Press Release 138/2011

Career Paths and Quotas: Days on Women in Business at KIT

KIT Participates in the State-wide Event with Podium Discussions on October 13 and 14

With its introduction, Deutsche Telekom dared to make an advance, but found few copyists so far: The women’s quota is discussed controversially. This quota as well as factors of success and obstacles in careers of women will be in the focus of two podium discussions with which KIT will participate for the first time in the Baden-Württemberg Frauenwirtschaftstage (Days on Women in Business). The events on Thursday, October 13, and Friday, October 14, will be open to all interested women and men. Kindly register until September 22.

On Thursday, October 13, the focus will be placed on “Career Paths of Women – Factors of Success and Obstacles” In a podium discussion, women from science and science management at KIT will talk about different career paths. An interactive presentation by the trainer and mediator Sigrid Meuselbach at 15.30 hrs will introduce the topic. From 16.45 hrs, Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt, KIT Vice President for Human Resources and Law, Dr. Brigitte Baretzky, Deputy Managing Director of the Institute of Nanotechnology, Dr. Irmgard Langbein, member of the “Institutional Strategy II” project management board, Dr. Irina Nazarenko, young investigator from the Institute of Toxicology and Genetics and member of the Young Investigator Network, and Dr. Britta Trautwein, Director of the Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS), will discuss. Sigrid Meuselbach will present the event organized by the Network of Female Scientists and Engineers of KIT (WiKIT). The discussion will be followed by a reception on the occasion of the anniversary of the network “20 Years of the Network of Female Scientists – WiKIT”.

Which strategies are pursued by enterprises and universities to counteract the lack of women in executive positions? Is a voluntary self-obligation of science and industry sufficient or will it be absolutely necessary to introduce a legal quota? Pros and cons will be covered by the podium discussion “Women as Executives – The Quota as an Instrument?” on Friday, October 14, 16.45 hrs. Women from politics, science, and industry will discuss: Dr. Birgit Buschmann, Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Finance and Economics; Professor Sissi Closs, University of Applied Sciences, Karlsruhe, and director of the companies of Comet Computer GmbH and Comet Communication GmbH, Munich; Dr. Helga Lukoschat, Chairwoman of the Executive Board and Director of the European Academy for Women in Politics and Business (EAF) and Director of Femtec, University Career Center for Women Berlin GmbH; Dorothea Maisch, business and private coach; and Dr. Andrea Roesinger, Senior Vice President of SAP Business ByDesign. This discussion will be presented by Dr. Elisabeth Zuber-Knost, ZKonsult Karlsruhe.

On both days, the discussions will be followed by a small reception with snacks. A detailed program and further information can be found on the internet at www.pew.kit.edu/755.php.

Representatives of the media are cordially welcome.

Registration and Participation Fee
Kindly register until September 22 on the internet at www.pew.kit.edu/personalentwicklung or by e-mail to simone belgardtTfk0∂kit edu. The costs per event amount to EUR 30, the combined price for both days is EUR 40.

 

Further Contact:

Staff Development, Diversity Management
Simone Belgardt
Phone: +49 721 608-46063
E-mail: Simone BelgardtYlw7∂kit edu

The ‘Frauenwirtschaftstage’ event is supported by the state government of Baden-Württemberg. All interested persons are given the opportunity to obtain information and advice during workshops, congresses, presentations, counselings, and other activities from October 13 to 15 on the following topics: Women on their way to executive positions, female entrepreneurs, succession in enterprises, founding of startups, compatibility of job and family, networking and cooperation, and re-entry of women in jobs.

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 13.09.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseMwz1∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneJft2∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 138/2011

Karrierewege und Quoten: Frauenwirtschaftstage am KIT - ACHTUNG: VERANSTALTUNG ABGESAGT

Das KIT beteiligt sich am 13. und 14. Oktober mit Podiumsdiskussionen an der landesweiten Veranstaltung.

Die Deutsche Telekom wagte mit der Einführung einen Vorstoß, fand bislang aber nur wenige Nachahmer: Die Frauenquote spaltet die Gemüter. Sie, aber auch die Erfolgsfaktoren und Stolpersteine in Karrieren von Frauen stehen im Mittelpunkt zweier Podiumsdiskussionen, mit denen sich das KIT erstmals an den Frauenwirtschaftstagen Baden-Württemberg beteiligt. Die Veranstaltungen am Donnerstag, 13., und Freitag, 14. Oktober, stehen allen interessierten Frauen und Männern offen. Anmeldungen sind noch bis zum 22. September möglich.

