig flächendeckend problembasierte, forschungsorientierte Praktika und Projekte anzubieten, zu denen Studierende bereits in frühen Fachsemestern Zugang erhalten. Dabei geht es um einen breiten Einblick in grundlagen- und großforschungsrelevante Aspekte genauso wie um überfachliche und transdisziplinäre Kompetenzen.

Die geplanten oder teils bereits angelaufenen (Pilot-)Projekte zielen auf eine nachhaltige Verbesserung der Lern- und Studienbedingungen am KIT ab und berücksichtigen dabei gleichzeitig fachliche Spezifika. Unter anderem soll es an der Fakultät für Informatik eine Servicestelle „Problemorientierte Lehre“ einrichten, die Projekte studentischer Teams koordiniert und eine hohe Lehrqualität mit einheitlichen Anforderungen und Lernzielen gewährleistet. Bereits in der Umsetzung ist ein neues Konzept für Teamprojekte in frühen Studienphasen, das die Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik gemeinsam mit Studierenden entwickelt hat: Es verzahnt Grundlagen und praktische Arbeit, erhöht so die Motivation und macht Lehrinhalte besser verständlich. An der Fakultät für Architektur sollen Studierende in thematisch strukturierten Entwurfsstudios – der  „Schule des architektonischen Denkens“ – nicht nur das Entwerfen als Methodik erlernen, sondern auch Forschungsaspekte zu bearbeiten, beispielsweise auch im Austausch mit dem KIT-Zentrum Energie sowie dem KIT-Schwerpunkt Mensch und Technik. Dazu kommen zahlreiche weitere Angebote in nahezu allen Fakultäten sowie bei den Lehramtsstudiengängen.

Begleitend zu diesen Maßnahmen soll ein Verfahren etabliert werden, das Studierende dabei unterstützt, sich auf die Anforderungen des Lernens in problem- und forschungsorientierten Projekten und Praktika besser einzustellen: Dafür hat das KIT ein IT-basiertes Selbstmonitoring und -management beantragt, das Studierende beim häufig als problematisch bewerteten Lern- und Prüfungsmanagement unterstützt. Die Erfahrungen und Konzepte sollen nach der Pilotphase auch auf andere Studiengänge und Fakultäten übertragen werden.

Zweite Säule des Antrags ist die kontinuierliche Steigerung der Qualität der Lehre am KIT. Dazu baut das KIT die Unterstützungsangebote der zentralen Einrichtungen wie des House of Competence (HoC) aus und setzt insbesondere auf den Einbezug der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus dem Großforschungsbereich, um die Betreuungsrelation zu verbessern und den Studierenden eine forschungsnahe Lehre bieten zu können. Hier sollte künftig, so der Antrag, ein zentraler Ansprechpartner die Bildung von Kooperationen unterstützen, den Austausch initiieren und die Qualifizierung der Mitarbeiter koordinieren. Dazu sollen umfassende Qualifizierungs- und Betreuungsangebote für neue Professoren sowie eine hochschuldidaktische Nachbereitung von Lehrevaluationen kommen.

In der zweiten Runde des Qualitätspakts Lehre erhalten 102 deutsche Universitäten, Fachhochschulen und Kunst- und Musikhochschulen bis 2016 rund 400 Millionen Euro Fördermittel des Bundes zur Verbesserung von Studienbedingungen und Lehrqualität. Insgesamt stellt der Bund für alle im Qualitätspakt Lehre geförderten Projekte bis 2020 rund zwei Milliarden Euro zur Verfügung. „Wir wollen der steigenden Zahl von Studierenden gute Studienbedingungen bieten und sie auf dem Weg zu einem erfolgreichen Abschluss unterstützen. Deshalb investiert die Bundesregierung in die Qualität der Lehre an den Hochschulen“, sagte Professorin Annette Schavan, Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung dazu. „Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf Projekten, die Studierenden in den ersten Semestern die Hilfe und Orientierung bieten, die für den weiteren Verlauf des Studiums so wichtig ist." Insgesamt hatten in der zweiten Antragsrunde des Qualitätspakts Lehre 169 Hochschulen 135 Anträge für den Förderzeitraum Sommersemester 2012 bis Ende 2016 bei der Gemeinsamen Wissenschaftskonferenz eingereicht.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

le, 13.12.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneVgy2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseJbp2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.