Press Release 117/2011

Pooled Competence for Electromobility

Marketable Innovations by Low-cost Component Fabrication Processes/ KIT Pools Competences Relating to Electric Power Trains for Cooperation with Industry
Elektroautos stehen für nachhaltige Mobilität. Die Kompetenzen am KIT  sollen sie schneller marktfähig machen. (Foto: KIT)
Electric cars stand for sustainable mobility. The competences at KIT are to enhance their marketability. (Photo: Opel AG)

Germany is facing a big challenge in the field of mobility. Within a few years, sustainable, electric power trains are to be competitive with highly developed combustion engines. Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) wishes to be a major actor in this process and to close the gaps in the chain of innovations and values added. For this purpose, it is pooling its competences in the fields of electric stores and power trains under the roof of “Competence E”. Systems-overlapping research is aimed at reducing costs and enhancing the marketability of fabrication processes.
   
“Research is no longer limited to individual molecules or components, but aimed at developing solutions on the systems level, which also meet industrial requirements,” explains the project head Andreas Gutsch. Interdisciplinary cooperation of 250 scientists from 25 institutes under the “Competence E” project at KIT focuses on transferring innovations from research to the market.

While the components of material, cell, battery, inverter, and engine each still remain to be improved, the largest innovation potential will result when focusing on the complete system. “This is the starting point of our integrated research activities,” says Gutsch. “Only when considering the complete system, will we succeed in reducing the costs of electric power trains and making them competitive on the market.”

Today, about 70% of the component production costs are incurred by fabrication. Only about 30% are associated with the raw materials. Electromobility encompasses all big industries, i.e. automotive manufacture, machine construction, electrical engineering, and chemistry. Under the heading of “low cost is high tech”, it is aimed at developing marketable, interdisciplinary production and fabrication processes parallel to battery and power train development. “It is our objective to construct demonstrators confirming that our components and production lines are mature for industrial use,” Gutsch emphasizes.

For this purpose, a so-called “research factory” is presently being planned at KIT. Here, the chain of values added between research and industry can be closed by establishing prototype production lines for novel batteries and electric engines based on KIT know-how. For setup and research, KIT calculates project costs in the amount of about EUR 200 million until 2018. Similar to other publicly funded large research facilities, such as accelerators and clean-room laboratories, the “research factory” will be open to all partners from industry and research and, thus, contribute to a rapid and wide dissemination of new technologies in Germany. “Competence E focuses on rapidly transferring innovations from Karlsruhe to the market,” Gutsch emphasizes. Apart from education and research, innovation is one of the three pillars of KIT. “We are already approaching industry open-mindedly and actively and will intensify our efforts. We are conducting excellent research for application, not for the drawer.”

The next exciting results of “Competence E”, among others concepts of modular batteries and engines will be presented by KIT at the IAA International Motor Show at Frankfurt/Main in mid-September.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 08.07.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNpw6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisYod6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseJjs0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 117/2011

Zentrale Kompetenz für die Elektromobilität

Marktfähige Innovationen durch Entwicklung günstiger Fertigungsprozesse für Komponenten / KIT bündelt seine Kompetenzen für den elektrischen Antriebsstrang mit Blick auf die Industrie
Elektroautos stehen für nachhaltige Mobilität. Die Kompetenzen am KIT  sollen sie schneller marktfähig machen. (Foto: KIT)
Elektroautos stehen für nachhaltige Mobilität. Die Kompetenzen am KIT sollen sie schneller marktfähig machen. (Foto: Opel AG)

Im Bereich Mobilität steht Deutschland vor einer großen Herausforderung. Nachhaltige, elektrische Antriebe sollen in wenigen Jahren konkurrenzfähig werden zu hochentwickelten Verbrennungsmotoren. Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) will diesen Prozess maßgeblich mitgestalten und Lücken in der Innovations- und Wertschöpfungskette schließen. Dazu bündelt es unter dem Dach „Competence E“ seine Kompetenzen im Bereich elektrischer Speicher und Antriebe. Durch systemübergreifende Forschung sollen Fertigungsprozesse kostengünstiger und schneller marktfähig werden.

„Es geht nicht mehr darum, einzelne Moleküle oder Komponenten zu erforschen, sondern Lösungen auf Systemebene zu entwickeln, die auch industriellen Ansprüchen genügen“, erklärt Projektleiter Andreas Gutsch die Anforderungen. Im übergreifenden Projekt „Competence E“ am KIT arbeiten dazu 250 Wissenschaftler aus 25 Instituten fachbereichsübergreifend zusammen, um unter anderem Innovationen aus der Forschung in den Markt zu überführen.

Zwar müssen die Teilkomponenten Material, Zelle, Batterie, Wechselrichter und Motor jede für sich noch verbessert werden, aber das größte Innovationspotential ergibt sich, wenn man dabei konsequent das Gesamtsystem im Focus hat. „Hier wollen wir mit unserer integrierten Entwicklung ansetzen“, sagt Gutsch. „Denn nur mit Blick auf das Gesamtsystem werden wir es schaffen, die Kosten für elektrische Antriebe zu senken und diese marktfähig zu machen.“

Heutzutage entfallen rund 70 Prozent der Produktionskosten der Komponenten auf die Fertigung und nur 30 Prozent auf die Rohstoffe. Elektromobilität umfasst alle großen Industrien wie Autobau, Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik und Chemie. Nach dem Motto „Low Cost is High Tech“ gilt es schon während der Entwicklung von Batterie und Antrieb marktgängige, interdisziplinäre Produktions- und Fertigungsverfahren anzustreben. „Unser Ziel ist es, mit Demonstratoren aufzuzeigen, dass unsere Komponenten und Produktionslinien reif sind für die industrielle Umsetzung“, so Gutsch.

Zu diesem Zweck laufen bereits die Planungen für eine sogenannte „Forschungsfabrik“ am KIT. Hier könnte die Wertschöpfungskette zwischen Forschung und Industrie geschlossen werden, indem prototypische Fertigungslinien für neuartige Batterien und Elektromotoren mit KIT-Know-how aufgebaut werden. Für Aufbau und Forschung kalkuliert das KIT Projektkosten von rund 200 Millionen Euro bis 2018. Ähnlich wie andere öffentlich geförderte Großforschungsstätten, etwa Beschleuniger und Reinraumlabore wird die „Forschungsfabrik“ allen Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung offen stehen und wird so maßgeblich zu einer schnellen und flächendeckenden Verbreitung neuer Technologien in Deutschland beitragen. „Unser zentraler Punkt bei Competence E ist es mit den Innovationen aus Karlsruhe schnell den Markt zu erreichen“, macht Gutsch klar. Innovation ist neben Lehre und Forschung eine der drei Säulen des KIT. „Wir gehen bereits sehr offen und aktiv auf die Industrie zu und werden das intensivieren. Wir machen exzellente Forschung für die Anwendung, nicht für die Schublade.“

Die nächsten spannenden Ergebnisse aus „Competence E“, unter anderem Konzepte für modulare Batterien und Motoren, stellt das KIT auf der Internationalen Automobil Ausstellung IAA in Frankfurt am Main Mitte September vor.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

kes, 08.07.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseBpu8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.