Press Release 123/2011

Gap in the Standard Model of Particle Physics?

KIT Physicist Calculated Model Expectation for Fermilab Experiment, which Indicates Effects Beyond the Standard Model
Luftbild des Fermilab mit Tevatron. (Foto: Reidar Hahn / Fermilab)
Aerial photograph of the Fermilab with Tevatron. (Photo: Reidar Hahn / Fermilab)

Latest results from the Fermilab Research Center near Chicago add to the evidence of a gap in the standard model of particle physics. Analysis of recent data from the DZero experiment at the Tevatron particle accelerator has now confirmed that the decay of the B-meson particle produces about 1% more muons than their antiparticles, the antimuons. This effect is about 50 times larger than expected. Theoretical physicist Ulrich Nierste from KIT calculated the decay rates to be expected for the experiment.

Why does the universe as we know it exist? Why is there matter? And no antimatter? The excess of matter is not explained by the established standard model. Pertinent research is conducted by Professor Ulrich Nierste from the Institute for Theoretical Particle Physics of KIT. Based on the standard model, Nierste and Professor Alexander Lenz from the TU Munich produced a precise theoretical prediction of the ratio of muons and antimuons expected for the DZero experiment. “Numerous experiments in the last decades excellently confirmed the standard model,” says Ulrich Nierste. “If the deviation found now will be confirmed independently, the doors to new laws of nature will open.” Then, it may also be expected that the new particle accelerator “Large Hadron Collider” (LHC) at the European Research Center CERN will find new particles.

The current study of Fermilab compares theoretical prediction with real data from particle collisions at the Tevatron particle accelerator.

The physicists compared the number of muons and the number of antimuons produced by the decay of B-mesons and found that the number of muons exceeds that of antimuons by about 1%. This deviation is 50 times larger than predicted by the standard model of elementary particles.

The current study updates last year’s analysis: Meanwhile, about 50% more data have been analyzed and, thus, uncertainty of the result has been reduced. The chance of this effect being a statistic coincidence now is about 0.005% only and, hence, has the status of strong evidence of a scientific discovery. However, science only refers to a real discovery when the percentage is 0.00003% and the result is confirmed independently by other experiments. A new experiment at CERN (LHCb experiment) is presently focusing on measuring the phenomenon observed in another decay channel of the B-meson.

The asymmetry measured in the decay of B-mesons gives the physicists valuable hints to the direction into which the standard model has to be further developed. Development of the standard model to a supersymmetric unified theory may provide a plausible overall conception. Theoreticians worldwide favor such theories. The concept of supersymmetry was developed by Professor Julius Wess and Professor Bruno Zumino (CERN) at the then University of Karlsruhe.

The current publication of Fermilab is presently being reviewed scientifically. On the internet, it can be downloaded at http://arxiv.org/pdf/1106.6308.

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

tp, 14.07.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseDuz8∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Tu-Mai Pham-Huu
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21170
tu-mai pham-huuPgl3∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseMfv0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 123/2011

Lücke im Standardmodell der Teilchenphysik?

KIT-Physiker berechnete Modellerwartung zum Experiment am Fermilab, das auf Effekte jenseits des Standardmodells hinweist
Luftbild des Fermilab mit Tevatron. (Foto: Reidar Hahn / Fermilab)
Luftbild des Fermilab mit Tevatron. (Foto: Reidar Hahn / Fermilab)

Aktuelle Ergebnisse aus dem Forschungszentrum Fermilab bei Chicago verstärken den Hinweis auf eine Lücke des Standardmodells der Teilchenphysik. Eine Analyse der neuesten Daten des Experimentes DZero am Teilchenbeschleuniger Tevatron hat nun bestätigt, dass beim Zerfall des Teilchens B-Meson etwa ein Prozent mehr Myonen als ihre Antiteilchen, Antimyonen, entstehen. Dieser Effekt ist etwa 50-Mal größer als erwartet. Der Karlsruher Theoretische Physiker Ulrich Nierste hat die zu erwartenden Zerfallsraten für das Experiment berechnet.

Warum gibt es das Universum, wie wir es kennen? Warum gibt es überhaupt Materie? Und keinerlei Antimaterie? Den Überschuss an Materie erklärt das etablierte Standardmodell nicht. An diesen Fragen forscht auch Professor Ulrich Nierste vom Institut für Theoretische Teilchenphysik des KIT. Die dem „DZero“-Experiment zugrunde liegende Arbeit von Nierste  und Prof. Alexander Lenz, derzeit TU München, gibt – auf Basis des Standardmodells – eine präzise theoretische Vorhersage des erwarteten Verhältnisses der Zahl der Myonen zu der der Antimyonen. „Das Standardmodell ist in unzähligen Experimenten in den letzten Jahrzehnten exzellent bestätigt worden“, sagt Ulrich Nierste. „Sollte die nun vorliegende Abweichung unabhängig bestätigt werden,  wäre die Tür zu neuen Naturgesetzen aufgestoßen.“ Dann sei auch zu erwarten, dass der neue Teilchenbeschleuniger „Large Hadron Collider“ (LHC) am europäischen Forschungszentrum CERN neue Teilchen finden wird.

Die aktuelle Studie des Fermilab vergleicht die theoretische Vorhersage mit den tatsächlichen Daten aus Teilchenkollisionen am Teilchenbeschleuniger Tevatron.

Die Physiker stellen die Anzahl der Myonen und der Antimyonen einander gegenüber, die beim Zerfall von B-Mesonen entstehen. Dabei fanden sie heraus, dass es etwa ein Prozent mehr Myonen als Antimyonen gibt. Diese Abweichung ist 50-mal größer als vom Standardmodell der Elementarteilchen vorhergesagt wird.

Bei der aktuellen Studie handelt es sich um eine Aktualisierung der Analyse des letzten Jahres: Inzwischen konnten rund 50 Prozent mehr Daten analysiert und damit die Unsicherheit des Ergebnisses verringert werden. Die Chance, dass es sich bei dem Effekt um einen statistischen Zufall handelt, liegt nun bei etwa 0,005 Prozent und hat damit den Status eines starken Hinweises auf eine wissenschaftliche Entdeckung. Allerdings spricht man in der Wissenschaft erst bei 0,00003 Prozent und bei unabhängiger Bestätigung durch andere Experimente von einer echten Entdeckung. Ein neues Experiment am CERN (LHCb-Experiment) arbeitet mit Hochdruck an einer Messung des beobachteten Phänomens in einem anderen Zerfallskanal des B-Mesons.

Die gemessene Asymmetrie im Zerfall von B-Mesonen gibt  den Physikern wertvolle Hinweise über die Richtung, in die sie das Standardmodell weiterentwickeln müssen. Ein schlüssiges Bild könnte sich ergeben, wenn man das Standardmodell zu einer supersymmetrischen vereinheitlichten Theorie weiterentwickelt. Derartige Theorien favorisieren Theoretiker weltweit; das Konzept der Supersymmetrie hatten Professor Julius Wess und Professor Bruno Zumino (CERN) an der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe entwickelt.

Die aktuelle Publikation des Fermilabs befindet sich zurzeit im wissenschaftlichen Begutachtungsprozess. Im Internet ist sie unter http://arxiv.org/pdf/1106.6308 herunterzuladen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

tp, 14.07.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Tu-Mai Pham-Huu
PKM, Internetredaktion
Tel.: +49 721 608-48751
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
tu-mai pham-huuGyj2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseGfa2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.