Am Donnerstag, 13. Oktober, stehen die „Karrierewege von Frauen – Erfolgsfaktoren und Stolpersteine“ im Mittelpunkt. In einer Podiumsdiskussion betrachten Frauen aus Wissenschaft und Wissenschaftsmanagement am KIT verschiedene Karrierewege. Mit einem interaktiven Referat führt die Trainerin und Mediatorin Sigrid Meuselbach um 15.30 Uhr in das Thema ein. Ab 16.45 Uhr diskutieren dann Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt, KIT-Vizepräsidentin für Personal und Recht; Dr. Brigitte Baretzky, stellvertretende Geschäftsführende Direktorin des Instituts für Nanotechnologie; Dr. Irmgard Langbein aus der Projektleitung „Exzellenziniative II“; Dr. Irina Nazarenko, Nachwuchsgruppenleiterin vom Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik und Mitglied des Young Investigator Network sowie Dr. Britta Trautwein, Geschäftsführerin des Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS). Sigrid Meuselbach moderiert die Veranstaltung, die das Netzwerk der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Ingenieurinnen des KIT (WiKIT) organisiert. An die Diskussion schließt sich der Empfang zur Jubiläumsfeier des Netzwerkes „20 Jahre Netzwerk der Wissenschaftlerinnen – WiKIT“ an.

Welche Strategien verfolgen Unternehmen und Hochschulen, um dem Mangel an Frauen in Führungspositionen entgegenzuwirken? Genügt eine freiwillige Selbstverpflichtung in Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft – oder führt kein Weg an der Einführung einer gesetzlichen Quote vorbei? Pro und Contra stellt die Podiumsdiskussion „Frauen in den Chefsessel – Die Quote als Instrument?“ am Freitag, 14. Oktober, ab 16.45 Uhr gegenüber. Es diskutieren Frauen aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft: Dr. Birgit Buschmann, Ministerium für Finanzen und Wirtschaft Baden-Württemberg; Professorin Sissi Closs, Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Karlsruhe und Geschäftsführerin der Firmen Comet Computer GmbH und Comet Communication GmbH in München; Dr. Helga Lukoschat, Vorstandsvorsitzende und Geschäftsführerin der Europäischen Akademie für Frauen in Politik und Wirtschaft (EAF) sowie Geschäftsführerin der Femtec, Hochschulkarrierezentrum für Frauen Berlin GmbH; Dorothea Maisch, Business und Privatcoach und Dr. Andrea Roesinger, Senior Vice President von SAP Business ByDesign. Dr. Elisabeth Zuber-Knost, ZKonsult Karlsruhe, moderiert die Veranstaltung.

Abend-Imbiss und Ausklang runden an beiden Tagen die Veranstaltungen ab. Ausführliches Programm und weitere Informationen unter www.pew.kit.edu/755.php im Internet.

Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Medien sind bei der Veranstaltung herzlich willkommen.

Anmeldung und Teilnahmegebühr
Anmeldungen sind bis zum 22. September im Internet unter www.pew.kit.edu/personalentwicklung oder per E-Mail unter simone belgardtMvh2∂kit edu möglich. Die Kosten betragen je Veranstaltung 30 Euro, in Kombination für beide Tage 40 Euro.


Weiterer Kontakt:
Personalentwicklung, Diversitymanagement
Simone Belgardt
Telefon: +49 721 608-46063
E-Mail: Simone BelgardtQkk9∂kit edu,


Die Landesregierung Baden-Württemberg unterstützt die Frauenwirtschaftstage, die allen Interessierten die Gelegenheit bieten, sich zwischen dem 13. bis 15. Oktober bei Workshops, Kongressen, Vorträgen, Beratungen und weiteren Aktivitäten zu folgenden Themen zu informieren und beraten zu lassen: Frauen auf dem Weg in Führungspositionen, Unternehmerinnen, Unternehmensnachfolge, Existenzgründung, Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie, Vernetzung und Kooperation sowie Wiedereinstieg von Frauen in den Beruf.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

le, 13.09.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneCpa3∂kit edu